This Is All There Is


I happen to have three thoughts colliding in my head this morning, a morning as I write this which in the US is seen as a day celebrating the benefits of a civilized society as bestowed by the imaginations of the Bronze Age. This secularized social celebration sets the stage that my players act upon, telling two stories simultaneously. One story is about happiness and security. The other is about futility. Neither appears to reach the audience, who is maybe seeing and hearing the plays being staged, yet thinking about their own plays within their heads. Nothing is real, and nothing to get hung about. Strawberry Shortcake Forever.

Deliberately misquoting John Lennon opens the curtain for my actors to present their coincident plays to you, dear reader.

I introduce my three actors: The Dream, The Desire, and The Reality.

The Dream opens Act I, speaking to us through the fourth wall yet ignoring us. The Dream is encouraging me to resume my courtship of a muse I once pursued under an unknowingly false pretense. My Muse let me believe that the talent I spent a large part of my life improving would mean something; that it would actually do something to make life better, and not just for me.

Originally it did. It improved my social standing to where those who once scornfully disdained me were actually impressed enough to want to attract my notice, to have it known that they knew me, to bask in my reflected glory, which being a big fish in a small pond will do nicely.

And yet I feel like the inspirations in others that I generated via my interactions with My Muse meant little in the greater scheme of things. I know of at least two who followed similar paths after sampling my performances, who spent significant portions of their lives improving their skills, only to discover -as I had- that only a lucky few achieve any lasting success. The rest have visions of what might have been had other decisions been reached.

It wasn’t necessarily personal shortcoming which ended The Dream. It can be that the environment one trained for long and hard has disappeared through no fault of its own, via agents I won’t introduce into this play. The implications that they exist are sufficient.

So why not resume? Why not take it up again, and make another attempt, one with past experience and existing knowledge acting as the guiding hands upon the tiller?

To answer means examining why one took up a dalliance with The Muse in the first place. I did it only to satisfy unrequited longings and needs I had, and not through a desire to improve the existences of others, or to make life an easier chore and more endurable.

As I now look back, I can see that had I known myself better, I would have taken an entirely different path in life. I had no business pursuing My Muse. I wasn’t Her type in the slightest. But for Her amusement, she allowed me to believe I was – at least until I had manoeuvred myself into a position where I had no shelter from the hard, cold rain of Reality. Then She was gone, Her laughter echoing in the cold night.

End Act I

Act II

I can see this now, this lost and vainglorious love, while safe from its realized anguish for the moment under the cover of The Desire I have managed to achieve. It is nothing at all like the New Paradise dawning on the coast of New Zealand, but it’s paid for. It’s mine, by dint of a lot of sweat, much lost sleep, and a little blood. All the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune endured, rewarded with a shack to shut out the shivers, and a roof to repel the rain. It isn’t surrounded with arboreal grandeur, nor is it perched upon a seaside scarp, with an aspect where one can see Forever if one but scans long and hard enough into the mist. But it is what I could have made it, considering the late launch I got after vainly pursuing The Muse.

In Life, there is a measure of opportunity to redeem one’s self from one’s follies. Yet Life requires that one who has achieved an amount of self-knowledge reach out to others wallowing within their own misimpressions, to share what you know, despite they to whom you offer your wisdom generally caring little that you are sincere in wanting them to have it better than you did.

We are as the men of Fethard, of Longhope, and of Penlee, who know well the dangers of exposure, yet who ventured forth into the tempest to rescue those caught within it, unable to escape its wrath unaided – only to fail.

This be the verse you ‘grave for me:
Here he lies where he long’d to be;
Home is the sailor, home from the sea,
And the hunter home from the hill.

End Act II

Act III

What is Life? What does it mean to Live? Does Living need a Dream to inspire? A Desire to be the reward for Living?

[echoing in the distance, off stage: “…nothing is real, and nothing to get hung about…“]

Reality believes that living is a dream, that it is its own reward. Reality seeks action, and action results not so much in creation, but in ensuring that nothing is created, for creation ensures the eventual stasis of creation. Reality is returning any stacked stones to their natural state of independent isolation upon the surface of the Earth from which they were thrust.

Reality only sees power and dominance, winning and losing, rebuffing the notion of self-worth while being packed with enough of the stuff to empower an entire shopping mall of feminine holiday bargain hunters. Reality is nothing more than preparing all one’s life to separate someone else from their life.

It is what it is, and ever will it be.

Civilization is a lie told to those who are prey, for the Law of the Jungle is the only law heeded. Kill or Be Killed. Eat or Be Eaten. No two stones ever stacked upon each other will be defended against Reality. Reality will have its due. Reality will stand victorious in the end.

There is no reason to strive for betterment if all is but a target set for destruction. Anyone who thinks otherwise is only ignoring the predator lurking, denying the inevitable fate of providing nourishment to a destroyer.

Even destroyers will serve as prey to other destroyers, for there is always one more able, more stealthy, and more hungry.

I’ll show you some Jaws!

There will eventually be One. Only One. Will One achieve understanding through this effort? Or will One laugh maniacally, crushing what remains to powder before One himself has no life left?

Whatever remains after One is done will have learned nothing from the experience. and the Cycle will continue, until even the Earth is devoured.

Curtain.

Tagged with:
Posted in Blurkel
86 comments on “This Is All There Is
  1. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Maybe Bloom is right. Try playing music again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. blurkel says:

    @ Fuzzy

    “It takes great deal of courage to see the world in all its tainted glory, and still to love it.”
    – Oscar Wilde

    I don’t love it. I merely hope to keep it alive long enough for my grandkids to have a chance to love it.

    Like

  3. Cill says:

    “I know of at least two who followed similar paths after sampling my performances, who spent significant portions of their lives improving their skills, only to discover -as I had- that only a lucky few achieve any lasting success.”

    Reading between the lines, blurkel my friend, I suspect that you must have had genuine talent. Take talent in music as an example. I have musician friends IRL, from whom I’ve learned that there’s a very fine dividing line between those who have what it takes and those who don’t. Not only that, the more successful ones needed a hand from Clotho and Lachesis and Atropos.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cill says:

    “Whatever remains after One is done will have learned nothing from the experience. and the Cycle will continue, until even the Earth is devoured.”

    A lot would say this is cynical and jaded. Some would say it’s reality. I have questions that I’ll come back to.

    The verse at the end of Act II took me by surprise, and has really got me thinking.

    Like

  5. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Blurkel,
    You did write a good post. The comment section is quiet because people haven’t moved over here.
    Appropiate music,

    These guys can play!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Cill says:

    Cynicism vs reality: You’re right, it is reality. “There is no reason to strive for betterment if all is but a target set for destruction.” However you’ll just have to take my word for it that before spawnyspace was even a twinkle in the Patriarch’s eye, I was learning a lot from your accounts of your experiences with Mrs B. You made me decide emphatically to resist the pressures and deceptions (all well outlined and explained by you) whereby men end up in such situations. In a roundabout way, is this not you passing on something of value to someone else?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. blurkel says:

    I’d love to hear what Randy Bachmann could do when he got serious about playing!

    I have a picture of Neil Young and Burton Cummings (standing with a turned away Randy Bachmann) taken by Mrs B’s Grandmother’s sister, who is Burton’s aunt. I’d love to show it to him sometime!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. blurkel says:

    The poem, Cill, is Robert Louis Stevenson’s Requiem. Considering your location and hobbies, I thought it most appropriate.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Cill says:

    …and if I have any sense at all, I have a chance of going on to lead a fulfilling life, paradise and all?

    Liked by 2 people

  10. blurkel says:

    Yes, Cill. You are the example the rest of us would gladly aspire to emulate.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. blurkel says:

    AND . . .

    In a roundabout way, is this not you passing on something of value to someone else?.

    It is indeed – provided is is passed on. It only works if it makes someone else’s life better.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Cill says:

    I’d like to think the Stevenson poem is prophetic. A man can’t live forever, and when he croaks he might as well croak in the place of his dreams. It also suggests that in order to be buried there, he would’ve been living there at the time of his death. This man couldn’t ask for more. You’ve made my day, brother.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. blurkel says:

    You are very welcome, Cill.

    Like

  14. Cill says:

    All the more reason for me to put my back into building the next place of my dreams. Back to the grindstone.

    I bought a couple of bottles of Wild Turkey Rare Breed last night (Ton’s recommendation) and gave one to Tom, who refuses to take any payment for the work he does for me. Man, he’s a worker. We’re making good progress here.

    Liked by 3 people

  15. blurkel says:

    New Post Scheduled for: Nov 30, 2015 @ 00:30 GMT (I assume)

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Cill says:

    BTW Wild Turkey Rare Breed costs $139 here.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Cill,
    That is a lot of money! Does NZ produce any liquor?

    Like

  18. Sumo says:

    Wild Turkey Rare Breed costs $139 here.

    Ouch…..$50 ’round these parts.

    Like

  19. Cill says:

    “Does NZ produce any liquor?”
    We produce some good beer.

    Before my time, NZ launched 45 South Whisky to great fanfare and high expectations in the marketplace. We have as good water for it as anywhere else in the world, high quality grain and all those Otago Scots to make the stuff.

    My dad kept a bottle of it, out of which I poured myself a shot. It was the worst piss ever to pass my lips. I spat it out, while Dad laughed his head off.

    Wilsons was another NZ attempt at producing a whisky. If anything, worse than the 45 South.

    The illegal Hokonui Whisky (“moonshine” in American-speak) is way better, but so far behind the imported whiskys, it ain’t funny.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Cill says:

    Tom and I are putting in a last spurt at the end of the day, so I’ll be absent for while, mates.

    Like

  21. molly says:

    blurkel ❤

    I really tried to understand your words. I'm a dummo with words eh.

    Like

  22. molly says:

    blurkel. I like your words

    Like

  23. blurkel says:

    @mollytmolly

    blurkel. I like your words. I really tried to understand your words. I’m a dummo with words eh.

    Thank you, Molly. You are very kind. Fuzzie is lucky to have you!

    Trying to “understand words” is normal for a young person. Pop “culture” and slang tend to edge out more literate expressions because the young have an urge to blend in with each other. Without it, the necessary bonding to create the next generation can’t happen. In many cases -including mine- the kind of growth necessary to “understand words” comes later.

    In my case, I was married with young kids before my mind turned to question why my life sucked. A great deal of reading went into these deliberations, which when added to the experiences one has in life, led me to certain understandings. As these understandings expanded, I felt that my life was wasted unless I could help someone avoid the pain I went through.

    I’m on an Oscar Wilde quote kick right now. One of the things he said was “If you want to tell people the truth, make them laugh, otherwise they’ll kill you.” This was the strategy the late, great George Carlin used to get people to see certain truths, and to some extent he succeeded. Wilde also had a good observation as to why this is necessary: “Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else’s opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation.” It would take humor to break through this wall of inclusiveness, and hopefully to make people think.

    One quote that continues to expand in my brain comes from Henry David Thoreau: “Most men lead lives of quiet desperation and go to the grave with the song still in them.” This especially resonated with me when I was young, for I was hoping to make a career in the music business. But what opportunities I had for success were squandered, and eventually I had responsibilities which required steady financial support. Eventually, the songs I had within me went silent, and I’m old enough to see where my grave will be.

    You are young, however, and have your life ahead of you. What you question now you will teach later. So stop calling yourself a “dummo”!!!! Don’t make me ask Cill to wag his finger at you!!!!

    You are certainly smart enough to hang out here and hear what we have to say. This is evident in your replies. ❤

    Liked by 5 people

  24. SFC Ton says:

    Cynicism vs reality? No

    Cynicism is reality. The problem is not this fact but how people are set up for failure by various false messages. The go to example here would be women and having it all. Life is hard and full of bullshit. That should only make the good moments better not rob the enjoyment of them

    Liked by 2 people

  25. SFC Ton says:

    $139? Fuck. its like $40 here in the usa. Even with the exchange rate thats more then twice what it cost. Damn man sure hope y’all enjoy it $140/ $90 worth

    Liked by 2 people

  26. Cill says:

    Wild Turkey Rare Breed:

    Smooth as… ?

    I can’t think of anything as smooth. It’s a hell of a good drink. Thanks for the tip.

    Like

  27. @ blurkel I too find that if my stories can help someone else avoid things I had to learn the hard way, all is not lost.

    Hope everyone is having a fantastic weekend! I am, the sun is shining and life is good 😀

    Liked by 6 people

  28. Cill says:

    7:00 here. I’ve been at my work site for hours already. Setting explosives, preparing for the day’s big push with Tom. Tom likes to work for me (a) because he’s a good mate (b) because I know what I’m doing.

    I do know what I’m doing and I’m not too humble to say it. My three rules of work are: preparation, preparation, preparation. Know what you’re getting into before you start, anticipate all eventualities, and the shove will be a big one once it starts. Momentum makes a man like Tom work his arse off, and he loves it. I take pride in my work.

    Liked by 4 people

  29. molly says:

    Even I liked it and I don’t like liquor! 🙂 Just a little tho. 😉
    (Wild Turkey Rare Breed)

    Liked by 2 people

  30. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Cill,
    I remember watching a documentary about whisky. A Bourbon producer said that water is crucial. If there is any iron in it, it will taste terrible.
    We may have found a fantatic business opportunity.

    Blurkel,
    We’re all sweet on Molly here but, I think that she has a boyfriend.

    Liked by 2 people

  31. SFC Ton says:

    Of course brother. Glad y’all enjoyed it

    Water is key but it really is not an issue of if its good to drink etc. It has to have the right mineral content. The water that makes good bourbon can make shit beer and what have you.

    Plus its a craft. It’s pretty easy to make corn liquor, takes more attenuation to detail to make good corn liquor and mad skilz to make bourbon, with a blend mash and having to control the aging process by taste, experience and rotating the barrels around a warehouse based on what you know, how it taste and the weather

    True craftsmanship

    Liked by 1 person

  32. blurkel says:

    @ Fuzzie

    We’re all sweet on Molly here but, I think that she has a boyfriend.

    Like an old fart like me would interest her? My Hover-Round / Power Chair could never keep up with her on her bike! Not even if I had Ton juice it up!

    @ Spawny
    @ Cill

    Emails arrive based on when the servers have time to send them. When things get busy, it can take awhile. I’ve had emails I knew were coming take DAYS to arrive!!! Hence, out of time sequence isn’t a major thang as long as it shows up at all.

    @ Wild Turkey drinkers

    I never had the pleasure, as I’ve had to dispense with consuming John Barleycorn’s best due to my health. But I have fond memories of my last landlord in Chicago sharing his Christmas presents with me. I got to try Jameson Irish and Usquaebach Scotch. Nectar of the Gods!

    Liked by 1 person

  33. Cill says:

    “Usquaebach Scotch” sounds like CillSquatch Scotch Draught Down Under, which is not actually a Scotch but my very own homemade beer.

    Like

  34. Cill says:

    Lunch break. Tom wants a word :

    Spawny, your Maori cuzy Tom.
    Nice to catch up. We spoke before. Your Cill’s mate eh, part of the whanau.
    I hope life is sweet broo.
    Thanks for talking my boss into buying me the Turkey, eh
    I drank a glass last night. sweeeet
    Not “sweet” sweet. sweeeet
    Smooth eh. I had some with the missis. She said “u worker harder hori so the boss might buy us another bottle” 😉
    Cheers bro
    Tom

    Liked by 2 people

  35. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Blurkel,
    She may be too young for all of us but, she sure is sweet.

    Liked by 1 person

  36. molly says:

    Thank you Fuzzie! My cuzzies are sweeter than me tho.
    Ton says a strong frame man brings out the best in us. It’s so true! Wise, eh. Women are sweet around strong men like my dad and especially you-know-who! Ton got it right there!

    Liked by 3 people

  37. molly says:

    Strong frame men sorta keep us where we’re supposed to be, feminine. My mum says Cill makes her feel young as well.

    Liked by 3 people

  38. blurkel says:

    “Usquaebach Scotch” sounds like CillSquatch Scotch Draught Down Under, which is not actually a Scotch but my very own homemade beer.

    Would that it were possible for me to have a taste!

    It’s just a hunch on my part, but I theorize that “Usquae” is pronounced similarly to “whiskey”, and may be the root source of that word.

    Liked by 1 person

  39. Cill says:

    It’s pronounced Ooskehbah or Ooskehbatch. I think you’re right – “Ooskeh” became “whiskey”

    Liked by 2 people

  40. SFC Ton says:

    A strong masculine Frame helps women let their lizards/ monkey brain find peace and rest… ie satisfies her hypergamy/ survival needs

    Liked by 2 people

  41. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    One of these days, it would be nice to meet in person. I think you’re right. Seeing the masculine brings out the feminine and vice versa.

    Blurkel,
    The word “whiskey” is a corruption of the Gaelic word. Usquebach employs the Gaelic word.

    Liked by 3 people

  42. molly says:

    I was so lucky being brought up by strong men, eh. My dad, uncles, granddads, cuzzies, Cill as the leader. He didn’t try to be the leader tho. They all expected leadership from him, even the older men, tho they are all leaders as well. I am proud to be his true friend. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  43. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    I think you are blessed to be born into your family. From what I have seen from the female side, I am impressed.

    Here’s something to play for the cops.

    Here’s something a well prepared cop will play for you.

    In all seriousness, I think you know now when you may court trouble and you’ll keep yourself safe.

    Liked by 3 people

  44. Cill says:

    Fuzzy, fine of $100 for Littering, less than the price of a bottle of Wild Turkey Rare Breed in Godzone. 😉

    The Thorogood goes down well.

    Liked by 1 person

  45. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Cill,
    I shouldn’t take so much joy in teasing Molly. How can you know already that she has to pay a fine of $100?
    I hadn’t thought of George Thorogood for years until I started commenting here. I think Molly brought it out in me. He is a superb Blues guitarist.

    Liked by 2 people

  46. Cill says:

    “How can you know already that she has to pay a fine of $100?”
    Because that’s what she’ll be charged with and it’s a local government fixed fine. Probably less stigma than a parking fine (when you leave your car parked too long).

    Like

  47. Cill says:

    You are keeping some late hours these days, Fuzzy? Join the club. 😉

    Like

  48. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Cill,
    I am getting sleepy, very sleepy.

    Like

  49. Cill says:

    You have my permission to drift off into the land of slumber Fuzzy.

    Liked by 1 person

  50. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    zzzzzzzzz. Good night, Cill. zzzzzzzzzzz

    Like

  51. Cill says:

    See you tomorrow Fuzzy

    Liked by 1 person

  52. Spawny Get says:

    Hi Tom,
    missed your message last night as I attempted an early night. Being on the web and hoping to drift off to sleep doesn’t work, so I switched off this place early. Didn’t get to sleep ‘cos I had a hard day (by my poor standards) and so the muscles fought me sleeping even though the brain wanted to. Woke up early too. Got an easy day today. Just some checking of how the concrete went off (too late to fix anything) after the gales ripped the covering sheets off last night. Wash off the duck boards we used to run the barrows. My garden looks like the Somme after the battle.

    So, the Turkey. It seems some good can come of supping with the devil, even if you have to work your arse off first. Fun though…explosions and man toys. Tracey Island mk II. But with an Evil Genius in charge.

    I looked over here £50 a bottle. Not being a whiskey or bourbon fan, I won’t be experimenting. I find it hard to differentiate between raw spirits and heartburn, that’s the problem. The taste can be learned to be appreciated (done that with bitters and lagers and white wine and red wine and rosé and Gin) It was a dirty job, but felt I needed to man up and started drinking until I loved it. And I do.

    Cheers Cuz.

    Liked by 1 person

  53. Liz says:

    OT side note, I watched the new Mocking Jay movie last night. It sucked.
    I actually liked the book series quite a bit, and the first three movies of this series were good (IMO). They were based off the book. This last one went off a bit, kind of like what the Hobbit movies did, and the result was similar (as in, not good).
    Perhaps no one here is planning on watching it anyway, but I thought I would throw that out. Stale character development, myeh climax, so unlike the book.

    When they first decided to make the book series into movies I wasn’t sure how it would go since so much depended on the internal monologue of Katniss. But I thought they did a really good job up until now. Maybe the death of one of the main actors weighed heavily on the cast. There was definitely an air of casual indifference in scenes that should have been emotional, especially toward the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  54. Yoda says:

    Do another movie review Liz might?

    Liked by 3 people

  55. Liz says:

    Lol Mike just called from the airport and said, “Yeah, honey, it looks like I’m going to be stuck in Los Angeles all night…”
    I said, “Really? Is it bad weather?”
    He hesitated and said, “Yeah, yeah the weather is…really bad here in…southern California…”

    For a minute he had me. I’m not usually that slow.
    He was alluding to that conversation he’d overheard in Houston of course. 😛

    Liked by 4 people

  56. Yoda says:

    To Liz,

    Liked by 1 person

  57. Cill says:

    Liz at 2:44 pm

    HAH I was quicker than Liz. I saw through Mike straight away… BUT who knows, he might juuust have been telling the truth… 😉 😉

    Ebul bluff double bluff blah

    (You know I kid you Liz, right? 😉 😉 )

    Liked by 3 people

  58. Liz says:

    😛
    Clever Cill. Two minutes quicker than Liz!
    Mike is on the way home. Two hours away…
    That weather cleared.
    😉

    Liked by 3 people

  59. Cill says:

    “Mike is on the way home.”

    I am so relieved pleased for you, Liz. Really, I am. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  60. Cill says:

    To go off topic for a minute, where is brother blurkel?

    Like

  61. Cill says:

    I’ve wakened in a devilish mood this morning. Mischief is afoot. It was that Wild Turkey Rare Breed last night, I reckon. With Tom, the big Maori bastard. Blame him.

    Muahaha

    Liked by 3 people

  62. Cill says:

    To the great relief of y’all, I’m sure, I’ve started the site generators, cranked up the big machine, and am about to start work. And here comes Tom. Goodbye for now folks.

    Liked by 4 people

  63. Cill says:

    I asked Tom if I should delete “Maori” above ^^^

    His reply – straight from the horse’s mouth, here’s Tom:

    Fock no you call me what you like, honky tonk

    ..big Maori laugh..

    Spawny did your new concrete survive the gale bro? Can you surface it?

    “Evil Genius in charge”

    ..big Maori laughs. 😉

    big Maori has work to do.

    Cheers bro
    Tom

    Liked by 3 people

  64. Spawny Get says:

    Couple of the sheets sheltering the various slabs were blown off entirely, or had eyelets ripped out…but all of the slabs are fine. Couple of rain splash marks at worst. Bit of a result as the weather’s been a bit wild. By local standards.

    Have fun, Cuz.

    Liked by 1 person

  65. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Cill,
    Send pictures of what you are working on. Whatever it is, it’s big!

    Liz,
    That was a mean trick. A better story would be that he ran into Randy Newman and they’re cruising.

    Liked by 1 person

  66. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Liz,
    Thank you for the heads up on the movie. I’ll watch something with lots of horses.

    Liked by 1 person

  67. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I just got through watching tonight’s “This Week In Stupid” from Sargon of Akkad. Claims of internet abuse have reached a new low. Saying that you don’t want to have sex with a woman is now abuse.
    Back to the cave, scratching my head.

    Liked by 1 person

  68. Spawny Get says:

    Genius money saving idea now that Friday Of Colour is over

    Liked by 3 people

  69. Spawny Get says:

    Just need to fire up Photoshop and add froghelmet…I can taste the hate already!

    Liked by 3 people

  70. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Spawny Get,
    That is SO cruel and, yet, I can’t stop laughing.

    Liked by 1 person

  71. Spawny Get says:

    I love Viz. Another one for the animal lovers out there

    Liked by 3 people

  72. Spawny Get says:

    “SO cruel” you say?
    I agree. Fancy processing the moggies without removing the fur first. Bowser might cough up a fur ball.

    Liked by 2 people

  73. Spawny Get says:

    This hits rather close to home

    Liked by 3 people

  74. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I can’t stop laughing.

    Liked by 1 person

  75. Spawny Get says:


    Syrup?
    Rhyming slang
    Syrup of Figs => Wig

    Liked by 1 person

  76. Spawny Get says:

    Last one, promise

    Liked by 1 person

  77. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Oh noes!

    Liked by 1 person

  78. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Spawny Get,
    Another difference in our countries, duck Clubs over here are for hunters. From what I could see, your duck clubs are for people who raise them.
    I don’t think that they would get on too well.

    Where is Tarn? She would enjoy all this silliness.

    Liked by 2 people

  79. Yoda says:

    He was alluding to that conversation he’d overheard in Houston of course.

    “Houston, we have a problem” it would be?

    Liked by 1 person

  80. Yoda says:

    British, dry humor like they do.
    I object not

    Liked by 1 person

  81. Yoda says:

    A new post there would be

    Like

  82. blurkel says:

    @ Cill

    To go off topic for a minute, where is brother blurkel?

    Brother Blurkel had to work today. Just got home.

    @ Liz

    OT side note, I watched the new Mocking Jay movie last night.

    I have exactly NO interest in the series. After seeing “Silver Linings Playbook”, and watching Jennifer Lawrence get the Best Actress Oscar for it, merely confirmed my view that Hollywood is more who you know than what. The problem is that all movie production globally seems to think that Hollywood walks on water to change it into wine, and wants to do the same themselves. I thus don’t see many movies, and television is even worse.

    @ Spawny

    Bit of a result as the weather’s been a bit wild. By local standards.

    You should have told me you were visiting SoCal, bossman! I’d have braved the blustery winds and other bad weather Mike reported to meet up, Wild Turkey in hand!

    @ Fuzzie

    A better story would be that he ran into Randy Newman and they’re cruising.

    Not a good day for the top to be down today. The Santa Ana Winds ARE blowing today, but they are the COLD variety! Much better for Mike to cuddle up to someone who loves a man in a uniform!

    Saying that you don’t want to have sex with a woman is now abuse.

    Just more proof that women won’t ever let men win.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

