Unbalanced


Sunshine recently made this comment,

When I ask them if they went outside over the weekend, the boys almost always tell me no. All they do is play video games or play on their tablets. When I say all, Farm Boy, I literally mean all. This is all that they do. From the age of five. They aren’t outside running, jumping, exploring, and building dams in the creek or tree forts. And if they do go outside, there isn’t much to do because all the other boys are inside, playing video games.

It isn’t like when we were younger. Heck, I was a girl, and I did those muck-around-outdoors things. Boys did them even more. But they don’t now. Given the choice, all boys want to do is stay inside and play video games. I really worry for them.

This is what I have heard also.  Boys stay in and play video games whenever they can.  In a sense, it is natural for them to do so.  They crave the exploration, the competition, the camaraderie of team play, the low cost and the convenience.  In generations past, they achieved much of this by exploring their neighborhood with their buddies and playing athletic games with them.  This really pales in most respects to the modern video games.  The “rushes” are harder to come by; there is more preliminary work required, sometimes you get hurt for real (e.g. cuts and bruises).  It is just more work for seemingly less gain.  Who wants that?

Now let us consider the young girls.  They now have texting, snapchat, facebook and whatever the latest social media craze with the young ones is.  Young chicks are very inclined to be social (often not in a good way).  My older sister absolutely hogged the house phone when she was a teen.  Hours and hours talking with her girl friends about people at school.  As a young boy, I could hardly imagine anything more boring, almost like Chinese Water Torture.  At that age, I dug drainage ditches for fun.  Outside, doing physical stuff, rising to the challenge of getting it done.  It was great.  Anyway, this social stuff is what chicks are so very inclined to do.

For both genders (I am only considering two), letting these natural inclinations go wild is not good.  In times past, farm kids had chores to do.  So even if they wanted to, this silliness could not happen.  Even city kids were forced to go outside and do real world stuff.  All of this led to a balance, which improved the character of the youngster.

What to do?  The obvious thing is to place time restrictions on such activities and to encourage other activities in their stead.  It does seem obvious and simple.  Still, many do not even really bother.  Perhaps they see no problem.  Which is perhaps more scary.

Posted in FarmBoy, Lies, Trainwreck
115 comments on “Unbalanced
  1. Sunshine says:

    Recently I was at a meeting with all the speech pathologists in the county where I work. One of the women who works with infants and toddlers warned those of us in the schools to get ready. We haven’t even seen the beginning yet. She said that the babies are coming in with tablets in their car carrier seats with them. From babyhood, a screen is front in front of their faces at nearly all times. The parents don’t mean to be doing the wrong thing; they will often say, “But these are educational apps.” She tries to explain to them that children can’t learn language from an app. They have to learn it by interacting with other human beings.

    In my home, we are extreme. We do not have any source of television, just an old TV hooked up to a DVD player which the children are only allowed to use on the weekends with DVDs they check out from the library. We do not have Internet. Phil and I both have smart phones, but we removed our eldest daughter’s smart phone from her. The kids have flip phones now which don’t go online.

    A few days ago, I watched our youngest daughter down by our pond, chipping at the ice with a stick and making little icebergs that she was having fun pushing deep into the pond and watching them pop out. Then I watched her chase our gander around for a while after he challenged her. Later I saw her shooting her BB gun at an old water tank until I sent her down to the chicken coop to collect the day’s eggs.

    I figure they get enough time on their tablets at school since our district is one that has gone to having an iPad for every student. Once they get home, they need to be in the real world for a while.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I knew how it used to be. Kids could play for hours unsupervised. I don’t think it is that way anymore. That would be likely to confine kids.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Babies with iPads?

    Like

  4. Cill says:

    Happy St Patrick’s Day ye reprobates.

    (3:39 pm March 17th here)

    Liked by 5 people

  5. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I got in trouble for linking this at Sunshine’s. Her comment threads were long and video links slowed them up while loading.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. molly says:

    Who woulda guessed it Fuzzie likes bears ??

    Liked by 1 person

  7. molly says:

    Wonders will never cease LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  8. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly!!! Burrito, burrito, burrito.
    That got quite a reaction when I first posted it. She had two daughters and they all said “Squee!”

    Like

  9. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    I used to work in a tourist town, Nearby was a closet of a store with nothing but artist bears. I used to love making up stories about what they would get up to when the humans weren’t around. It helped save my sanity on boring nights.

    Liked by 3 people

  10. RichardP says:

    Not bears, but something that grownup boys do when they don’t have screens in front of their faces. Tasty for those who like jazz flavors.

    Like

  11. Spawny Get says:

    Not generally fussed about Sting, but that is a fine track. That’s not my favourite mix of it though

    Like

  12. Spawny Get says:

    Last night’s This Week with Brillo.

    (The stupid shit at the start lasts till 1:30ish you may skip. And the stupid shit film later on. The meat is the studio stuff)

    Lefty French woman gets a flea in her ear over Holland. The little clip she made was cut from this video, she claimed that everything was fine for the establishment. Then everytime a point is made to her to the contrary she folds like a cheese eating surrender monkey. Typical narrative pushing lefty, a narrative with nothing behind it. The lefties are bereft of talent and integrity.

    Stuffed haggis McScozNaz gets a Brillo’ing over the second referendum push. A push given much coverage by the ABBC because they desperately want that putative second scotch referendum to cause disMay to deliver a weak brexit. They’re desperate for it. The coverage is huge despite the chances of sco’land pissing off are remote (it would be a McCatastropuck for the scots)

    Lefty English woman historian…dunno it was 00:30 last night and I switched the daft moo off.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Spawny Get says:

    I think that the title gives it away, it’s about Free Speech at Universities here. No platforming = denial of an ability to speak.

    Brillo and Rod tag team fucking her over

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Spawny Get says:

    It’s a little troublesome that the feminist is so deluded that she thought she’d be able to push her shite on a Brillo programme. What was she thinking? They’re mad, they must be

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Spawny Get says:

    This SNP woman (for the sake of argument) was a gobshite all over Question Time last night. Right up to the point where she was asked the same question that killed the SNP in the last referendum…

    Later in the programme (made in the south of England) a man asked if the whole of the UK could vote in the next sco’ish referendum. Much mirth in the audience, not so much with the woman above

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Cautiously Pessimistic says:

    Growing up in the 70’s and 80’s, then watching the birth of helicopter parenting in the 90’s, I guess I never really thought about being a home bound vid addict as a voluntary thing for boys.

    When I was pre-teen, my folks would release me from the house in a sketchy part of town, and I’d wander back for food as needed, eventually being chained up again when the sun fell.

    In my teens, child abductions became national news, and national hysteria ensued. I was allowed to be in our suburban backyard, and once I determined there were no kids or points of interest nearby, I primarily sat in front of the television.

    In my twenties, I saw kids (particularly but not exclusively kids with single moms) being chained up indoors until mom got home, when she was too whatever to do anything with the kids.

    Were it not for video games and television, I suspect many more homes would be unintentionally burned to the ground by boys trying to find escape from the tedium of prison life.

    Liked by 4 people

  17. Yoda says:

    Rep. Ed Royce (R-CA), chair of the U.S. House Foreign Relations Committee, was forced to postpone his annual Women’s Conference at California State University Fullerton after anti-Trump protesters harassed and intimidated the speakers

    http://www.breitbart.com/california/2017/03/17/royce-cancels-womens-event-anti-trump-protesters-harass-speakers/

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Yoda says:

    Frightened teachers at a Sydney primary school have revealed students are showing signs of extreme radicalisation at a young age, saying they have been traumatised by threats of beheading and other violent behaviour.

    https://au.news.yahoo.com/nsw/a/34663197/punchbowl-primary-school-teacher-says-year-5-students-threatened-to-behead-her-kill-her-family/#page1

    Liked by 2 people

  19. When I was a kid, while I probably did at times watch too much TV and since we had cable (but not Playboy etc.) I was watching R rated movies way too young. (But I digress), other than that I was outside. Chasing lizards, hunting for horned toads (In Arizona, this was) riding my bike, roller skating for hours around the neighborhood, climbing trees, jumping rope, playing hopscotch, making forts, making mud pies. From after school till dark. We (neighbor kids) would ride our bikes to the store that was at least a mile away starting around age 8. Somehow despite all the poisonous things in AZ, we never got bit! I can remember scouting thru waist tall grass, I could hear the rattlesnakes, but we just plowed thru probably scaring the snakes off long before we arrived! We did get hurt, falling on the bikes and what not, and I almost constantly has scraped elbows and knees, but we just bounced up and kept going. It was all good clean fun! I am happy I had that freedom.

    Contrasted to the childhood my kids have today, it’s day and night. Somehow parents are made to feel today if you don’t know where your kids are at all times and are personally supervising them, you are a neglectful/bad parent. So kids are kept inside, kept “safe.” If I let my kids roam like I once did, someone would probably report me! It’s a scary time to be a parent, really. The pressure to helicopter parent is high. I tell my kids all the time how much I would have LOVED to grow up on a place like we have now, and that I would have been out there building forts and climbing trees and the rest ALL THE TIME. But they don’t. I have to pry them outside. Even they have somehow been tainted with the message that, “you need supervision at all times.” Even though I don’t want it to be this way, somehow it is. I have been trying to make a much more conscious effort to get them outside and playing independently because I really do think it is a CRITICAL part of childhood development to explore, play, imagine, create. Kids today have a much less “rich” childhood than the one I luckily enjoyed! Sad.

    Liked by 3 people

  20. I live in a rural area, so I don’t see this much but I knew a gal who lived in town nearby in a typical subdivision. She was a stay at home mom, in a neighborhood filled with latchkey kids. It wasn’t what I describe of my own (sometimes) latchkey kid experience above, it was sad. Kids roaming from house to house, looking for attention, looking to connect with someone. It was like they were raising themselves. This gal would shoo them off, bc she said if she would allow it, every kid in the neighborhood would have been at her house and she would have been babysitting the whole neighborhood for free. And maybe she should have, for the greater good, but I also understand what she was saying. It was shocking and I remember two little girls, sisters, especially who were too old to be doing so but would wander with obvious peed pants from house to house looking for someone, anyone to play with. I really worried for those girls, as they seemed exactly the type would wound fall prey to someone with bad intentions. So there’s that — it’s like it is helicopter parenting or zero parenting, there has to be some middle ground that makes sense? We seem to have lost that…

    Liked by 4 people

  21. Yoda says:

    When you think of milk, what first comes to your mind? If you’re a millennial, you probably think of strong bones, Got Milk? commercials, or maybe eating your favorite cereal while watching cartoons on a Saturday morning.

    What about racism? White nationalism? If you’re having trouble finding the connection between these institutions and milk, you’re not alone. You, along with the rest of the nation, have been so accustomed to hearing the benefits of milk that you probably didn’t even realize the subtle racism hidden in our health facts.

    http://www.dailywire.com/news/14492/college-student-explains-why-milk-racist-elliott-hamilton

    Liked by 1 person

  22. The milk thing, as far as I understand, is kindof a “Euro pride” thing, bc most of the world except Europe, is lactose intolerant past childhood. SO in a way, the folks chugging milk in from of the “He will not divide us” cameras are saying, “Ha– we OVERCAME lactose intolerance! What’s YOUR superpower?” Or something… lol. But of course being pro Euro has somehow come to automatically = white rationalism. But somehow pride in anything else is celebrated? Weird double standard, no?

    Liked by 2 people

  23. Spawny Get says:

    I may watch the ghostbuster catastrophuck later this evening *gulp* Wish me luck

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Cautiously Pessimistic says:

    When I think milk, I think acne. Used to love it, but had to give it up because of the hormones that were given to cows to increase milk yield.

    Like

  25. SFC Ton says:

    Most kids live in suburban/ urban areas these days so I am not sure what all they can do outside vs a farm kid growing up on a farm in the rural South. 300 acres to goof off on, dirt bikes, our own pond to fish/ swim in. River wasn’t to far of a walk, nor was the woods, dogs to tend to, tractors to fuck around with etc etc

    And let’s not forget who single mom’s and low t men play into the whole thing

    Liked by 4 people

  26. SFC Ton says:

    Also the path to success has become more mental and academic then physical

    Liked by 3 people

  27. SFC Ton says:

    I used to love making up stories about what they would get up to when the humans weren’t
    ——–

    Ever write any of them down

    Liked by 1 person

  28. SFC Ton says:

    No one likes jazz
    People like to say they like jazz so they can put on airs but jazz is shit…. well not really. Shit can be useful as fertilizer so it’s better then jazz

    Liked by 2 people

  29. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    It is pretty sad when milk is made to be a symbol of racism.

    Spawny Get,
    We are getting to the point where “batshit crazy” and “feminist” will be indivisible. And no, I have no idea why these people think they are immune to Brillo. It must be their vanity.

    Liked by 2 people

  30. Yoda says:

    Chocolate milk everybody drink they should

    Liked by 2 people

  31. Spawny Get says:

    Well that film sucked, why did no one warn me? I didn’t smile once. A couple of places I might have if they weren’t surrounded by…by crap. I can’t say that I actively hated it, but there was nothing there to like. The characters were horrible people, so who cares about them.

    Liked by 2 people

  32. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Yoda,
    Someone gave me some chocolate milk recently and I hadn’t had any since I was a kid. It was very good, better than I remembered.

    Spawny Get,
    So it was just a bad film? It would have been so much simpler to condemn it for that than make a big gendered issue.

    Liked by 3 people

  33. Ame says:

    “My older sister absolutely hogged the house phone when she was a teen. ”

    ummm … i did that 🙂 … when my BFF and i weren’t working or running around, we were on the phone.

    – – – – –

    i would have loved to raise my girls in an environment similar to Sunshine’s; my girls would have thrived in that. still, living in neigborhoods with small yeards, they still had to play – outside/inside, separate from technology and tv.

    – – – – –

    i think that a lot these boys growing up latch-key, coming home with single moms who are scared for their sons to go outside, are forced inside till mom gets home from work. might as well play video games.

    – – – – –

    technology is not the enemy; how we use it can certainly be. my aspie girl has her earbuds and smart phone with her 90% of the time. if she’s in a situation she can’t get out of, music calms her. music is big for her. but i buy cheap smart phones 🙂

    my girls have done a lot of homeschooling with their computers.

    Liked by 3 people

  34. Ame says:

    CP – just read your comment – you’d already mentioned single moms keeping their kids in 🙂

    – – – – –

    redpillgirlnotes says:
    17 March, 2017 at 4:25 pm
    “From after school till dark. We (neighbor kids) would ride our bikes to the store that was at least a mile away starting around age 8.”

    now kids have so much homework that it also keeps them indoors. homework, dinner, bed. school.

    – – –

    “If I let my kids roam like I once did, someone would probably report me!”

    no kidding! it IS scary!

    – – –

    “Kids roaming from house to house, looking for attention, looking to connect with someone. It was like they were raising themselves.”

    yes … and even in very wealthy neighborhoods where both parents have high-level careers. it’s sad.

    Liked by 3 people

  35. Yoda says:

    Unbalanced he was

    Some witnesses said the suspect made remarks “linked to radical Islam” but the police urged caution, saying the killer’s motives were unknown.

    Newspaper Le Figaro cited a police source who said the knifeman shouted “Allahu Akbar” (‘God is greatest’, in Arabic).

    https://www.thelocal.fr/20170317/father-and-son-found-with-their-throats-slit-on-paris-street

    Liked by 1 person

  36. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Yoda,
    Elsewhere, there was some speculation as to why Angela Merkel is doing this. It doesn’t make any sense, in the short term or long term.

    Like

  37. Spawny Get says:

    Definitely shut it down. The whole libtard studies department.

    Liked by 2 people

  38. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Spawny Get,
    Did they fire him? If so, this is going to be an epic lawsuit. maybe on the order of the Scopes Monkey Trial.

    Liked by 2 people

  39. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I just saw the video. They didn’t fire him. If this is a regular class or lecture, every one of those demonstrators should be expelled. It is just that simple.
    I do wish that Donald Trump would carry out his threat on Berkeley. Sadly, this would only have a ripple effect in Canada.

    Liked by 2 people

  40. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    These jerks have been getting away with this for a while. This is Janice Fiamengo from three years ago. What is needed is school administrators willing to toss these people out. They aren’t there to study or learn anything.

    Liked by 1 person

  41. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    H/T to Bob’s Blog.

    No, I don’t think feminists will lift a finger to defend Melania.

    Like

  42. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Yoda,
    The thought of Chelsea embarking on a political career doesn’t do much for my digestion. it puts me off food. That is a lot coming from a bear.

    Liked by 2 people

  43. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    They love it!

    I can just see them saying, “Come in. pet human. We are having a party.”

    Like

  44. Spawny Get says:

    Liked by 1 person

  45. Yoda says:

    we removed our eldest daughter’s smart phone from her

    Hopefully nobody call Child Protective Services they will

    Liked by 1 person

  46. Spawny Get says:

    Like

  47. Spawny Get says:

    Damn the end of the France Wales game is nail-biting. The England-Ireland game is due to start in 5 minutes and they’re still playing. They’re just checking to see whether a player was bitten, or did it to himself…ISYN

    Like

  48. Spawny Get says:

    17 minutes of extra time after 80 minutes of normal match time…and they’re still going

    Like

  49. Spawny Get says:

    OH GOOD RESULT. No spoilers.

    Now the England game. We’ve already won the championship, but can we win the Grand Slam? In fact a back-to-back Grand Slam?

    (Grand Slam being winning all your matches. Back to back means we did it last time)

    Like

  50. Spawny Get says:

    No comment

    Liked by 1 person

  51. Spawny Get says:

    The Irish playing in Ireland on St Paddy’s Day (weekend anyway) are a little feisty. They’re playing for second place in the championship as well as denying us the Grand Slam

    Like

  52. Cill says:

    I don’t like milk or any dairy food. It’s the smell. Most people smell of milk. The smell of a breast feeding woman is so-so, neither good nor bad. Goat milk stinks to high heaven. Don’t talk to me about Camel milk

    Liked by 1 person

  53. Spawny Get says:

    Cill, I think that the England Ireland game has the makings of a real grudge match, at least the first 3/4s

    Liked by 2 people

  54. Spawny Get says:

    Liked by 2 people

  55. Yoda says:

    The BBC’s Asian Network, a ratio station aimed at British citizens of South Asian descent, today asked its viewers what the “right punishment” for blasphemy is, amid news that Pakistan has asked Facebook and Twitter to help it enforce its blasphemy laws.

    http://www.breitbart.com/tech/2017/03/17/right-punishment-blasphemy-asks-muslim-focused-bbc-channel/

    Liked by 2 people

  56. Yoda says:

    I don’t like milk or any dairy food

    Explains why horse and dog there were,
    But cow there was not

    Like

  57. Cill says:

    Beef cows there are.

    Like

  58. Cill says:

    But none called Cow there is.

    Liked by 1 person

  59. Cill says:

    Spawny, it’s early morning here. I didn’t watch those games. Did England win? If yes, they must be close to the world record for consecutive wins.

    Like

  60. Yoda says:

    Yodish virus catching it is

    Liked by 1 person

  61. Cill says:

    Rugby: England equal All Blacks winning streak, win Six Nations

    That was before today’s game against Ireland

    Like

  62. Spawny Get says:

    England Ireland second half has only just begun, 10-3 to Ireland

    Liked by 1 person

  63. Spawny Get says:

    BBC Asian Network apologises for tweet about blasphemy
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-39316253
    I’m sure that arrogance and stupidity are at the root of this. I doubt that they ever even bothered to consider the ramifications of the initial piece

    Liked by 1 person

  64. Cill says:

    51 minutes England kick penalty goal.

    Liked by 1 person

  65. Spawny Get says:

    Oi larfed oi did

    Gorton is MASSIVELY Labour

    Farron:

    Like

  66. Cill says:

    Lots of penalties. Ref penalizing Ireland for cheating in the tight.

    Like

  67. Cill says:

    58 minutes Ireland should have scored a try there. Good work in the forwards, sloppy passing in the backs.

    Like

  68. Spawny Get says:

    Like

  69. Spawny Get says:

    An Ahmadi muslim shop owner in Glasgow was murdered by a muslim of another sect just for wishing his customers a Happy Easter iirc.

    Liked by 1 person

  70. Spawny Get says:

    Clock running down boys…

    Like

  71. Spawny Get says:

    And it’s gone…furry muff

    Like

  72. Spawny Get says:

    FFS we have a border with these mongs and they want independence

    Build a wall

    Like

  73. Cill says:

    Good win to Ireland. England are the more consistent team. Haven’t seen this England team play a bad game yet, more consistent than ABs. NZ All Blacks played some very strange games end last season,lost to Ireland for the first time in history.

    With all the penalties these days, a good goal kicker is essential. Farrell is way better than Barret. Northern Hemisphere refs tend to target the ABs. They will have a tough time next World Cup.

    Liked by 1 person

  74. SFC Ton says:

    Never understood the point in naming cows.
    You don’t name food unless you are going to call them ribeye,t-bone, sirloin etc etc

    Liked by 2 people

  75. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    “Build a wall.”
    I think Emperor Hadrian already did that. It has fallen into disrepair.

    As for the BBC, aren’t there laws against incitement?

    Would somebody PLEASE stuff a corndog in Nicola Sturgeon’s mouth.

    Cill,
    Isn’t milk one of the ingredients in pickelets? Or, is that just Moe? By the way, I think the cattle would like it along with Horse if you planted an apple orchard. They would like it even more if they got to eat some.

    Like

  76. Yoda says:

    Friday at night at a St Patrick’s Day event in Scranton PA Hillary Clinton referenced a picture of her walking in the woods of Chappaquiddick near her home days after her presidential defeat when she said, “I am ready to, you know, come out of the woods.

    http://www.breitbart.com/video/2017/03/18/hillary-clinton-ready-come-woods/

    Like

  77. Yoda says:

    Name Turkeys “Thanksgiving”, “Christmas” and “Easter” one could

    Liked by 2 people

  78. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    A bad idea to name turkeys it is.
    Rosencrantz and Guildenstern did Sunshine’s children theirs name.

    Liked by 1 person

  79. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Yoda,
    I am in tears. Am I a sick human being?

    Like

  80. Yoda says:

    A bear you are

    Like

  81. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Thank you. I feel so much better now. Time for a peanut butter and honey sandwich, heavy on the honey.

    Like

  82. Crazy hat lady on sex. It writes itself

    Liked by 1 person

  83. Cill says:

    Fuzzy, pikelets are just Moe. I’m not a fan of sweet food.

    Liked by 1 person

  84. Cill says:

    Moe is way more like Colin Meads than me.

    Like

  85. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Cill,
    I think that Moe is very much himself. I can understand the olfactory cue in pickelets. I guess that it has something to do with his personal experience.

    Horseman,
    You are spot on. She just keeps on giving.

    Like

  86. Yoda says:

    Probably running out of ideas hat lady is

    Liked by 1 person

  87. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    That crazy hat lady! I think her viewers will do their best to supply her with new ideas.

    Like

  88. Cautiously Pessimistic says:

    ‘My mum always told me I was white, like her. Now I know the truth’

    You mean I’m gonna stay this color?!

    Like

Comments are closed.

