AF,BB (Alpha Fux, Beta Bux) in SNAKESKIN!


The low budget movie SNAKESKIN is pure alpha fux, beta bux. The bad boy, the good boy, the entitlement, the hypergamy, the tingles, the validation, … it’s as if the woman who made the movie has studied the Red Pill.

This post is more summary than review or critique. It’s about a female New Zealander, Alice, who has a broad Kiwi accent and a need for an “American adventure”. The “American” aspect is deliberate cringe-culture crap, a Kiwi inferiority complex that some still suffer from.

Alice is too lazy to save her money for a trip to America. The best she can hope for is an “American adventure” within New Zealand’s shores. This post will keep to the subject of the movie EXCEPT… there’s a blatant Cillification – a twist in the tale added by me – at the end.

Alice’s “best friend” Johnnie is not bad enough for her liking, so she wants HIM to drive her out in HIS car to pick up someone “dangerous” on the open roads. She is a princess brat. Johnnie is a beta if ever there was one. He is the muggins who must stick his neck out for her, because there’s a chance – no matter how small – of the big V (Vagina or wedding Vow – like I said, he’s a muggins).

Meanwhile we catch brief flashes of something sinister farther out there, in the form of a hiker on the roads. We see his feet in snakeskin boots, and him entering the vehicles that stop to give him a ride. The wearer of those boots appears to be searching for a particular type of vehicle or person.

There is other snake imagery as well, in the road signs :

And there are glimpses of scenes associating the snake with death.  A cattle truck (one of the vehicles that had stopped for the hiker) approaches Johnnie’s car in the opposite direction, and as it passes by, the proximity of the vehicles (or perhaps of the personalities) arouses something snake-like among the hanging carcasses in the truck.

But there are no snakes in New Zealand, see. An American adventure, however, might feature snakes.

The movie shows us small white crosses and flowers at the roadside where loved ones have been killed, and Death in newspaper headlines at a wayside stopover. “Black Weekend on Roads”… “Police Baffled”… “Five die in mystery crash”
A tohunga wahine (spiritual woman) warns of danger on the roads that head westwards to the Southern Alps, which took the lives of two of her sons. Johnnie laughs, which angers the wahine’s only surviving son. The latter, a big Maori, features in the movie again. Later on, he says the roads that took his brothers are tapu (forbidden).

There was one scene that gave me the creeps like a ghost walking over my grave. The big Maori pointed to a Tiki figurine on the dash of Johnnie’s car, and asked, “You know what that’s for?”

I purchased one once, very cheaply in Hawaii, not realizing at the time that there was something not quite right about it. In taking it home, I entered the worst chapter of my life (“Pele’s Curse” perhaps?).  I went through a time of upheaval. Bad enemies came out of nowhere. Loved ones died. Even when there was a better than equal chance that things should go well for me, they went bad every time.  No matter how careful I was, I kept losing, until a Maori friend walked into my house, noticed the Tiki, stood stock still in front of it, and asked, “You know what that’s for?”

I got rid of the Tiki, and almost immediately my life began to improve. It was all due to coincidence of course, but I still wouldn’t dismiss such things with a laugh as Johnnie did.

But I am meandering somewhat. At one stage, a little earlier in the piece, Johnnie and Alice had stopped at a service station to re-fuel the car. “Johnnie”, she says, “I want some fun NOW. We could rob the place” (Or you, Johnnie, could go rob the place for me. ME ME ME). He hands her money and she goes to pay for the gas. Then the snakeskin boots are seen striding toward Johnnie’s Chrysler Valiant car.

Her childish recklessness and irresponsibility have led them to this. She doesn’t care that fulfillment of her desire puts others in danger. Lazy as sin, she expects men to foresee and attend to all her wants and needs, like Sir Walter Raleigh laying down his cloak on the mud so the precious Queen could walk on it without dirtying her boots. Johnnie does her bidding without a word of thanks from her. She contributed nothing. He had bought the vehicle and spent a year doing it up according to her wants. He pays for the fuel, risks his wallet and his neck for her.

And he pays the ultimate price.

I wonder how many more times I must see examples of this IRL. How much longer will it take for most men to finally get it into their heads that taking risks for these feckless trollops is a losers’ game?

Several people must die violently before Alice’s wish will come true. The princess wants, the princess gets.  To have #N like a man, to be as predatory as a man, to hunt like a… like a goddam PPP.

And there’s our twist. Yes, our heroine has become the archetype of the Predatory Promiscuous Princess.  The goddam PPP.

The End

 

SNAKESKIN 2001 Writer/director Gillian Ashurst
Starring:
Melanie Lynskey as Alice
Boyd Kestner as Seth
Dean O'Gorman as Johnny
Category: Entertainment
License: Standard YouTube License
1 hour 29 minutes 

 

If you haven’t got time to watch it, let me know in comments if you want more detail.

Posted in alpha fux beta bux, Cill, Hypergamy, Movie TV Review
28 comments on “AF,BB (Alpha Fux, Beta Bux) in SNAKESKIN!
  1. FNU LNU says:

    Been to New Zealand. Both Islands. Beautiful country. Awfully friendly girls.

    The movies SUCK.

    The first 10 minutes were enough to make me glad that all of my guns are locked up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. SFC Ton says:

    When I was in Hawaii one of the locals tried that Pele curse thing with me

    They were way unhappy with my reply; they were even less happy as things progressed

    Liked by 1 person

  3. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I haven’t seen the movie yet, but, if can enjoy movies with subtitles, movies with accents shouldn’t be a problem. From your description, it sounds as if the moral will be that men should not sacrifice themselves as they do to prop up a woman’s vanity and Alice sounds like a very vain woman.

    Like

  4. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Yes, Alice was a very vain woman. The whole world revlved around her. I saw it. There is one thing to be said for the movie, it had to be dirt cheap to make. Original script, unknown actors, and New Zealand as a backdrop.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Spawny Get says:

    FNU, there’s a Kiwi movie on Netflix (UK) called Housebound. I like it, though it might be down to my sense of humour (highly compatible with Kiwis’ and Aussies’). Lot of twists, it’s hard to know what kind of movie that you’re watching.

    Last I read there was an American remake coming. I don’t have high hopes that the remake will capture the tone.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Off topic but get a load of this! $3500 to “act” like a protester?!?!?
    http://abcnews.com.co/donald-trump-protester-speaks-out-i-was-paid-to-protest/

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Ame says:

    Cill – how do NZ’s perceive Americans?

    (got to 9:00 and had to stop)

    Like

  8. Ame says:

    Bloom – ugh.

    can’t believe anything.
    can’t trust anyone.

    Like

  9. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Bloom,
    That was months ago when there was lwss riding. What does Hillary have up her sleeve going forward? Thsi is going to make all the dirty tricks that the Nixon people did look like frat boy pranks.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Actually that link seemed legit (abc news) but after looking into it more it appears it might be a fraud. Sorry!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Notice the .co after the .com in the link. My bad!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Spawny Get says:

    I was watching the Amazon series Braindead last night. A sci-fi show set in US politics. Not bad. Anyway it emerged (via invesigators) that the lead woman character (democrat) had slept with 24 men in college and after…her love interest guy (repub) upset her with his ‘disapointing’ reaction to the news. She wasn’t repentant, no tears, but she knew it wasn’t good news for him+her. They sort of had a bit of a break, but then just as they were getting back together it emerges that she slept with Michael Moore! The guy dry heaved a fair amount. The relationship was back off again.

    An N of 24 that investigators could establish (she didn’t deny 24, but neither did she say anything about its being accurate…could be higher). Holy fuck. That isn’t wife material, it’s not even LTR. Yay empowerment. She’s a good character for the series, it’s a reasonable series. Ridley ‘Alien’ ‘Gladiator’ ‘Prometheus’ Scott is involved.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Choicy says:

    Cheese-us I’m going to stick my neck out and say I’m not a big movie buff which is probably why I liked Snakeskin mate. I get the Kiwi humour and the good laugh they have at themselves. Cillo gave a bonzer account of it and I read it and went with the flow of the movie. It was my kettle of fish as you would say or my tinny of beer as I would say. It was an interesting article and movie mate.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Spawny Get says:

    Ghostbuster flop is now officially global. Just opened at #4 in Japan. $4.3m on its opening weekend (Fri-Sun). Oopsy

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Spawny Get says:

    I tried watching Snakeskin a couple of times…but I didn’t like any of the characters. The girl is a copey dunt, the wannabe-boyfriend a wiener and the ‘badboy’ looked to be all mouth and trousers. I didn’t get very far in either time.

    Cill might well be right about the themes being relevant to this blog, but I’m done with watching TV/movies with vapid, dumb,shallow characters that I detest. Nor do I watch unfeasibly kick-arse wunderkind females (except Serenity where I’ll live with ‘er for the sake of the rest of the story). And T:TSCC where she’s a terminatrix, that’s furry muff.

    Housebound is the way forward, the Kiwi original.
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3504048

    Liked by 1 person

  16. SFC Ton says:

    I use to get paid to break up protests so on a cosmic scale I reckon everything balances out

    On the Trump front, it’s hard to imagine he is polling poorly yet his rallies are packed.

    Liked by 3 people

  17. SFC Ton says:

    Probably because of my rather pronounced hearing lost I cannot understand movies from the UK, NZ and Oz.

    I generally have no problems following a in person conversation, slang isn’t typically a problem either but there is something about recorded audio, their accents and my hearing loss that doesn’t mix

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Spawny Get says:

    I don’t usually have a problem, but there was one line in True Detective series one that I tried to catch multiple times…couldn’t work it out, not a scooby.

    Like

  19. Yoda says:

    Trump more on message lately he has been.
    Also going for the jugular he is

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Cill says:

    I didn’t arrive home until late last night. I see this post has brought the blog to a dead halt, so it’s time to prune it. It happens.

    With apologies to FB, I’ve published his next sheduled post “This Could Be Good

    Like

  21. Yoda says:

    A fine post this is.
    One more data point with respect to AF/BB it would be.
    Never enough data points there are

    Like

  22. Spawny Get says:

    I disagree with doing that (but whatever, let it stand as you wish). Just think how many of my posts I’d have to bin if this principle is set? Also, some posts are late bloomers, some are just posted when people are busy…s’all alright with me.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Yoda says:

    When Tarn overshares not,
    threads not as dynamic they are

    Like

  24. Cill says:

    FB’s post was scheduled to publish 29 hours away. Too long. Time to move on.

    Like

  25. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Cill,
    the movie did have its moments but, I wouldn’t have watched it all the way through without your endorsement. I did come away with a good thought. We need a boatload more of these. Some will be great, other will be stinkers,and most will be forgettable but, it is a whole lot better than spending $144 million in production costs and doubling down on the distribution and promotion cost to make the new Ghostbusters.
    I t did have a lot of red pill moments as you said. Poor Johnny!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

