Shielding From Mistakes


Much of the transformation in modern society has been about effectively shielding people from mistakes.  Of course, whatever the policy may be is not presented in this manner; but that is the way it effectively is.  But is there a problem with these policies?

Yes there is.  By shielding people from their mistakes, they do not learn from their mistakes.  Even more, often they learn to game the system such that they can extract the maximum benefit from the system through their poor behavior.  So the person engaging in the poor behavior loses (absolutely true in the long run), and the system (i.e. taxes on everybody else) pays for it.  This is definitely a lose-lose proposition.  Why is it allowed?

There are many segments of society that this issue applies to, but let us focus on girls and young women.  Perhaps one ay disagree, but this appears to be most shielded group of all.  I watch my brother-in-law and my cousins shield there daughters from the consequences of their actions.  Often this involves opening the checkbook.  Women of the past were made of sterner stuff.  And it was because they were not coddled.   Modern boys are not given such treatment, and learn to cope as boys of old did.  Why the difference in modern times?

Posted in FarmBoy, Feminism
100 comments on “Shielding From Mistakes
  1. Cillhouette says:

    Oops! We doubled up on posts.

    Like

  2. Cill says:

    I guess it’s time for a meeting with FB in the

    [WATER CLOSET]

    Like

  3. Cill says:

    Blast. Comments are closed in the WC and it’s the wee hours of the morning in Spawny land.

    Like

  4. Cillhouette says:

    “Why the difference in modern times?”

    The reason –
    Feminism won’t let go of “the Patriarchy”. They think there’s no good in it. Self-responsibility and personal conscience are tools of the Patriarchy oppressing women so they must be got rid of. To weaken the Patriarchy, Femi9nism supports the opposite which is lack of responsibility, and replace personal conscience with the “social conscience” of feminism. Feminazism is the new conscience.

    Poor behavior is encouraged because it weakens the Patriarchy.

    Liked by 4 people

  5. molly says:

    I hope Unca S gets his broadband today! Look at our special surprise waiting for him:

    Liked by 2 people

  6. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Farm Boy,
    “Why the difference in modern times?”
    I don’t know if men declined in value or if women were raised in value but, that is the short version. The curious part about all this is that while the “reproductive bottleneck” was leveraged to the maximum to accrue all these benefits to women, rates of reproduction have tanked. They are almost universally below replacement level, 2.1 children per couple. One blogger contends that, should they dip below 1.3, they won’t recover. I think that Germany and Japan are there already.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Spawny Get says:

    Bidet did not happen as promised.

    Broadband day, b-day, will be Monday at the earliest I am now being misled to believe.

    Borrox

    Liked by 1 person

  8. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Spawny Get,
    Shall we all leave themn messages? I can start with, “Grrr”.

    Farm Boy,
    It’s not on too far a tangent to your post.

    http://captaincapitalism.blogspot.com/2015/08/how-much-of-advantage-do-hot.html

    It is emarrassing how much more attention a woman can get on youtube for making the same staement. I presume that Twitter is just more of the same.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. molly says:

    Girls and young women “most shielded group of all”

    Force them to do mans’ work, eh.

    Like a cuz with a girly degree in agriculture went all feministic. Cill was away and she ignored his managers and ran his farm. Duh! All she got done was tend the horse and the garden and got exhausted, silly moo! The managers did 90% of the work. Cill does all that on his own. She never yacked feminism again after that. Lol

    Liked by 3 people

  10. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    They give “girly” degrees in agriculture? Doesn’t that kind of miss the point?

    Liked by 2 people

  11. molly says:

    Yeah girly, as most in the course are women. It’s not the prestigious NZ degree in Ag, where most students are men.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    After hearing that, can any prospective employer give any credence to University credentials?
    Why spend four years and all that money for a cedential that has to be verified?
    I hyave been watching a vido of Janice Fiamengo and, in Canada, as of last year, the college attendance rate was not 60/40 female to male but two to one. Things are slipping and they are slipping fast.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. molly says:

    Two to one is 66:33 eh. Same here in NZ.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. molly says:

    Hey let’s eat while we commiserate

    Yum

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Hey fuzzie, there are gals interested in agriculture! 🙂 me for one. And I actually do most of the work, too. But yeah it’s rare. I happen to love botany and plants, is the real thing…and mud. I spent much of my childhood making mud pies. True story!

    Nice avatar Sumo! I can almost hear that whip cracking!

    Liked by 3 people

  16. As for shielding from mistakes being a bad idea, it is so absolutely true. It doesn’t help people, it makes them weaker and encourages a “what the heck, why not?” mentality. It took me a long time to realize this as I can be a real softie. But knowing there are consequences and a price to be paid can be a big, big deterrent of stupid behavior. There is a big difference between a hand up vs a hand out.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    You know bears have a sweet tooth. Yum!! CANDY!!!!

    Bloom,
    I think that after training clergy and engineers, farming was the next pillar of higher education.
    I have heard that girls are interested in botany. If we go to Thomas Jefferson’s house, I’d bet you’d want tosee the gardens ahead of anything else.

    Liked by 2 people

  18. molly says:

    O-dee-bo! Chompee chomp

    Liked by 1 person

  19. molly says:

    Fuzzie Bear bana-na dance

    Liked by 2 people

  20. molly says:

    Andrea Dorky dance

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Cillhouette says:

    Bloom rooster dances

    Liked by 2 people

  22. molly says:

    Sumo dance

    Liked by 2 people

  23. Cillhouette says:

    ‘Nuff dance 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  24. molly says:

    Fairy Nuff

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Fuzzie yes indeed, I’d want to see the house, as I also adore historic architecture too, but the gardens sound spectacular! Yep I would beeline straight for them!

    Both my grandmothers were farmers, I come by it honestly. If I have any weakness for spending money or shopping, it’s plant shopping! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Seriously, I have gone so far as to take clipping of plants on the sly to propagate or digging plants up out of now vacant lots when I see them growing up in a field where a house once stood! My garden around my house, I could tell the story of every plant and where it came from. I don’t have the time for it I once did but my garden is like a living botany lab, more about the journey and creation than about perfection. We’ve had very little rain this year so it’s looking pretty scorched at the moment.

    Liked by 2 people

  27. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Did somene say Andrea?

    Since there are girls present, equal time.

    Bloom,
    Were you ever able to find a new rooster? I am still sad about the last one.

    Oh, and about Black Widow, I have heard that the fembots have claimed her and are demand ing that Marvel give her bigger roles. I guess that can’t deal with real issues anymore.

    Liked by 3 people

  28. Cillhouette says:

    Your garden sounds wonderful Bloom! 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  29. Fuzzie yes I did get a new rooster, a friend got six baby chicks last spring, 5 were boys! One hen started sitting a nest right after the other chick vanished, nothing for the longest time and then lo and behold she has a chick. A little golden one, so sired by the last roo. 🐥

    Liked by 3 people

  30. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Bloomm,
    At one time, when I was feeling down, I would open up the till and look at a nickel. I have never been to Monticello. Nor have I been to the Empress Joshephine’s gardens at Mal Maison.

    Cillhouette,
    I do like the dancing you. It is very 60s.

    Liked by 3 people

  31. molly says:

    Night night Fuzzie…
    2:50 a.m. in Wuzzie land
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  32. molly says:

    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz ?

    Liked by 1 person

  33. Today I went on a picnic and swam in the river nearby and dried in the sun. I realized I need to do that much more often! 🙂 ahhhhh

    Liked by 5 people

  34. molly says:

    Goodnight from us

    I loved to be here again. Thank you for having us!

    Liked by 3 people

  35. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    I hope to dream that I will convince the bees to bring you all honey.

    Bloom,
    New rooster-good. It’s not good for the hens to be without ohe.

    Liked by 1 person

  36. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Bloom,
    Bees are a bigg issue. While I don’t know about New Zealand, in North America they are dying off and no one knows why, much less how to prevent it. The little guys are responsible for a lot of pollenation. Without them, we re in big trouble.
    Now, it is bed time.
    Good night to all!

    Like

  37. SFC Ton says:

    I think college is like a reverse IQ test; if you are dumb enough to go/ acquire debt and a useless to degree you are to dumb to hire.

    My bar has to chicks with education degrees toting beer etc while the owners and mangers are unschooled in the formal sense.

    I need to get the bee thing going. Been to busy(lazy?)

    Hens without a roster is the red pill lesson of red pill lessons.

    Any rate people don’t change without pain. Keeping people from paying the full price of their actions is a cruelty

    Liked by 3 people

  38. Tarnished says:

    College is good, but only if one gets a degree of relevance. Mine’s a double major in business management and philosophy. I don’t have a lot of real life use for the philosophy part, but I use the business knowledge everyday. 🎓

    Wish I could have chickens or ducks or bees again…my grandmothers used to. I miss it. For some reason, bees are very attracted to me, but the only times I’ve been stung are when my mom freaked out that a bee was sitting on my arm or knee and tried to swat it. Ouch! Otherwise, they simply land on me, “wash”, and fly away. 🐝

    Oh, Bloom! Anything come about with the new bee you saw?

    Preventing people from learning from their mistakes is essentially preventing them from mental/emotional growth, and thus actualization. It’s cruel, not kind. 👎

    Liked by 2 people

  39. Tarnished says:

    While we’re on the subject of college, can I just say that the financial aid department of our country is run by morons? Because it is.

    When I was going, the only “aid” I was eligible for (other than a sexist grant I turned down) was government loans. They have a good percentage rate, and I’m nearly done paying them off. That’s not the issue though…The issue is that if you *do* make little enough to qualify for financial aid, they drastically overfund you. Example: one of my new coworkers just got her FAFSA check. It covers all her tuition for the semester, her meal plan, her books, her lab fee for Bio 101…and she has $1,200 left over. She’s under no obligation to return this unused money that is given *by our government for her education*, so instead of pocketing it away for next semester so she can declare a need for less aid, she’s using it to pay towards a cruise with her boyfriend.

    What the hell? People like myself, out on their own before 18, make too much to qualify for any aid working 38.5 hours as a frickin cashier…but those who are “poverty stricken” get a free ride plus enough for a vacation! Oy vey. 😡

    Liked by 3 people

  40. SFC Ton says:

    Government loans are the point of the college-industrial-complex.

    Liked by 2 people

  41. About 10 years ago the loans were privatized, meaning those loans are now owned by banks for profit, not held by the govt. not good.

    Liked by 3 people

  42. Cill says:

    The girls did their best to entice comments away from their own post to this one, and it didn’t work! Aren’t they polite?

    Bwahahaha!

    I don’t know why I find it funny.

    They really did try.

    Sometimes I wonder if I’m badder than Sumo.

    Liked by 1 person

  43. Cill says:

    BAD TO THE BONE

    Liked by 2 people

  44. Mrs. Yoda says:

    The calorie burning thread this would be.

    Liked by 1 person

  45. Yoda says:

    Preventing people from learning from their mistakes is essentially preventing them from mental/emotional growth, and thus actualization. It’s cruel, not kind.

    Why society cruel this way it is?

    Liked by 1 person

  46. Yoda says:

    Government loans are the point of the college-industrial-complex.

    Government loans are the point of the college-government-complex.

    Liked by 2 people

  47. Liz says:

    “The calorie burning thread this would be.”

    It is!
    Just read this thread and I must’ve been dancing all night and day and didn’t even realize it until now! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  48. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    The waving whale and cartoonized Cillhouette are wonderfutl!

    Like

  49. Sumo says:

    Sometimes I wonder if I’m badder than Sumo.

    Methinks you and the patriarch had one too many pints down at the pub, mate. You’re becoming delusional. 😉

    Speaking of pints and pubs, I just had one of those random, “shit, I am way too sober to be posting stuff” thoughts.

    This particular thought takes the form of a question for our resident Kiwis and Aussie – given the geographic location of your respective countries on this wonderful planet of ours, have you ever stopped whatever it was you doing and just realized that you are, by definition, bottom dwellers?

    I swear, I have no idea where that stuff comes from.

    Liked by 1 person

  50. Sumo says:

    Also, that Sumo Dance is an eerily accurate representation of my dancing skillz.

    Liked by 1 person

  51. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Sumo,
    After seeing your avatar, I wonder what it would look like to pair you up with this gal. I would be one heck of a show.

    Like

  52. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Hey! Where4 did everybody go? I know where I’ve been.

    II wasn’t me but they do look like thay had fun. However Mama Bear with five healthy cubs is very unusual. I thoouth three was tops. Mama Bear must have good food access.

    Liked by 1 person

  53. Yoda says:

    Which cuter it would be:
    Bears,
    Dogs,
    Cats?

    Like

  54. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I want it all!!!! Give it all to me!!!!!! Even giraffes!

    Like

  55. Cill says:

    When you upgrade to win10 you’ll be lumbered with their (latest IE) browser Edge.
    Not, repeat, NOT a good browser.
    Don’t uninstall it, but download Chrome or Iron or Pale Moon to use instead.

    Like

  56. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Cill,
    While I can’t answer for Windows 10, all the other OSs net Internet Explorer to recieve updates.

    Like

  57. Cill says:

    Fuzzie IE has never been the greatest browser. Keep it on your computer but don’t use it. I know you’ve installed Chrome so my advice is always use your Chrome instead. Your edition of IE is an aged version of an inherently inferior browser.

    Re updates: same with Chrome anyway.

    Like

  58. molly says:

    Happy happy happy!
    YO!!!
    lol
    spawnyspace is A-Okay!! 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  59. molly says:

    Fuzzie is

    (heh heh)

    Like

  60. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    We all love when you are happy. There is just one thing, it might help if we knew why you are happy.

    Like

  61. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    I am a bear. I am always hungry. That makes me the perfect houseguest. I eat everything on my plate and show gratitude.
    🌯 🌯 🌯 🐻 🙄

    Like

  62. molly says:

    I’m happy I’m alive!!
    Yaya!!!
    (I just am, eh) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  63. molly says:

    Ur too polite to decline offers of food eh
    (heh heh) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  64. molly says:

    Ton’s dog eats

    lol

    Liked by 2 people

  65. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    It would be impolite to turn down food. Pasta sounds like a great idea. Unlimited pasta would be even better.

    Liked by 1 person

  66. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    Dogs like food too! I think this has to do with demonstrating a common interest with humans.

    Liked by 1 person

  67. molly says:

    Sumo will serve us Fuzzie!

    Yum

    Liked by 2 people

  68. molly says:

    “common interest with humans”
    FOOD speaks all languages 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  69. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    There is an emoticon with a reason to be happy!
    About food, it’s a good thing Dog and Horse eat different stuff. I would hate to see them fight.

    Liked by 1 person

  70. Sumo says:

    FOOD speaks all languages

    No, that would be sex.

    Also, no turkey on tonight’s menu (was that a turkey emoticon?). Beef and mushroom stew with spaetzle.

    Like

  71. molly says:

    What is spaetzle?

    Like

  72. molly says:

    Fuzzie Horse hoofs Dog when he gets too fresh

    Like

  73. Sumo says:

    Spaetzle are little German dumplings, Molls. Very tasty.

    Liked by 1 person

  74. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    That’s good. I can see Dog going too far with Horse but not the other waty around.

    Liked by 1 person

  75. molly says:

    It’s always Dog’s fault re Horse but he had to eat pups before Cill rescued him. Sad eh.

    Like

  76. molly says:

    Dog is mixed up.

    Like

  77. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    That has to be the most depraved thing that I have ever heard. I am so sorry for Dog and, of course, the puppies.

    Like

  78. molly says:

    Sorry Fuzzie. Dog is okay except when Cill is away. Dog never forgets Cill rescued him. When Cill is home Dog is in heaven.

    Like

  79. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    Cill said that he had to break up Horse and Dog one night as they were so happy to see you.
    I think they like you too. Heck, how can anyone not like you?

    Like

  80. molly says:

    Fuzzie are your fingers wide? I think you are quite a large man. Do you wear strong lenses?

    Like

  81. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    It’s well past time for new glasses. The ones that I have are so scratched up, it’s a wonder that I can see through them.

    Like

  82. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    So you know, I am 6’2″ and weigh 175 lbs. That makes me tall but thin.

    Liked by 1 person

  83. molly says:

    Goodnight Fuzzie. It’s sleep time. Dream of nice things. You must drop off to sleep

    Liked by 2 people

  84. Cill says:

    I think Fuzzy might lack sleep. I can identify with that, Fuzzy. I’m like that now. Days without sleep.

    Liked by 1 person

  85. Cill says:

    I’m bushed. My wee cuzzie has brought me a mug of milo. I’m going to take it to my bedroom and drink it, then I’ll collapse twixt the sheets. To any and all listening, Goodnight.
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

    Liked by 1 person

  86. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I should be in bed dreaming all sorts of wonderful bear things.
    Good night to all!

    Liked by 1 person

  87. Cill says:

    Molly from Cill’s desktop

    Goodnight Fuzzie

    xxoo Molly

    Liked by 1 person

  88. SFC Ton says:

    That Giraffe looks yummy

    Like

  89. Tarnished says:

    Aw, Fuzzie, you’re the same height as my guy! He’s a wee bit heavier than you though…285. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  90. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Tarn,
    That’s big! Are you sure that he’s not a bear?

    SFC Ton,
    Don’t even think that. There seem to be a bunch of videos on youtube of giraffes beating the stuffing out out of lions. I’ll bet it has something to do with picking on baby giraffes.

    Liked by 1 person

  91. Tarnished says:

    Lol. He eats like a bear, Fuzzie! Not quite as hairy though…and he has hands, not paws. 😉 🐻 🐾

    Like

  92. Choicy says:

    Sheilas don’t learn much in the boonies for the simple reason that they don’t put themselves in learning situations, mate. They think they expose themselves to the harsh reality of the wop wops but the truth is, they don’t have the stomach for it. The tougher it is the more likely it is men who will be doing it. The sheilas are pretty clueless about the harsh reality of the outback, my mates. If they knew the reality they would have a bit more respect for men, I think.

    Like

  93. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Tarn,
    In any event keep him well fed.

    Choicy,
    An unwillingness to learn in order to avoid conveying respect? I thought that was an American trait.

    Like

  94. Farm Boy says:

    I am 6’2″ and weigh 175 lbs

    Can you survive the winter?
    Don’t bears need much more weight?
    Can you fatten up in the fall?

    Liked by 2 people

  95. Farm Boy says:

    A message for the bear,

    Liked by 1 person

  96. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Farm Boy,
    That would put me 325 lbs below normal weight for a male Black bear.
    I need to eat!!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.

