The whinging pom myth


Being the happy go lucky type that you lot so love, as an Englishman born and bred, I’ve been wondering how the Aussie myth about whinging poms came about.  A myth that has no mirror that I’m aware of, I believe that we widely like our Aussie (and Kiwi) Cuz’s.  Pom being Prisoner Of Mother England, of course.  A cunning reference to our habit of exporting our ne’er do well types to Downunda in centuries past.  Regretfully we seem to overlooked the ancestors of what became our political class for some reason.  Perhaps, at the time, they weren’t unpatriotic, traitorous, useless sacks of shit?  But I digress, even by my usual standards.  I’ve watched a few political anal-ysis shows this morning and my bile ducts are throbbing to a discombobulating degree.

Ahem.

Now it must be admitted that we don’t go in for the American custom of exaggerating stuff that we like into being ‘awesome’, we prefer saying that that thing is ‘not bad, not bad at all’.  For describing perfection we might allow ourselves a ‘pretty good’ but only if we’re sitting because otherwise we might get dizzy and fall over at the level of hyperbole that we have unleashed upon the world.  We’re prone to understatement, is what I’m saying.  But that should not be seen as whinging.  One merely prefers to refrain from getting carried away by enthusiasm.  Any enthusiasm.  About anything.  Except BREXIT.  And Trump in a proxy manner (not our media though, they hate him with the passion of a leftoid mong scorned).

In my research on the Aussie Myth I came across what might be seen as prime evidence.

DIARY OF A POM IN WESTERN AUSTRALIA

August 31
Just got transferred with work from Leeds UK to our new home in Karratha , Western Australia .
Now this is a town that knows how to live! Beautiful, sunny days and warm, balmy evenings.
I watched the sunset from a deckchair by our pool yesterday. It was beautiful. I’ve finally found my new home. I love it here.

September 13
Really heating up now. It got to 31 today. No problem though. Living in air-conditioned home, driving air-conditioned car.
What a pleasure to see the sun every day like this. I’m turning into a sun-worshipper no blasted rain like back in Leeds!

September 30
Had the back yard landscaped with tropical plants today.Lots of palms and rocks.No more mowing lawns for me!
Another scorcher today, but I love it here.It’s Paradise !

October 10
The temperature hasn’t been below 35 all week. How do people get used to this kind of heat? At least today it’s windy though. Keeps the flies off a bit. Acclimatizing is taking longer than we expected.

October 15
Fell asleep by the pool yesterday. Got third degree burns over 60% of my body. Missed three days off work.
What a dumb thing to do.. Got to respect the old sun in a climate like this!

October 20
Didn’t notice Kitty (our cat) sneaking into the car before I left for work this morning.
By the time I got back to the car after work, Kitty had died and swollen up to the size of a shopping bag and stuck to the upholstery. The car now smells like Whiskettes and cat shit. I’ve learned my lesson though: no more pets in this heat.

October 25
This wind is a bastard. It feels like a giant fucking blow dryer and it’s hot as hell!
The home air conditioner is on the blink and the repair man charged $200 just to drive over and tell me he needs to order parts from fucking Perth. The wife & the kids are complaining.

October 30
-The temperature’s up around 40 and the parts still haven’t arrived for the fucking air conditioner.
House is an oven so we’ve all been sleeping outside by the pool for 3 nights now. Bloody $600,000 house and we can’t even go inside. Why the hell did I ever come here?

November 4
Finally got the fucking air-conditioner fixed. It cost $1,500 and gets the temperature down to around 25 degrees, but the humidity makes it feel about 35. Stupid repairman. Fucking thief.

November 8
If one more smart bastard says ‘Hot enough for you today?’ I’m going to fucking throttle him. Fucking heat!
By the time I get to work, the car radiator is boiling over, my fucking clothes are soaking fucking wet and I smell like baked cat. Fucking place is the end of the Earth.

November 9
Tried to run some errands after work, wore shorts, and sat on the black leather upholstery in my car.
I thought my fucking arse was on fire. I lost 2 layers of flesh, all the hair on the backs of my legs and off my fucking arse. Now the car smells like burnt hair, fried arse and baked cat. Fuck. Fuck. Fuck.

November 10
The Weather report might as well be a fucking recording..
Hot and sunny. Hot and sunny, Hot and fucking sunny. It never fucking changes!
It’s been too hot to do anything for 2 fucking months and the weatherman says it might really warm up next week.
Fuck!

November 15
Doesn’t it ever rain in this damn fucking place?
Water restrictions will be next, so my $5,000 worth of palms might just dry up and blow into the fucking pool.
The only things that thrive in this fucking hell-hole are the fucking flies.
You don’t dare open your mouth for fear of swallowing half a dozen of the little bastards!

November 20
Welcome to HELL!
It got to 45 fuckin’ degrees today. Now the air conditioner has gone in my car.
The repair man came to fix it and said, ‘Hot enough for you today?’
I wanted to shove the fucking car up his fucking arse.
Anyway, had to spend the $2,500 mortgage payment to bail me out of jail for assaulting the stupid prick.
Fucking Karratha!
What kind of sick, demented fucking idiot would want to live here!

December 1
– WHAT! The FIRST day of Summer!
You are fucking kidding me!

Perhaps Choicy might confirm whether this is standard Pom behaviour?

Posted in Uncategorized
146 comments on “The whinging pom myth
  1. Spawny Get says:

    I hope that Choicy can elucidate

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Spawny Get says:

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yoda says:

    Sounds like an SJW type he does

    Like

  4. Yoda says:

    Not so bright he would be.
    Dec.1 the first day of summer it is not

    Like

  5. SFC Ton says:

    Spawny, it would if you wrote in English 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ame says:

    roflol!

    it gets hot like that down here in Texas … when the lows are well above 80* F, it’s HOT!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yoda says:

    “The big take away is that he took this bold stance against media shenanigans,” Hemingway said. “It wasn’t just that he said that BuzzFeed was a failing pile of garbage or that he called out another reporter and said he worked for a terrible news organization. It’s that he said that he alone was able to stand up to bullying media because he has a megaphone. I think this is a point that it’s really important for understanding the 2016 election.”

    “A lot of people think that our media are just treating them, their views, their way of life, the things they care about, with utter disdain, and they see in Donald Trump someone who is willing to punch back,” Hemingway said. “They also notice that this is in a context of a lot of Republicans and conservative leaders who have failed to punch back against this media that is completely out of control.”

    http://thefederalist.com/2017/01/12/hemingway-trump-took-bold-stance-against-media-shenanigans/#.WHfFIyceB54.twitter

    Liked by 2 people

  8. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I believe it but, it has always been that while you can dress up for cold, there is nothing to be done for heat but suffer.There are also degrees of cold. There was a gal in Calgary who dampened my enthusiasm. Forty degrees below is the same in Celsius and Fahrenheit. That is TOO DAMN Cold for someone brought up in California.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Spawny Get says:

    Ton, where would the fun be in that?

    When I partake of alcofrol I tend to address profound issues with grandiloquence, it is my gift and my curse. I can do naught else.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. SFC Ton says:

    113 doesnt seem all that bad after a life time spent in places like Colombia, Africa, Iraq, Georgia etc

    Like

  11. Spawny Get says:

    Julia Loffe needs to truck on over to Sweden where they’ve just found a woman chained in the basement of a kebab shop (or some such) as a sex slave.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Spawny Get says:

    113 before the real summer heat rolls in though.

    Like

  13. SFC Ton says:

    I spent 2 years in the Hindu Kush….. Kush means death, kill, slay. The mountains are named Hindu killer

    Pretty much immune to unpleasant weather after 2 years of that shit

    Liked by 1 person

  14. SFC Ton says:

    Pretty unreal. When I started the army thing I would get sun burned through my clothes and I thought Georgia was nasty

    Liked by 1 person

  15. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Spawny Get,
    Will they ever condemn men that do that if they are Muslim?
    This is beyond old.

    Like

  16. Ame says:

    Ton … you win! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Yoda says:

    Syracuse University is instructing students to file a report if they see “abhorrent and intolerable” “bias incidents” on campus — such as “a sign that is color-coded pink for girls and blue for boys.

    http://www.nationalreview.com/article/443781/syracuse-university-color-coded-bathrooms-bias-reports

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Choicy says:

    Spawny the Poms even bitch about Fosters which is a whinge about the best beer in the world mate. You’re all right mate.

    Liked by 4 people

  19. Choicy says:

    I spoke to the wrinklies to get to the bottom of whinging Poms these days mate. They say they were Poms with a chip on their shoulder against the bosses in the 1950s and didn’t know where the Aussies fitted in their class system. Jack is as good as his master down under mate, there’s no place for class. If one thing gets Aussies and Kiwis backs up its snobbery mate. Modern Poms aren’t bad.

    Liked by 4 people

  20. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Disrespecting Foster’s in Australia? Does that count as treason?
    Kidding aside, Choicy, you did mention that Foster’s has something special about it that helps you cope with the heat.

    Like

  21. SFC Ton says:

    I worked with Oz’s SAS. They hated that beer and said it was the worst in their great nation

    Is it a regional thing?

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Choicy says:

    Yeah Fuzzie you want your beer flattish and as cold as a penguin’s bum mate, which is as cold as beer can go before it turns to ice. When it’s 50 degrees C (122 Farenheit) in the shade and no shade in sight you don’t stand there warming the glass in your hand while you admire the bubbles and the color and the head on the beer, you just sock it back with one gulp before the sun can steal it mate.

    Liked by 2 people

  23. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Choicy,
    There is a limit on how cold you can store beer. Milk freezes at 41 degrees Fahrenheit and that is the practical limit for most people. I’ll bet you may have fridge dedicated to beer.

    Like

  24. Spawny Get says:

    Hell, I have a beer fridge (for lager). Although right now the whole garage is great for beer (beer beer)..

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Spawny Get says:

    Choicy, I’ve never been interested in the class system. Pretty sure that that has had an effect on life’s course, more in opportunities that went elsewhere, nothing to my face. It really isn’t in my nature to suck up to chinless wonders, so that’s that.

    However, I have friends that definitely come from that background (e.g. son of an Admiral) where there’s definitely ‘something’ there in his character where you can imagine him working as an officer that men trust and follow. Not part of me to feel the need to follow, but I can see it in action. Nice guy, I’ll be seeing him tomorrow if the snow stays away.

    Liked by 2 people

  26. Ame says:

    woke to the sound of the dog barfing … grateful she had hopped off the bed first. now i’m wondering if she’s sick or if it was a one-time thing, and if i should go back to sleep. ugh. i’m tired.

    Liked by 3 people

  27. Spawny Get says:

    Update on the latest Jezza Corbyn relaunch as ‘leader’ of the laba party

    Same as every other time then.

    Every day, in every way, he’s getting worserer and worserer

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Spawny Get says:

    The MSM issue with what people think of their value

    also

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Spawny Get says:

    Previous Corbyn relaunches

    Like

  30. SFC Ton says:

    lol Ame, I lived as hard as I could, for as long as I could and paid the cost to be the boss

    Liked by 2 people

  31. Spawny Get says:

    Ton, that is poetry

    Liked by 1 person

  32. SFC Ton says:

    BB King quote. In part, and who’s a better poet then the legendary BB King?

    Liked by 2 people

  33. Spawny Get says:

    He’s good

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Yoda says:

    Permanently wear a plunger desire he does?

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Spawny Get says:

    Got a new favourite quote

    “In peace there’s nothing so becomes a man
    As modest stillness and humility;
    But when the blast of war blows in our ears,
    Then imitate the action of the tiger:
    Stiffen the sinews, summon up the blood,
    Then lend the eye a terrible aspect;
    Now set the teeth, and stretch the nostril wide,
    Hold hard the breath, and bend up every spirit
    To his full height!”

    right along side

    Norman and Saxon

    A.D. 1100

    “My son,” said the Norman Baron, “I am dying, and you will be heir
    To all the broad acres in England that William gave me for share
    When he conquered the Saxon at Hastings, and a nice little handful it is.
    But before you go over to rule it I want you to understand this:–

    “The Saxon is not like us Normans. His manners are not so polite.
    But he never means anything serious till he talks about justice right.
    When he stands like an ox in the furrow–with his sullen set eyes on your own,
    And grumbles, ‘This isn’t fair dealing,’ my son, leave the Saxon alone.

    “You can horsewhip your Gascony archers, or torture your Picardy spears;
    But don’t try that game on the Saxon; you’ll have the whole brood round your ears.
    From the richest old Thane in the county to the poorest chained serf in the field,
    They’ll be at you and on you like hornets, and, if you are wise, you will yield.

    “But first you must master their language, their dialect, proverbs and songs.
    Don’t trust any clerk to interpret when they come with the tale of their own wrongs.
    Let them know that you know what they are saying; let them feel that you know what to say.
    Yes, even when you want to go hunting, hear ’em out if it takes you all day.

    They’ll drink every hour of the daylight and poach every hour of the dark.
    It’s the sport not the rabbits they’re after (we’ve plenty of game in the park).
    Don’t hang them or cut off their fingers. That’s wasteful as well as unkind,
    For a hard-bitten, South-country poacher makes the best man-at-arms you can find.

    “Appear with your wife and the children at their weddings and funerals and feasts.
    Be polite but not friendly to Bishops; be good to all poor parish priests.
    Say ‘we,’ ‘us’ and ‘ours’ when you’re talking, instead of ‘you fellows’ and ‘I.’
    Don’t ride over seeds; keep your temper; and never you tell ’em a lie!”

    Because this where Brexiteers are being pushed by legal challenges and delays and mixed messages and incompetence. And Trumpeteers by the media, their own intellyjunts servysis and the la-la landers.

    Patience is being pushed. At least the Americans have a hard date, coming soon, by which they can start to judge the effectiveness of their success.

    Liked by 1 person

  36. Spawny Get says:

    Yay!

    Liked by 2 people

  37. Spawny Get says:

    You see what I mean?

    Liked by 1 person

  38. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I wonder if it would do any good to address the Remainers as what they are-weasels.

    Liked by 1 person

  39. Spawny Get says:

    Seems to be a new meme

    Like

  40. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Could the “autistic screeching” be the reason that whenever I see Nicola Sturgeon, I want to stuff a corndog in her mouth?

    Like

  41. Spawny Get says:

    Fuzzie, you are truly likely to be correct about that.

    Liked by 1 person

  42. Cill says:

    I don’t hear the expression “whinging Pom” except sometimes (rarely) in relation to sport. Stephen Jones, Rugby writer and professional bad sport, is the worst whinger I’ve ever heard. But he’s Welsh, not Pom.

    Like

  43. Spawny Get says:

    Ahh Cill, the whole post was simply down to me finding that diary on-line and finding it funny as hell. Nothing to do with any non-existent feeling of injustice.

    Rather than just posting it as a comment, I thought I’d make a post of it (because like many others, I have been lazy about that). I had to find an angle. I decided on whinging pom (which is not anything that has been aimed at me like evah bro), hence the post was born, then I fucked about with it with grandiloquence because by that time the beer was making itself pleasantly felt.

    Liked by 1 person

  44. Spawny Get says:

    Currently BREXIT is causing thousands of homes to be evacuated in Eastern England. The bastard Brexiteers. There’s a global warming sea tide surge invited in by our will-we won’t-we be leaving the EU.

    Liked by 1 person

  45. Cill says:

    The purple passages and pithy prose of the post had not escaped my notice, me old mate.

    Liked by 2 people

  46. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Spawny Get,
    The impulse is beneath my consciousness. However, feeding her would be better than autistic screeching.
    Would you like some mustard on that, Nicola?

    Liked by 1 person

  47. Cill says:

    “mustard ” bwahahaha

    Does mustard have the same meaning in your part of the world as here?

    Liked by 1 person

  48. molly says:

    What is a corndog?

    Liked by 2 people

  49. molly says:

    It sounds like an enema LOL

    Liked by 2 people

  50. A corndog is a hot dog on a stick that is then dipped in a cornmeal batter and fried. Commonly sold at fairs and circus and carnivals and the like. http://evergoodfoods.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/Fotolia_44365909_Subscription_Yearly_M.jpg

    Liked by 3 people

  51. You don’t have these in NZ, Molly?

    Liked by 2 people

  52. Spawny Get says:

    I’ve never seen ’em here. Thankfully

    Liked by 2 people

  53. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly!
    Bloom beat me to it. Corndogs are county fair food.

    Cill,
    I don’t think we have the same connotation for mustard. I meant that query to be literal.

    Molly! I forgot! Burrito, burrito, burrito.

    Liked by 1 person

  54. thedeti says:

    OK.

    I”ve always wondered this.

    What is “whinging”? What happens with a “whinge”?

    Is this like a special kind of whining? Is this a British/UK thing, like favorite/favourite, or color/colour, or program/programme, or truck/lorry, or TV/telly?

    Liked by 1 person

  55. thedeti says:

    Or apartment/flat? Or napkins/wipes? Or French fries/chips?

    Liked by 1 person

  56. Spawny Get says:

    Whinging is whining, I think. Not sure that there’s a difference where I come from.

    Liked by 1 person

  57. Spawny Get says:

    All the same, though northerners may cook ‘chips’ in lard (animal fat). A fond memory. They do taste different, not sure about better, just different. The fish too. Nom nom nom

    Nappy is decidedly different.
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Pampers-Premium-Protection-Nappies-Monthly/dp/B00AGTP9H4/
    I upset someone on an old US site by accident. She thought I was being raciss. Nappy (UK) is derived from napkin, obviously.

    Liked by 1 person

  58. Yoda says:

    diapers/nappies, stroller/pram, jack/wank, guy/bloke, potato chips/crisps, hood/bonnet, trunk/boot, road/carriage way, watch/mind, chick/bird, SJW/mad cow diseased person

    Liked by 3 people

  59. Yoda says:

    Glorious Patriarch beat me to the nappy reference he did.
    Perhaps budding Jedi powers he has

    Liked by 3 people

  60. Spawny Get says:

    I suppose that apartment sounds more upmarket than flat. Perhaps a class thing more than an actual difference.

    Liked by 1 person

  61. Spawny Get says:

    Path/sidewalk. Path being short for footpath.

    Pram short for perambulator back some decades ago.

    Pants mean underpants. Our trousers are your pants. Shorts are short trousers, not underpants.

    Liked by 1 person

  62. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Deti,
    Wasn’t it Mark Twain who said something about “separated by the barrier of a common language”?

    Liked by 2 people

  63. Yoda says:

    Patton did.
    Perhaps not first he was

    Liked by 2 people

  64. Yoda says:

    Car/motor car, bike/motor bike, take out/take away, Pakistani/Asian, windshield/windscreen, John/loo, elevator/lift, savings/redundancy, fired/made redundant

    Liked by 1 person

  65. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Yoda,
    We may both be wrong. I did find this.
    http://www.oscarwildeinamerica.org/quotations/common-language.html

    Like

  66. Spawny Get says:

    More laughs. Omar Shariff was in a taxi that the baddies fed into a crusher

    Really good film

    Liked by 1 person

  67. Spawny Get says:

    Millie Tant. Feminist extraordinaire

    Liked by 1 person

  68. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    It has been a long time since I saw that movie. It was a chain of many brilliant moments.

    Liked by 1 person

  69. molly says:

    Hi Bloom! We will have corndogs for sure as there is all sorts of American food sold by American immigrants. Cajun is yum!

    Liked by 3 people

  70. SFC Ton says:

    I make a mean gumbo… etuffe too

    Liked by 2 people

  71. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    I like gumbo but, those who don’t probably don’t like okra.
    I guess that I like all soup that is red.

    Like

  72. RichardP says:

    RIP Lord Snowden. Does anybody over there still care about these passings?

    Like

  73. RichardP says:

    Sort of related. Group Captain Peter Townsend’s daughter Isabelle Townsend, a model.

    Liked by 1 person

  74. SFC Ton says:

    LOL I leave out the orka
    Nasty nasty stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  75. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Something to go with all that Creole food.

    Liked by 1 person

  76. SFC Ton says:

    Trump will have a hard time getting re-elected if he agrees with Ryan on this

    http://www.cbsnews.com/news/paul-ryan-trump-mass-deportations-not-happening/

    Liked by 1 person

  77. RichardP says:

    For those who may not know:

    Princess Margaret could not marry Group Captain Peter Townsend and stay a princess. So she married Antony Armstrong-Jones, Lord Snowden, 1st Earl of Snowden. He died today.

    Group Captain Peter Townsend married a Belgian woman and their daughter is the model Isabelle Townsend.

    Isabelle and her family live in a house in France named “The Mill”, where the Duke and Duchess of Windsor once resided. (Duke of Windsor, Princess Margaret’s Uncle, the fella who abdicated the Throne.)

    My grandfather was from Cornwall. My dad was born in Vancouver, B.C., but moved to the States when he was three. I am first-generation American. I notice English stuff.

    Liked by 2 people

  78. RichardP says:

    Grandmother (Cornwall’s wife) was from Belfast. They met somewhere between the copper mines of Montana and Vancouver, B.C. Have it written down somwhere but too lazy to go look.

    Like

  79. Spawny Get says:

    Cornwall you say. Whereabouts? Have you been watching Poldark?

    Liked by 1 person

  80. Yoda says:

    Like Cornish Pasties I do

    Like

  81. Spawny Get says:

    Generally called Cornish Nasties round here. What’s more the barbarians put the cream on top of the jam on a scone in a Cornish Cream Tea! Civilised peeps put the jam on the cream on the scone. Heathens.

    https://www.devonheavenhampers.co.uk/blogs/news/16504740-devon-vs-cornwall-cream-teas

    Liked by 1 person

  82. Spawny Get says:

    I like the concept of Cornish Pasties but they’re generally more potato and swede than meat. I like meat.

    Liked by 1 person

  83. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I have to wit till summer to get a corndog. *sniff*

    Like

  84. Yoda says:

    Cornish pasties on Degoba lots of beef have they do

    Liked by 2 people

  85. molly says:

    Unca S and Fuzzie want meat?

    Liked by 2 people

  86. Yoda says:

    A new post there is

    Like

  87. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    See what piggies get for being lazy?

    Like

  88. Cill says:

    “Cornish pasties on Degoba lots of beef have they do”

    Hold as much beef as New York nightclub pasties they do?

    Liked by 2 people

  89. Yoda says:

    More succulent the Degoba beef is.
    “Finger licking good” it is

    Liked by 1 person

  90. Yoda says:

    Obama’s legacy

    Liked by 3 people

  91. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Yoda,
    I would have guessed, going into it, that the results would have been the other way around. What a disappointment. At least, with Millard Fillmore, you can’t say anything bad.

    Like

  92. Ame says:

    “lol Ame, I lived as hard as I could, for as long as I could and paid the cost to be the boss”

    and when you leave this earth you’ll take nothing with you and leave no regrets behind b/c you’ll have lived it all out. good for you – and even better that you model that and mentor others.

    Like

  93. Ame says:

    Fuzzie – “I have to wit till summer to get a corndog. *sniff*”

    actually … you can buy them frozen!

    http://www.corndogs.com/products/classic

    Liked by 1 person

  94. mgtowhorseman says:

    Frozen corndogs?? Blahsphamy.

    whats next. Cherry flavoured whisky? Pumpkin flavoured cigars? (the kids tried to bring them in my house. NOT!)

    Liked by 1 person

  95. Ame says:

    Ton – did you ever watch Justin Wilson? he was awesome 🙂

    Like

  96. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Ame,
    It is a comfort to know they are available, just in case I see Nicola Sturgeon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  97. Ame says:

    another Justin Wilson … cause this site is mostly guys …

    Like

  98. Ame says:

    that seriously sucks.

    Like

  99. SFC Ton says:

    Yeah…. but my ex wife is Cajun, legit Cajun and her grandmaw taught me a few things

    Like

  100. Ame says:

    very cool … so, after your kids, at least you got some good things out of that marriage 🙂

    i’m guessing you learned to understand their ‘language’ … did you also learn to speak it?

    Like

  101. Yoda says:

    Speaking of whining

    Liked by 2 people

  102. Yoda says:

    Wonder if whining this is

    Liked by 1 person

  103. Yoda says:

    Greatest hits

    Liked by 2 people

  104. Yoda says:

    Likes to stick fingers forward Hillary does

    Liked by 2 people

  105. RichardP says:

    I’ll have to check on what part of Cornwall. Got pasties with meat and potatoes and other stuff most times I visited as a kid. Plus hand-churned butter and the buttermilk that came off it. And warm bran muffins from a wood-fired stove with fresh-churned butter and homemade strawberry jam. (They owned a small farm) The pasties created a desire in me as a kid that hasn’t been fulfilled since. I have seen a few episodes of Poldark (cave-in at the Tin Mine period). Liked what I saw, but don’t generally watch television much.

    Grandfather left when he was seventeen. Never went back. No eMail or texting or Skyping then. Never saw parents or siblings again (except the couple that came over here). I can’t imagine the mindset that enables one to do that, but lots have done that throughout the centuries.

    Liked by 2 people

  106. SFC Ton says:

    Ame, I still get along with my former in laws, all but my former mother in law that is. My ex father in law apologized to me, which shows what a good man he is….. he did counter intell work and the like for the Airforce then NATO, my ex brother in law stayed with me a few days when he was in NC for work etc etc

    They also taught me how to hunt, processes and cook gator, which is my favorite seafood, and I can fry turkeys, do turduckhens, crawfish….. I learned to cook because of the moving around. No one does BBQ as well as the mountain folk, no on beats Southern Md for seafood etc etc

    Liked by 2 people

  107. Ame says:

    wow … that means your kids still have good relationships with them, too. that’s awesome.

    very cool how you learned to cook. my brother is a much better cook than i am 🙂

    Like

  108. FNU MNU LNU says:

    why not 50 points ahead?

    because you are a lying manipulative bitch!

    Liked by 3 people

  109. Farm Boy says:

    My grandparents came over my n the boat when they were 18 as single people on their own. They never saw their parents again. Though they did write letters

    Liked by 2 people

  110. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Yoda,
    While that was an excellent parody, we should credit the original.

    Like

  111. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Yoda at 1:30pm,
    I miss Commenter Liz.

    Like

  112. Yoda says:

    Added much to the discussion Liz did

    Liked by 1 person

  113. Yoda says:

    Wonder how many people want lying manipulative bitch as leader they do I do
    Perhaps too many it would be

    Liked by 2 people

  114. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Yoda,
    Liz was well grounded. Do you think it could have been the “froggie helmet”?

    “Lying, manipulative bitch” a bad leader she would make.
    The whole country dodged bullet it did.

    Liked by 1 person

  115. RichardP says:

    Imitating Yoda: Grandparents came to America at 17 and 18 years of age, they did. Looking for safe spaces, they were. But not the same kind of safe spaces as todays kids seek.

    Like

Comments are closed.

