Choose to be Content


Mrs. Yoda has graciously accepted an invitation to do a guest post.

Choices a big part of life they are.  Affect the present and the future they do.  But many creatures consider choices not.  An improvement in life by improving decision making very possible it is.  Of particular importance is that creatures choose happiness and contentment not.  Odd this would be.  Females seem to be afflicted strongly they are (but males afflicted also they would be).   Examples follow they do,

1. Always want more one does (and obsess they might)

2. Never forgive or forget some might

3. Be happy being unhappy some do (but not really happy they are)

4.  Selfish attitude ingrained it is (e.g. they make sammiches not)

Degoba a large swamp it is.  And life always easy it is not.  But non-obvious beauty there is.  Enjoy this planet I do.  And Yoda and I many pleasant conversations we have.  Even though exiled together we are, happy to be with him I am.

Consider that alternative one might. Bitch about exile in a swamp I might.  Unhappy I would be.  Unhappy he would be.  Still in exile we would be.  A choice I did make.  Easy to make it it was.

Posted in FarmBoy, Fun, HowTo
159 comments on “Choose to be Content
  1. Spawny Get says:

    My prime revelation about life, that arose in the dying days of my marriage, is that you cannot force someone else to be happy, they have to want to be happy themselves and its their job to achieve it. A spouse can help, should help, but a spouse working their arse off to make his wife happy is on a hiding to nothing.
    It was when I realised that I couldn’t make her happy and that such an unending effort was what had proved the downfall of her dad. That’s when I knew we were done. She was made of the same stuff as her manipulative mum, but I wasn’t like her dad at all. In my defence, I told her that before we were married. Told her not to be like her mum because I wasn’t like her dad. I wish she had listened, for both our sakes.

    Liked by 7 people

  2. molly says:

    Mrs Yoda not a fully human woman she is.
    Understanding of human woman’s suffering she is not.
    More human than Mrs Yoda a Furby is is.
    More human than Mrs Yoda or a Furby Bloom is is is.
    Every bit as human as Bloom and more human than Mrs Yoda or a Furby Liz is is is is.
    By verb endings a Furby easily stumped would be.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Spawny Get says:

    Enjoy the hypocrisy of a lesbian demanding that they have their own space free of trans people. Ever heard of such a person grant men their own space?

    Amusing

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tarnished says:

    It’s like the 80/20 rule of relationships. Even if you have a SO that encompasses 80% of what you’re looking for, chances are the other 20% or so will be “lacking”. This is normal, because human beings are never perfect and even people who truly love each other can push buttons once in a while, lol. But it’s always best to acknowledge that you are “only” about 80% of what they desire, too!

    It is foolish to believe one can find someone who is 100%…they don’t exist. But many people forget this fact, and end up searching for someone who can be that 20%…

    Sad, how something as simple as contentment can be so elusive to so many.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tarnished says:

    Oh, for Gods sake…
    Spawny, the video is just so full of stupid.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Excellent advice this is. A option contentment always is. Point of view a choice As well. Many see this not. Unhappy they needlessly be.

    [ SG – et tu Bloomus? ]

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Spawny Get says:

    I would tend to be on the side of the lesbian, if I wasn’t fully aware of her type using the tactics of the other bunch on men. She actually comes across quite well towards the end. She smiles at the futility of arguing with the others. Quite the reaction of a self aware person in the moment.

    Like

  8. Reblogged this on Notes From a Red Pill Girl and commented:
    It is not often Yoda’s other half writes a blog, but it is worth reading when she does! Enjoy!

    Let those who have ears hear…

    Like

  9. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Another advantage to exile on Degoba, more opportunity to watch movies with lots of horses.

    Here’s someone who want to welcome you as a poster.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Something that has long fascinated me is just this — people who despite great odds against contentment, horribly bad circumstances or bad luck, who somehow yet choose to make the best of their life regardless. Corrie Ten Boom comes to mind. Author of “The Hiding Place.” Imprisoned in a concentration camp not for being a Jew, but for being a Christian whose family helped Jews. Despite every reason to give up on her faith she clung to it instead, sharing a message hope and salvation even under the most dire of circumstance. Now that is one hell of a strong lady!

    Liked by 3 people

  11. Dragonfly says:

    Right she was! And how she was able to look one of her captors in the eye and forgive him after a speech she did! Amazing… she grappled with the feelings of bitterness in that moment, but she continuously made the right choices in order to achieve real, lasting joy and happiness.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Spawny Get says:

    To the new people, welcome. Please feel free to join in.

    Your first comment will be held up until cleared, whatever the comment is. When the comment is seen, it will be cleared immediately. Your subsequent comments will come straight through.

    Thing is, I’m on UK time and will be off to sleep soon. I will clear what I see, when I see it. Others may do it for me, if they see a stuck comment.

    Like

  13. Dragonfly says:

    this is like a Star Wars addict’s dream come true BTW… !!!!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Spawny Get says:

    That’s one reaction, Dragonfly, that’s one reaction.

    Hi, seen your name around and about. Welcome.

    Like

  15. Spawny Get says:

    The other name is new to me, yet to comment…intrigued I am.

    Like

  16. Spawny Get says:

    Good night folks

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Good to see you dragonfly! 🙂

    Like

  18. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Spawny Get,
    Hoping that this finds well rested in the morning, that video link was painful. I ahve heard that feminists have long had a deep irresolveable issue with male to female transgenders. The problem stems from feminists claiming to be oppressed. It irks them to noe end that a man would surgically change himself to be among the oppressed.
    We should extract Yoda and Mrs. Toda and exile that whole bunch in the video to Degoba. That would be out of earshot.

    Liked by 4 people

  19. BuenaVista says:

    Contentment is overrated. Acceptance, in a relationship, sure, adds value. So, fine.

    Contentment in every other activity produces complacency, dullness, and anonymity. Glory is no product of “contentment”, and glory is the proper province, and ambition, of man. Absent glory, small or large, we have wasted our lives. We leave no legacy. Our children are adrift, the random product of random connection.

    James Salter:

    “There is something greater than the life of the cities, greater than money and possessions; there is a manhood that can never be taken away. For this, one gives everything.”

    Even here there is ambiguity, however. For Rand also basks in recognition: “A kind of distinction surrounded him, of being marked for a different life. That distinction meant everything.”

    Contentment yields no distinction.

    Liked by 6 people

  20. Tarnished says:

    Truth, Fuzzie.
    They also see FtM trans people as traitors…They are so stuck in their worldview that they see anyone acknowledging a biologically based difference between the sexes (gender, in other words). They dislike the fact that there are people like me who know these differences matter and are so sure of it that they’re willing to change their lives to get rid of the dissonance. This concept flies in the face of the “gender is 100% socially created” crap they constantly spout, and is therefore deemed unacceptable despite scientific evidence to the contrary.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Tarnished says:

    Of course, BV. I don’t think anyone here was talking about being satisfied with contentment in other areas of life. If this were so, then we’d have no innovation or advancement. The drive to learn, find, create, and progress is a very important part of humanity.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Tarn,
    i don’t know what to think. I have to wonder about extending protected status to them when straight people don’t have it.

    Like

  23. Tarnished says:

    Which protected status are you talking about?

    Like

  24. molly says:

    Fuzzie I wanted to “trade insight” with Mrs Yoda, as you asked. My Yodish was all wicky wacky. It is a *controlling* language, not as controlling as Big Red tho as it doesn’t use the F word every second word. 😀
    Lol

    Liked by 1 person

  25. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Tarn,
    I had thought about linking Sargon of Akkad’s “Die Cis Scum” but, someone might watch it. I got about halfway through, proofing it.
    Then, there is #killallmen, courtesey of a diversity officer in the UK.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Molly,
    Have you noticed that Yodish is strructured a lot like Latin?

    It would be fun to see Big Red and Mrs. Yoda having a lively discusssion.

    Like

  27. Farm Boy says:

    It would be fun to see Big Red and Mrs. Yoda having a lively discussion.

    Red and Green together.

    But not like Christmas

    Liked by 5 people

  28. @ all think good thoughts, focus on the positive, despite imperfection in the world and others. Accepting imperfection nor denying it this is not, but understanding imperfection will always be part of life this is. Letting it destroy the good in life a choice it be. Mrs. Yoda approve of this she would.

    Liked by 5 people

  29. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    “But no like Christmas”
    My thoughts also. Too funny.

    Music for Mrs. Yoda from her favorite composer.

    Liked by 2 people

  30. Tarnished says:

    Ah.

    Yes, I wholeheartedly agree with you there, Fuzzie. Such double standards are indicative of a highly unethical system, one where being any kind of “majority” (cis instead of trans, male instead of female, etc) is somehow automatically the sign of an “oppressor”. It’s absolutely ridiculous, harmful, and should be condemned…never tolerated or celebrated.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    At particular risk are pro-life people crossing paths with feminists on campus. I wish that I could find it but, there was an incident caught on camera at a Tennessee campus where a woman walked all the way up to fundamentalist, screamed to remove his hand from her breast, and pushed him off a seven foot retaining wall onto concrete. She could have killed him. She was arrested on the weight of the video but, I have no idea how it panned out.
    PS The hand on the breast was her fabrication of pretext.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Padawan bears.

    Like

  33. Spawny Get says:

    Got no time for terfs based on their beliefs, which are horseshit. Blank slate, my arse. Social construct etc too. I do have sympathy for allowing a group it’s own space (male spaces especially) and deeply enjoyed the irony of lesbian woman denying the beliefs of others. For her, it seems, it is possible to deny the progressive stack and call a massive prick a massive prick. I don’t care what the person in the black hat with red on it is, it’s a fucking aggressive clueless arsehole.

    Like

  34. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Spawny Get,
    Those people in that video have distanced themselves so far from the mainstream that normal people could not begin to relate or understand them.
    In short, they have lost it.

    Liked by 1 person

  35. theasdgamer says:

    Ton once remarked that broads may dance with good dancers, but leave with hotter guys.

    Last Sat. I was at a lesson and a broad tapped me on the shoulder from behind. I looked back to see who it was and, surprise, it was a friend I knew. Eventually it was time to leave. My friend had removed one of her dance shoes and a good dancer (a handsome UMC black man in his 30s) asked her for a dance. She gave him a dance. Right after that, she left with me.

    So, I’ll say that sometimes good dancers lose out to inferior dancers. I happen to be very new to this dance.

    Like

  36. Cill says:

    I’m catching up on comments here.

    BV, “Cill, I left the big city and returned home to the American outback”.
    Good for you, mate. My home too is remote. I hate rubbing shoulders with all the walking warts in the big cities.

    Well I don’t know what Sumo’s up to, but I’m going to pour myself a Saxonvale 1979 Bin 169 Cabernet Sauvignon in celibration of an all-NZ final in the Super Rugby, Hurricans vs Highlanders to be played at Wellington Saturday 4th July. (Big day in USA too, for very different reasons)

    Liked by 1 person

  37. Cheers Cill! 1979? How’s that holding up? Enjoy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  38. Cill says:

    The video at 12:43 am. Hell, I couldn’t listen to much of that. It’s amusing to hear screamers pitched against each other for a change though.

    Liked by 1 person

  39. @ fuzzie yet somehow they expect all others to accept their viewpoint yet do not respect the right of others to have their own views. Who oppresses who? If I had not seen such nonsense become mainstream shorter than I ever imagined, I would laugh. Instead I hope it is not a sign of what’s to come?

    Liked by 1 person

  40. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Bloom,
    I think that, as these people show themselves to be weirder and weirder and, more and more out of touch, the public will lose patience.
    The sooner, the better.

    Heck, Megyn Kelly of Fox News is starting to call these people on their nonsense. I would have writen her off as feminist.

    Liked by 1 person

  41. Sumo says:

    Not too surprisingly, I’m more than a few beer in, and ready to pass out after a busy weekend of cooking, golf, and running Chef Game on an innocent little 20 Something.

    Enjoy the wine, Cill.

    Liked by 1 person

  42. Cill says:

    Shall do, bro

    [Cill self edit: Already am doing, bro]

    Liked by 1 person

  43. Cill says:

    The Saxonvale 1979 Cabernet Sauvignon is good. My Great Grandad was given a box of it in a presentation and he bequested it to me. I stored it and forgot about it and this is the first time I’ve tried it. My inexpert verdict: different but good.
    (Actually I couldn’t give a rat’s arse about “expert”. I’m drinking it and I like it and nothing else matters).

    I’m in a positive mood.

    Liked by 1 person

  44. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Cill,
    How long have you been waiting to open that bottle? This has to be a big occaision. I hope that M is there to share.

    Like

  45. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Cill,
    Should you open a bottle of something this long in the tooth, drink it all down. It won’t be as good the next day if you cork it.
    That it’s good means that it was stored well and the wine was designed to hold up. Don’t try this with whites.

    Liked by 1 person

  46. Cill says:

    Fuzzy M doesn’t like red wine. It gives her a headache.

    Like

  47. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Cill,
    What a shame. Well, now that you know that it’s good, please share it with grateful people.

    Liked by 1 person

  48. Cill says:

    Love your attitude Fuzzy. Molly isn’t a big red wine drinker either. She’s just not a big drinker. If truth be told, nor is M. Despite my humor to the contrary, nor am I. There’s too much at stake.

    Liked by 1 person

  49. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Cill,
    I wouldn’t recommend drinking red wine unless there is food to go with it.
    The concept of sharing wine is not mine. There are a few wineries out there that could sell all they make to a few consumers. Te problem, as they see it, is that hoarders do nothing for their reputation. More consumers enhance their reputation.

    Liked by 2 people

  50. Cill says:

    “Should you open a bottle of something this long in the tooth, drink it all down. It won’t be as good the next day if you cork it.” Good advice Fuzzy. 🙂 Down the hatch with the whole lot of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  51. Cill says:

    “The problem, as they see it, is that hoarders do nothing for their reputation. More consumers enhance their reputation.” Good observation. The Lochlar Estate I’ve mentioned before could be an example.

    Liked by 1 person

  52. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Cill,
    There are a fortunate few wineries in California that have this problem. One of the best ways to solve it is to limit sales to retail establishments while continuing to service restaurant accounts.

    Like

  53. Cill says:

    Fuzzy I am having food at the same time as I enjoy the Saxonvale Cab Sauv. I’m munching the closest to the bone meat from a roast I cooked yesterday. Strewth I’m enjoying the good food. The gravy.

    I’m a hedonist at heart, as I suspect are some other men who comment on this site. I work f*cking hard for the right to that hedonism though.

    Liked by 2 people

  54. Cill says:

    “One of the best ways to solve it is to limit sales to retail establishments while continuing to service restaurant accounts.”

    Sound business.

    Like

  55. Cill says:

    I agree on that. I supply top quality seafoods. I know what you’re saying here.

    Like

  56. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    Cill,
    I think that the same priciples apply.
    Would you ask Molly to tell us what’s up? Better to hear it straight from the Furby.

    Like

  57. Cill says:

    Fuzzy, Molly is one of the most approachable people on this planet. All you have to do is ask her yourself. I know she has been in direct email contact with you.

    Like

  58. Spawny Get says:

    Molly: “My Yodish was all wicky wacky.”
    Sounds like you have it nailed?

    Like

  59. What my women’s studis professor would say about this: “Mrs. Yoda is a victim of abuse and oppression!”

    Like

  60. Spawny Get says:

    The way I got to the video at 12:43 was via the reborn InternetAristocrat. Here he is in an earlier video talking to two transwomen

    It’s long, I think I got around a 1/3 of the way through it when I found it. But these are reasonable people as far as I have heard them.

    The problem with the people in the 12:43 video isn’t related to their transness or the politics of that (IMHO). It looks to be more to do with the demand that everyone else bow down before their feelings…and the people in the first video are not very bright, not stable at all and hyper-emotional with no attempt to rope it in.

    The only reason I would tend toward the lesbian’s side is that she’s defending her group’s right to space of their own (which I wish to grant to men) and her willingness to deny someone’s horseshit despite the crock of shit privilege.

    The irony, of course, is that she likely does the same thing to men. I got a whiff of schadenfreude watching her get a dose of her own medicine. I highly doubt that she noticed her own hypocrisy.

    And why do I love Jim / InternetAristocrat / Mr Metokur? because he nailed it here

    Here he describes what’s wrong the nuts in the first video and the anti-GG’ers. It’s not about the trans…it’s about the narcissism at mental condition levels and society’s unwillingness to call these nutters out.

    Like

  61. Tarnished says:

    Here’s my take on whether trans/dysphoric people should be allowed into a cis group: Are they living as that sex?

    If you have someone who was born as a man but cognitively was a woman, that’s not good enough…anyone can say that. Are they taking hormones, have their hair cut as a woman’s, wear woman’s clothing, shave their legs as women do, and can pass as a female of the species? Then let them in.

    Same with a transman who was born as a woman. Is he taking hormones, have his hair cut like a man, dresses as a man, is working out to bulk up like a man, growing hair like a man and can pass as a male of the species? Then let them in.

    The issue I take with many trans people is that they *say* they are trans but then don’t do a damn thing to look anything like the sex they identify as. Hence you have “women” who quite clearly are men wanting to be in women’s spaces or “men” who are quite clearly women wanting to be in men’s spaces. This is stupid. The reason these spaces are created is to have a place to talk openly with others who experience the same aspects of society that you do. If one doesn’t pass, then one can’t experience the same things, and therefore have nothing to add to the discussion. Why go to a meeting just to twiddle your thumbs?

    And yes, this would mean that I, as I am right now, would be unable to join any men’s group. I can’t even make the attempt to pass, because of the pain it would cause my family. Ergo, since I’m obviously female I don’t experience misandry, so I can support men’s groups but not partake of them. Does it suck? Oh, yeah. Does it hurt? A bit. Am I frustrated that there’s only a few ways for me to interact with men as I look and enjoy a real, brotherly, pro-masculine time together? You better believe it.

    But my feelings should never be allowed to trump the reality of a situation, and neither should the feelings of other trans people who don’t pass.

    Like

  62. Spawny Get says:

    My test would probably be more along the lines of whether the newbies wanting in…are their interests in line with those of the group?

    So, I would let you join a men’s group because you’re interested in men’s interests.

    I would not let that specific group of nutters in the 12:43 video into a lesbian group because their agenda is ALL about trans rights. You let them in and you’ll have an atheism+ style destruction of a previously coherent movement for atheism. I would let transwomen in if they’re there to be lesbians.

    However, if the group felt it didn’t want to accept any transwomen because reason, that’s their right. Let those not allowed in setup a sister space, run it sanely and then hopefully in the fullness of time you might have a majority of women and transwomen wanting to be together and they can kick out the terf haters.

    I saw this entryism and co-option attempt at avfm years ago (oh how things have changed). A gay guy rocked up and demanded to know how avfm was fighting for the rights of gay men. The answer was that avfm was not specifically doing anything for the rights of gay men. They were fighting for men’s rights, including those men who were gay.

    I saw tradcons rock up wanting to assume leadership of what they saw as a handy, preformed army just requiring correct leadership. They were told to go get bent. Oh, how times have changed.

    People should have the right to free association without some bell-end demanding that they be allowed in and make everything about themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  63. missattempts says:

    The outer directed person durives his happiness from outer circumstances being
    “just so.”
    The inner directed person has realized his overself, and is unaffected by exterior
    circumstances except as pertains to his material survival: Food, clothing, and
    shelter.

    Liked by 2 people

  64. Tarnished says:

    That’s a very good point, Spawny. I’d forgotten just how many people join a group, not to further the interests of it as a whole, but to receive good feelz about being in said group. If you want *that* just…idk…stay on Facebook where people can Like your continuous pics of duck faces or ridiculously bulging muscles and massage your ego.

    I do still think that certain physical/cosmetic steps should be taken though, if someone like me were to join a men’s group. For example, no low cut/revealing shirts or skirts/dresses, minimal or no makeup, no perfume, etc. As a woman allowed into a pro-male space, you’re there to contribute to the group as a sympathetic intellectual, and should seek to decrease any traits that would normally highlight your sexual differences.

    Liked by 1 person

  65. Tarnished says:

    And yes, AVfM has really gone to the dogs. It is hardly better than the GMP, and worse in some cases, especially in regards to MGTOW. Talk about shitting on your demographic…

    Liked by 1 person

  66. SFC Ton says:

    I think the most important thing a man must know in life is the only thing he can control in life is his reactions/actions to the world around him

    What Spwany put together in the closing days of his marriage is part of that.

    Golf Sumo? How disappointing…..

    I am a hedonist at heart, though my pleasures generally stem from things other folks wouldn’t do; like squatting so heavy the blood vessels in my eyes and nose break from the strain and pressure. The good life pre Valhalla

    Liked by 1 person

  67. Mrs. Yoda says:

    What my women’s studies professor would say about this: “Mrs. Yoda is a victim of abuse and oppression!”

    Life on Degoba a challenge it is.
    But Yoda does oppress me not.

    Liked by 2 people

  68. Liz says:

    BV: “Contentment is overrated. Acceptance, in a relationship, sure, adds value. So, fine.

    Contentment in every other activity produces complacency, dullness, and anonymity. Glory is no product of “contentment”, and glory is the proper province, and ambition, of man. Absent glory, small or large, we have wasted our lives. We leave no legacy. Our children are adrift, the random product of random connection.”

    I’ve been considering the above this morning, and have to both agree and disagree.
    Surely there’s a healthy balance somewhere contentment does not result in complacency?
    To me,
    contentment= valuing what one has, an overall feeling of gratitude and accomplishment and joy in one’s life.

    complacency= sloth, listlessness, more born of defeat than contentment.

    If a person can never find contentment what is the purpose of the ambition in the first place? Life would amount to a scorecard that never really satisfies. I’m very content with my life, but I have goals and objectives.

    I guess it kind of comes down to one of those parables I have for all life parables. There’s always an equal but opposite good one.
    An example here might be:
    “Don’t wish it all away”
    (iow, appreciate and take joy in the present..just made that one up)
    but also
    “Hunger feeds the passion that is genius”
    (just made that one up, too)
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  69. Cill says:

    Liz : Be careful what you wish for.
    I made that one up the other day.
    I was giving Spawny the benefit of some of my homespun philosophy at the time.

    Liked by 1 person

  70. Liz says:

    And a stopped clock never boils, Cill.
    It never boils….

    Liked by 1 person

  71. Cill says:

    The clock that’s *watched* never boils.
    Mwahahaha!

    Liked by 1 person

  72. Cill says:

    The most profound advice I’ve ever given was this:
    The bigger the plish the plonk.
    It’s so deep, I’ve spent a lifetime trying to figure it out and haven’t quite got there yet.

    Liked by 2 people

  73. Spawny Get says:

    “The bigger the plish the plonk”
    Hey man, that’s like deep.

    Liked by 2 people

  74. Liz says:

    I’m totes stealing that plish and plonk one.
    😛
    I like the pithiness of it.
    And pithiness is next to Godliness.

    Liked by 2 people

  75. Cill says:

    “The bigger the plish the plonk” a microaggression might be.

    Liked by 2 people

  76. Cill says:

    Yoda, sometimes it seems that humor is the last safe fireplace left for us to gather around any more.

    Liked by 1 person

  77. Yoda says:

    The clock that’s *watched* never boils.

    Related to Schrodinger’s hamster it is?

    Liked by 2 people

  78. Yoda says:

    “If nobody opened the box to see me sexing that man up, then virgin I still am”

    Liked by 1 person

  79. Mrs. Yoda says:

    I wanted to “trade insight” with Mrs Yoda

    Molly,

    Make sammiches for your man one should.

    Like

  80. Spawny Get says:

    The Evolutionary Psychology Behind Politics and How to Deal with Narcissists are both free today, Monday, June 29th , and Tuesday June 30th, in the Castalia House bookstore at the links at the bottom of this email.

    http://www.castaliahouse.com/

    Like

  81. thedeti says:

    This message: Choose to be content — is and should be directed to and for women.

    This is another difference between the sexes. Men seem better able to reach contentment in their circumstances, no matter what they are, particularly with regard to sex and marriage. That seems to free a lot of men up to pursue their lives’ missions.

    Contentment seems much more difficult and elusive for women. Many women are always dissatisfied or complaining about something.

    Liked by 4 people

  82. Cill says:

    “It exists therefore it must be changed.”
    (just made that one up, too)

    I made it up when looking at this from thedeti: “Men seem better able to reach contentment in their circumstances”

    “It exists therefore it must be changed” is the approach women take to the thoroughly thorough houses that men build and furnish.

    Liked by 3 people

  83. Cill says:

    Perhaps it’s the approach they take to everything men build. Civilization itself, ultimately.

    Like

  84. I would agree Deti that women struggle with contentment, and could greatly increase the quality of their lives by learning to seek practice contentment.

    Likewise I can see what bv is saying, that for men contentment should in many cases not be the practice.

    Perhaps it is a gender thing? I am probably not putting this into words well, but historically the female gender was the more passive one simply by biological limits. When one is a mother to small children who depend upon her for day to day survival, striking a new course would be a disaster versus being content withing ones natural limitations. A man needs this other half to be content in the role of mate and mother.

    Men, on the other hand, are the more active sex. They are biologically those taking great physical risk: hunting, warrioring, amassing resources. Life is dangerous for men and it in many ways simply must be. If he does not provide and protect, but rather is content not to take such risks, his fellow man must do so for him or drive him from their midst. How many shaman/medicine men does one tribe need? (Does not apply to those physically unable, who the tribe would naturally not blame for being injured etc, just talking those unwilling.) to his mate such a man is also a great risk to both her and their offspring.

    This is a spontaneous and not fully formed idea, but perhaps there is some there-there?

    Liked by 3 people

  85. BuenaVista says:

    I met the love of my life at 19, married her at 23, and 15 years later another woman asked me, “Are you happy and content?”

    I had no idea WTF she was talking about. I was trying to build shit, raise children, pay bills, have fun, and stay hungry and lean.

    You’re throwing a chain on an offshore oil rig, working 12 hour shifts seven on-seven off, so the wife can go to grad school and be better fulfilled: no one asks you if you’re “content.” Thank you Lord, for that. Basically, they just laugh out there that you still have all your fingers.

    Liked by 4 people

  86. Liz says:

    “Sometimes it seems that humor is the last safe fireplace left for us to gather around any more.”

    Did you just make that one up, too?!
    😛

    Liked by 1 person

  87. Maybe what I am saying also is that women whose job historically has been to wife and mother, contentment is an asset to that job. As is resourcefulness, perseverance, thrift, etc.

    For men, whose job historically was as hunter/warrior/civilization builder contentment is not a great job skill, could be a drawback. He’s content to let the beast go? Content to only fight half a battle? Content to not build and create a world? No. Not good. Man actually needs to be a striver, to go until the job is done, whatever the risk or cost. These are traits much admired in men!

    Liked by 2 people

  88. Cill says:

    Liz,
    Yup. I really did. You can’t make shit like that up.

    Liked by 2 people

  89. Of course this would imply that gender is not a social construct and that in fact men and women are different. Oops!

    Liked by 3 people

  90. And @ tarn I probably do not need to say this but the above was directed at the sjw thought police, not you of course! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  91. Liz says:

    “You can’t make shit like that up.”

    I can if I say I did.
    You don’t want to know just how Italian I can really go. (quote from the Godfather IV)

    Liked by 4 people

  92. Cill says:

    Bloom’s point just made me realize I’m a bloody hypocrite for accusing women of “It exists therefore it must be changed.”

    Hell when I run out of things to “improve” on my farm I’ll take the engines of my boat to bits. I’ll scratch my head over ways to coax yet more horsepower out of them. Or I’ll build a barge that I don’t really need. Or I’ll install yet another turbine even though I already sell power galore to the national grid. Or I’ll cruise into town and look for old folk who don’t mind me pushing them around town in wheel chairs at a high rate of knots…

    Liked by 2 people

  93. Tarnished says:

    It’s cool, Bloom. 🙂
    After all, terfs and radfems loathe people like me precisely because we are living evidence that gender is biological/chemical, not social. Wow, it’s almost like the amount of estrogen/testosterone/etc during fetal development has a noticeable effect on one’s brain and sexual identity…Well, shoot, who woulda thunk it?

    Liked by 1 person

  94. Gender is in fact coded into every cell the moment egg and sperm meet, with a few off variations like xxy etc.

    Like

  95. Cill says:

    So that’s what happens at the paradise stroke…
    😀

    Liked by 2 people

  96. It is true genital development comes later, as does the development of many other key structures like the heart, and lungs, and brain. But gender itself exists right from the first — xx or xy. And in every cell division thereafter, coded in the DNA itself.

    Like

  97. Not that one doesn’t practically get burned at the stake for saying so these days, but I believe this is actually scientific fact!

    Bruce Jenner is xy in every cell of his body, breast implants, genital alteration surgery, makeup, and clothing don’t change the DNA code.

    Whether he feels female, well that is another matter altogether that only he knows. But genetically, unless he’s xxy or something, he’s genetically male.

    Like

  98. Cill says:

    How do fembots account for that then, with their “gender is [entirely] a social construct”? How did your old womens studies teacher bullshit her way around that one? Don’t tell me, she ignored it. Facts are disallowed if they fail to accord with the absolutes of the ideology.

    Liked by 1 person

  99. Cill says:

    “Well, now that you know that it’s good, please share it with grateful people”
    It’s a pity you don’t live a bit closer, Fuzzy. I could cruise up with the remaining bottles for a bears’ picnic in the woods.

    Liked by 2 people

  100. Yoda says:

    Appropriate this seems,

    Liked by 2 people

  101. @ cill that gal was a few bricks short of a full load! As you say, she simply ignored information that didnt fit her narrative.

    Liked by 1 person

  102. Tarnished says:

    Bloom,

    Yup. 😉
    And even those different combinations like xxy or xo or what have you don’t typically result in trans people. I think it literally has more to do with environmental factors, like the increase in estrogen-like chemicals found in some plastics or the increases in androgens that some medications or intense stress pump through the woman’s body. Hence, you get someone who is a regular XY or XX, but the chemicals/hormones they were growing in makes them more susceptible to the “opposite” hormone.

    (Obviously not really opposite, since both men and women have estrogen/testosterone in their bodies, but you know what I mean.)

    Liked by 1 person

  103. Tarnished says:

    “How did your old womens studies teacher bullshit her way around that one? Don’t tell me, she ignored it.”

    No. Mine said it was:
    1. Very controversial
    2. Came from inaccurate data
    3. That social conditioning happens at such a young age that even 1 year olds start to portray the sexism that is forced upon them.

    Liked by 2 people

  104. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I feel sorry for Bruce Jenner. Living with the Krdashians for twenty years must have taken its toll.

    Spawny Get and Tarn,
    I wish that Paul Elam hadn’t decided to deliberately alienate the MGTOWs. I have no idea why he did it. There is a rumor that the second ICMI conference has been cancelled. Having just gone to the website and seeing nothing soliciting for the conference kind of confirms it. Paul should have kept his moth shut because a big tent that has room for all of feminism’s opponents is needed.

    Liked by 2 people

  105. Cill says:

    Ignacio Cirac and Oriol Romero-Isart should use Bloom’s old Womens Studies teacher instead of a virus in their “Schrödinger’s cat” experiment. She could experience a “superposition” for a change, and exist in two states of alive and dead at the same time. Come to think of it, that would be nothing new to her.

    P.S. by “superposition” I don’t think the physicists meant “reverse cowgirl”.

    Like

  106. Cill says:

    The problem with Elam and co. is, they’ve painted themselves into an anti-MGTOW corner now. They are too tactically unsound to be leading a war against female bigotry.

    Liked by 1 person

  107. @ tarn the estrogens and androgens from plastics and other environmental stressors etc, now that is something that could and should be looked into…

    I know for me, when I am in a position of being the sole breadwinner, it does indeed bring out a more amazon-like side of myself. There very likely could be hormonal shifts. I don’t much care for being amazon like but I do what I need to do… I wonder if it elevates my testosterone levels? Hummm…

    Like

  108. Liz says:

    “Bloom’s point just made me realize I’m a bloody hypocrite for accusing women of “It exists therefore it must be changed.”
    Hell when I run out of things to “improve” on my farm I’ll take the engines of my boat to bits. I’ll scratch my head over ways to coax yet more horsepower out of them. Or I’ll build a barge that I don’t really need. Or I’ll install yet another turbine even though I already sell power galore to the national grid. Or I’ll cruise into town and look for old folk who don’t mind me pushing them around town in wheel chairs at a high rate of knots…”

    I think the key difference is, in your case you see something you want to change/improve and strive to change it yourself. By contrast, most women tend to see something they want to improve or change and then try to will it to do so via the actions of others (whether by begging, enticing, demanding, and/or subterfuge to acquire it).

    To quote Bernard Shaw, “The reasonable man adapts himself to the conditions that surround him… The unreasonable man adapts surrounding conditions to himself… All progress depends on the unreasonable man.”

    99 percent of the time the above does not apply to unreasonable women. For women, it’s basically the opposite.

    Liked by 1 person

  109. Dragonfly says:

    @Bloom, I think it could! I read a study about daughters of working mothers having higher testosterone levels than the girls who had SAHMs…. And women who are working usually *have* to have more drive and testosterone, there are women in the corporate world who even take testosterone because they swear it makes them better managers, more aggressive, etc. My mom worked (and still works even after retirement), and I definitely have more of a “drive” than a lot of stay at home moms that I’ve friends with. If I don’t do something, take us somewhere almost every day, or actively do some kind of project, I can’t stand it. At least it makes it fun… but I do have that strange drive – just wish it could get beyond the sleeplessness of a baby!

    How did you do your business when your kids were younger? I’m having the hardest time finding the time and energy to really put myself to work harder.

    Liked by 1 person

  110. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    i do have to wonder why AVfM chose to trash MGTOWs. I can se tradcon women being philosphically opposed to MGTOW as they rely on on provision and protection from men, but MGTOW is born of men’s frustration with woeen. The ones Paul Elam, Aaron Clarey, et al. are shaming are the losers in the current SMP. That they are losers is not to be attributed to them. With hypergamy dialed up to eleven and man bashing the order of the day, it would not srprise me if more than sixty percent of men can’t get a date. No wonder they are bitter.

    Judgybitch has an interesting post up today. The comments that she reposts are from women that men can socialize with, much less have a relationship with. They’re awful.

    http://judgybitch.com/2015/06/29/feminist-accidentally-writes-something-sane-other-feminists-eat-her-alive/

    Like

  111. Dragonfly well I have never had the option not to work, even when married. But I have worked from home since my kids were born. In both cases I hired the best most maternal leaning young woman I could find to come about 20 hours a week until my kids were age 2 then they went to my friend’s amazing preschool, luckily less than 10 min away, 4 days a week 4 hours a day. During those hours I hyped task on any computer or physical work that needs doing during that time. I fortunately can make a full time income in half time hours. But it takes a to, and did on my marriage too. If you don’t *have to* work, I would suggest you don’t. There will be time to develop a career later. If you need the in ome, consider watching a baby for someone? that could slip into your existing mode well, no need for childcare either! Maybe take classes but not too much or too strenuous? and Enjoy the now. It will be gone sooner than you think! Your boys are lucky to have such an active mother!

    That would be what I would tell my you get sister in your place! Liz? What advice would you give?

    Liked by 2 people

  112. Excuse the typos!

    Hyper task
    Income
    Younger

    Like

  113. Also dragonfly continue to support your husband as his helpmate, appreciate him and cheer him on. This is job one! 🙂

    Like

  114. Mrs. Yoda says:

    Sammiches job one they are.
    Do this and everything else follow it will

    Liked by 1 person

  115. Dragonfly says:

    Thank you for the advice and encouragement… no thank God I don’t really have to work. And my husband is getting a major promotion this coming month in July… and good raise is going with that. I just feel like I’m not contributing financially at all like I was when we were both working. But I am saving in childcare costs! My oldest is going to kinder in August, so maybe then I’ll have a little more time. I might do those classes 🙂 You are inspirational how you do it with your kids and managing to be part-time! Thank you again Bloom ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  116. Spawny Get says:

    “I’ll cruise into town and look for old folk who don’t mind me pushing them around town in wheel chairs at a high rate of knots…”
    Monster, bully

    Liked by 2 people

  117. Moehau Man says:

    Yes well, I ‘m a firm believer in pikelets as the mainstay of a male – female relationship. Mrs Moehau Man (my sous chef old mum) makes the finest pikelets on the rugged Coromandel. She only charges me half price for them, which just goes to show what a generous mother she is.

    Liked by 4 people

  118. Dragonfly also depending where you live, one can grow a huge amount of flowers from seed to sell as fresh cut and much of the work involved is simply waiting. Refinishing vintage furniture finds is another possibility, take the kids to garage sales, then with paint and some elbow grease turn the $5 find into a $45 piece to sell? Etsy for crafts and such? But again just for fun money and the joy of accomishment, 4th after Faith, hubby and kids.

    Liked by 3 people

  119. Mrs. Yoda says:

    Moe,

    Share her recipe she would?

    Like

  120. And sammiches, I meant to say in the helpmate comment but am also outside w kiddos and momma cat and the chickens so I forgot that key thing! I am not sure what pick let’s are but perhaps moe man sammiches?

    Like

  121. Mrs. Yoda says:

    Believe that Yoda like pikelets I do.
    Add this to the menu a good thing it would be.

    Liked by 2 people

  122. In everything there is a season. The young woman who was my sitter and her rather closed and very traditional religious sect similar to Amish gets this well. Contentment in each life season as a woman: a girl, young lady, a wife, a mom, an empty nester, a grandma…each stage is embraced as it comes with contentment, so no regrets of the past or longing for the future, but living in the now and doing that moment well. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  123. Cill says:

    Those are good ideas Bloom. My mum collects driftwood and shells and pebbles from the shores of the sea and lakes and rivers, and makes driftwood arrangements that she sells to retailers.

    Liked by 3 people

  124. Moehau Man says:

    Yes well, I’ll have to ask her. I’m something of an ignoramus when it comes to cooking. Domestic skills don’t rank highly on a male Moehau Man’s agenda.

    Like

  125. Dragonfly I bet your hubby’s promotion is due to having your support! Reflect well on him, channel your energy into supporting his advancement. Old school hypergamy! And a better use of that female drive.

    Gosh I am the font of wisdom today lol!

    Liked by 3 people

  126. Due *in part* I mean, obviously. Much easier w your support than constant nagging and discontent 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  127. Moehau Man says:

    Whilst we wait for Mrs Moehau Man (my helpful old mum) to write out a recipe for pikelets, here’s a suggestion, you could fashion Kauri Clubs and sell them for a bit a pocket money.

    Liked by 1 person

  128. Yoda says:

    Perhaps fashion cod pieces for sale one could.

    Like

  129. Or making codpieces paired with oblong rocks! 🙂 I bet those would sell well! A new trend even!!!

    Like

  130. Great minds think alike Yoda! I do believe you and Mrs. Yoda are rubbing off on me! Lol.

    Liked by 2 people

  131. Moehau Man says:

    Here is Mrs Moehau Man (my culinary old mum)’s recipe for pikelets. I’ve translated some bits for you foreign jokers:

    MAKES ABOUT A DOZEN PIKELETS
    2 tablespoons sugar
    1/2 cup milk
    1 egg
    3/4 cup flour
    1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
    1 teaspoon cream of tartar
    pinch salt

    Whisk sugar, milk and egg. Add sifted, dry ingredients. Beat until mixture glides off the back of a Paua shell [or spoon], adding more milk if necessary. Transfer to an empty coconut [jug] and pour pikelets from it onto a greased oblong rock [hotplate] which has been allowed to heat for 3 minutes. Cook on both sides until the color of a young Moehau Man female’s chest hair [golden brown]. Serve with jam** and cream or with grilled bacon or sausage or marmalade for breakfast.

    [** Moehau Man self edit: raspberry jam is particularly good]

    Liked by 4 people

  132. Now man can you explain cod pieces and oblong rocks and your industrious old mums trade in them? These things are not common in these parts!

    Like

  133. Cill says:

    It’s work time down under. Moe has offered to help me today. Padawan is asleep. Goodbye for now. Don’t do anything I wouldn’t do,
    y’hear?

    Liked by 2 people

  134. Liz says:

    Congrats on your husband’s promotion, Dragonflygirl! 🙂

    “Liz? What advice would you give?”

    I don’t have much to add to what you said, Bloom. I think the advice is good. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  135. SFC Ton says:

    I am a content man. I am content because I am satisfied I go totally balls out every time I am at bat. When I find myself in moments of uncontentment it is because I know I failed to put forth maximum effort.

    Liked by 2 people

  136. Liz says:

    Think I’ve got it. (generality alert)

    Men find contentment via their own achievement.
    By contrast, women who are not content are simply an ass pain and tend to make work for everyone else around them.

    Liked by 3 people

  137. Women who are not content are indeed an ass pain. They should focus on what they can control, themselves and their attitude. If they are focused on what others are not doing, they need to focus on if they need to take constructive steps to help others do what they need to do (like getting kids to do chores) and then focus again on how they can help rather than critique the situation.

    Liked by 4 people

  138. @ ton your can do all in attitude has indeed served you well. And I am sure others appreciate it too!

    Like

  139. And @ ton you raise another good point, the solution for the discontent man and the discontent woman differ, because they are geared to find contentment in different ways – him often by taking charge, her often by acceptance and attitude.

    Like

  140. Mow man here raspberries are just coming into season! Time to make preserves!

    Like

  141. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    i don’t think that I have ever met a content woman. Bloom is on to something. Most would happily find things for others to do.

    Yoda at 10:13pm,
    Ashe is correct. It seems that once these young women are helped by “counsellors”, they will need counselling.

    Liked by 1 person

  142. Yoda says:

    New post there is.

    Like

  143. Dragonfly says:

    “Contentment in each life season as a woman: a girl, young lady, a wife, a mom, an empty nester, a grandma…each stage is embraced as it comes with contentment, so no regrets of the past or longing for the future, but living in the now and doing that moment well. :)”

    Bloom, this is gold.

    Liked by 3 people

  144. Dragonfly says:

    The furniture idea is really great, too… home decor is part of what I want to do as well – and yes, my entire “business idea” is finding things at thrift stores, redo-ing them or restyling them, and then re-selling. The clothes… almost all are from thrift store finds for $1 each… I change them, bleach or dye them, add other fabrics or lace, ribbons etc. to them, and then resell.

    Liked by 2 people

  145. fuzziewuzziebear says:

    I have tried restoing furniture for profit. It only makes sense to put that kind of hard work into furniture if you intend to keep it.

    Like

  146. Sumo says:

    Golf Sumo? How disappointing…..

    Yeah, well….if it makes any difference, I’m terrible at golf. I am rather fond of walking through pleasant scenery with my buddies and drinking beer.

    And occasionally hitting stuff. Sumo likes to hit stuff.

    Liked by 2 people

  147. Cill says:

    Bloom at 10:24 pm
    HAHAHAHAHAHAA!!

    Like

  148. SFC Ton says:

    One does not enter Vahllha through the golf course, though I reckon they would be good entry level sniper ranges.

    Meet a content woman? There are two sleeping next to me right now. Easy enough to create if you take one in hand. Thing is they don’t stay that way. Insecurity driving that I reckon

    Liked by 1 person

  149. Liz says:

    I can’t really think of a time when I wasn’t content (AM anyway).
    I’m the luckiest person I know.

    Liked by 2 people

  150. Dragonfly there is a gal here who does what you are describing , buys clothing and sweaters at the thrift shop or garage sales, then restyled them into fabulously beautiful new duds! She had this swing coat made out of several purple sweaters I just loved, but at $125 it was above my price range. She does well with that, sells her stuff at the farmers market!

    My sitter’s tribe, all sahm’s with oodles of kids do very well w the vintage flea market furniture stuff too!

    There are so many such opportunities to be had, savvy women can always make something out of nothing! And it’s fun, too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  151. Dragonfly says:

    I know… I know a couple where the wife makes more than her husband is making doing it but it took several years to get her business off the ground (I think 6 years?). That’s awesome you know someone too.

    Yea I could never charge that kind of price. My forte will be charging way less (which is harder to find things that are that cheap to resell for cheap), but to me, it’s much more worth it.

    I would never buy something overpriced… why would I expect my customers to? 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.

