Please go to Spawny.Space


Spawny’s Space is where it’s at

If you have any problems please comment on this post

Posted in Uncategorized
20 comments on “Please go to Spawny.Space
  1. missattempts says:

    I have a problem that I hope Spawny or Tarn will help me with.
    This event actually happened, and my 90 year old father is a witness.
    Anyone else is also welcome to comment:

    At 7PM last night, a telephone call came through. My father picked up the
    phone. A woman was on the other end and said: “Can I speak to Lon?
    My father handed me the phone. This was unusual, because I never get
    phone calls. Having no friends, not to meantion girlfriends.
    “Who’s calling please?, I asked. “Casey” was the response. I was flustered.
    “Casey from where?” I asked. “Casey from Florida. Where are you from?”
    “New York,” I said. “I heard you are one of my greatest admirers,” she said.
    “Ye-ss you could say that I stammered.” She lingered on the phone a moment or two
    longer, and hung up.
    It was an adult woman’s voice. I don’t know for a fact that it was the REAL Casey
    because, as I remembered, the last recordings of Casey were made 7 yrs ago,
    and she had a huskier voice. Also, when I asked who she was, she just said “Casey,
    rather then “Casey Anthony,” My father, who worked in security thinks it might have
    been the REAL Casey Anthony.
    I don’t give out my phone number so how did this mystery woman get it? I had a
    couple of calls the week before, and no one was on the other end so I hung up.
    Do you think it’s her?

    Like

  2. Spawny Get says:

    As the blogger, all I have is:
    * the email address that supply (which is going nowhere – I will not hand it out to anyone. A couple of other people on the blog also have access. But only known longtimers who I trust to know more than that about me). Having said that…get an anonymous email account to use for blog commenting. Cill wrote a post about it in the early days of this blog.
    * the IP address (which you may, or may not, be masking (use of VPN / hide.me) – I don’t know…never checked it). If you want, I’ll email you the information that I (and any other blogger) will see.

    Wherever you comment you will be leaving that info. If I were to guess? I reckon that at some point you’ve commented on a blog linked to her, or a friend of hers??? They’ve passed on your ip address to her. They’ve got the phone number associated with the ip address. BV (or a few others here) would be able to confirm that that’s possible.

    That’s not getting into spooks, or anything, where whatever you do, you’re likely identifiable should they ever get curious. Or google, or any other data mining /tracking pos company.

    —-

    Relatedly
    if anyone familiar wants an email forwarding address of the form; numbnutz@spawny.space that will allow them to receive email sent to it on their existing account (RECEIVE ONLY! If you reply to a forwarded email, it will come from you ACTUAL address!). I can do that for you. If you want an actual email account, I can do that too. Hosting is paid up for a couple of years…after which there’re no promises.

    Like

  3. Spawny Get says:

    The ip address is more useful to them if it’s static – remains the same for long periods. Mine (just because it’s how my ISP configures it’s systems) is dynamic; power cycle the modem and I get a different address. This is somewhat helpful for privacy from complete amateurs.

    I can tell you which your’s is if you send me the links of a couple of your comments some number of days apart. I’ll tell you if the IP addresses are different (I won’t publish what they are – just if they’re different)

    Like

  4. Cill says:

    Spawny your link “Spawny’s Space is where it’s at”
    … takes us to :

    “Hello world!

    Welcome to WordPress. This is your first post. Edit or delete it, then start blogging!”

    There are no posts or tabs or banners or comments apart from a comment by “Mr WordPress”

    Is this right?

    Like

  5. Spawny Get says:

    Yes, well…I tried to make the change this morning…but found that http://www.Spawny.Space had decided not to take comments. FINE, ‘kingreat. So I binned the site and reinstalled wordpress. When I came to upload my backup…my connection had gone bandy, I couldn’t succesfully upload the whole site. So I closed it there and re-started the wordpress.com one. Lot of swearing this morning…

    I’m busy tomorrow, I’ll maybe try again Thursday. I need the blog quiet while I transfer so as not to lose comments. I’m having difficulty getting images to render in comments. Comment-images, the plugin, seems…unreliabubble.

    Like

  6. Spawny Get says:

    Yesterday I had uploaded the same capture multiple times, I’ve been having intermittent DNS problems too.

    Like

  7. Spawny Get says:

    Lucky it’s 29C in the house and I’m chillin’ in me shreddies with an ice cold Stella Tortoise, or two

    Like

  8. Cill says:

    Meanwhile spawnyspace works just fine.

    I left you some email messages re the state of Spawny.Space (the state it was at before it sorta “shrank”). There were no “Like” toggle buttons as I recall, which wouldn’t worry me at all but other commenters might disagree with me on that one.
    Apart from the absence of “Likes” Spawny.Space looked to be on a par with spawnyspace.

    Like

  9. Spawny Get says:

    I liked the new theme. I wanted likes and images in comments. In my experience whether the images rendered as images rather than URLs was a matter of chance.

    Like

  10. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Missattempts,
    It could being something innocent. Itried to help someone find a childhood sweetheart and stumbled over kgbpeople. Perhaps someone is lloking for someone with the same first and last name as you?

    Like

  11. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I went to Spawny.space and “comments were closed”.
    ^sniff*

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Spawny Get says:

    My day was worse, mate. Promise.

    Did you get an email?

    Like

  13. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Spawny, I did. Let’s hold off untill you get the new blog up and running smooth.

    Like

  14. Spawny Get says:

    The blog is a WordPress install on the site. The email is a completely separate issue.

    But there’s no rush to do more.

    You can set that address up at gravatar.com and get an avatar set up, without compromising your real address. That can be done whenever you wish…if you wish. I doubt you’ll outdo Molla Molla though.

    Like

  15. poseidon740 says:

    I’m by no means an expert, but according to my limited expertise, an IP address alone is insufficient to obtain a phone number, unless a hack were to occur. Just an IP address with non-illegal methods cannot yield a phone number. If I am wrong I would like to read how that can be done. My curiosity is peaked…… Haven’t been this peaked since I mentally salivated about reading a post about TOUCH.

    Like

  16. Cill says:

    I’m not an expert either. As I understand it, your IP address attaches to your modem, not your computer. So when Molly is here her IP address is the same as mine because she’s using my network. An IP can reveal the locality of your ISP and thereby your general locality, but not your street address or phone number. Things change so rapidly, I could be wrong. I hope not.

    Like

  17. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I just went to spawny.space and there is no change. Got there throught the link in the OP.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Spawny Get says:

    I’m looking to make it stable before copying over June’s posts and shutting down comments here.

    Can everyone try and comment on the latest post there? That way I can set you as cleared before the more…

    The actual move requires me having a stable connection, quiet time on the blog. Tomorrow is not looking good as I’m busy in the morning.

    Like

  19. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Spawny Get,
    I went all the way to the end of the last post and found that comments were closed.

    Like

  20. Spawny Get says:

    Yes, sorry. Comments are closed on that post due to it being old. I’ve just made a disposable new post… Yoda could comment, which is a great start.

    Like

Comments are closed.

