Hungry? Well, let’s do something about that.


I have neither the patience nor the inclination to write about most things that are the “norm” for the manosphere, so I decided to go with something that I’m passionate and (somewhat) knowledgeable about: food.

Not too surprisingly, The Mighty Sumo is a carnivore. If I’m eating, there damn well better be meat involved (save the smarmy comments, jackasses). One of my favorite things to do is throw a couple of steaks on the grill (or Barbie, for our resident Kiwis & Aussies), but here in the Great Frozen Wasteland, that’s only an option for half of the year.

The alternative, though, is in some ways better. I’m talking about pan roasting, of course. That’s a bit of a misnomer, as there are 3 separate culinary techniques involved here, but calling it a seared, roasted and basted steak doesn’t have the same flair as “pan roasted steak”. Little bit of butter, garlic, thyme, and of course, beef and you have a fantastic plate of meaty goodness at any time of the year.

All you need to cook this is a properly seasoned cast iron pan and an oven. And a steak, of course. Living in the beef capital of Canada means that while beef is a little pricey, it’s not nearly as expensive ‘round these parts as it is in other places, so I eat a lot of it. Given the aforementioned reasonable pricing, I also tend to opt for better cuts, like ribeye. It’s ok, though; any decent grilling steak will work here.

Anyhow, to business – you’re going to need:

270 g beef ribeye
10 ml canola or grapeseed oil
30 g unsalted butter
1 garlic clove (smashed)
2 sprigs fresh thyme
salt and pepper as needed
a spoon

First off, pre-heat your oven to 400 F (205 C). After that’s taken care of, grab your cast iron pan and heat it over high heat until it’s smoking hot.

BTW, when cooking, white smoke is good. Black smoke, not so much. That’s not racist, it’s just the way things work.

To continue, season both sides of the steak liberally with salt and pepper. When the pan is hot, add the oil and steak, then LEAVE IT THE FUCK ALONE!!!! Seriously, don’t touch it. Have you ever been cooking meat, and had it stick to the surface when you try to flip it over? The reason for that is simple – the meat ain’t ready yet. When it is ready, it will release itself from the cooking surface, and then you can flip it. True story.

Anyhow, this will probably take about 3 or 4 minutes, and your steak will have a beautiful crust, and you can flip it over. Place the whole pan in the oven, and roast for 2 to 3 minutes, depending on the thickness of the steak. Take the pan out of the oven and get it back over medium heat, and add the butter, garlic, and thyme. Tilt the pan slightly, and use the spoon to baste the steak with the butter for 2 to 3 minutes. Remove the steak from the pan and let it rest for 5 minutes before snarfing it down.

If any juices are released while the steak is resting, just pour them back over it before you eat it.

About

Male, a little geeky, somewhat brave, extremely impulsive, occasionally introspective, and quite often sarcastic.

Tagged with:
Posted in Fun, HowTo
136 comments on “Hungry? Well, let’s do something about that.
  1. Cill says:

    Good and simple, Sumo! Even I can follow it. All my meat is farm kill and butchered by me. I think rib eye is what we call scotch fillet Down Under. I was tempted to cook it on my BBQ plate which is a better cooking surface than my pan, but I can’t put my barbie in the oven so I’ve decided on the pan instead. I’m at stage one (preheating the oven).

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Sumo says:

    Props for doing your own butchering, brother. Wish I knew how to do that. Not that I own any livestock, but it would still be good to know.

    Also, you’re correct, as far as I can tell – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rib_eye_steak

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yum! I am going to do this very soon!

    Any advice on baby bckk pork ribs? They are on special this week. Par boil first or?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    You mean, that all this time, I could have been eating stek that I cooked and not begging biscuits?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tarnished says:

    When the pan is hot, add the oil and steak, then LEAVE IT THE FUCK ALONE!!!! Seriously, don’t touch it.

    Sumo, you should become a cookbook author. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Cill says:

    I’m at stage 2, seasoned steak into the pan. I’m chugging on a schooner of Speights Southern Man while I contemplate the forthcoming feed of pan roasted steak. I’ll be having home grown mashed potato and onion rings with it, with your permission, bro. It will be a dinner for two, as Molly is visiting from the mainland.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Tarnished says:

    Fuzzie,

    My goodness! That bear will be very plump if he keeps downing biscuits like that!

    Like

  8. Sumo says:

    Any advice on baby bckk pork ribs? They are on special this week. Par boil first or?

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never, EVER parboil ribs. EVER.

    Tomorrow I’ll write out my buddy’s recipe for stout braised ribs; he’s one of the best chefs I know, and the ribs are damned bloody amazing. It’s a little involved, but not difficult. Just takes some time. And some beer.

    Seriously, the ribs are braised in a stout marinade.

    Liked by 3 people

  9. Tarnished says:

    That sounds amazing, Cill. Hope you and Molly enjoy it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sumo says:

    Sumo, you should become a cookbook author.

    Nah, it’s been done – http://www.thugkitchen.com/cookbook

    Like

  11. Sumo says:

    Don’t need permission from me, brother. Mashed taters and ‘rings sounds fantastic.

    Like

  12. Cill says:

    I’m at stage 3, pan into oven. Never done anything like this before. Beautiful crust on the steak, as you said.

    Like

  13. Sumo says:

    Use a towel or something to grab the pan when removing it from the oven.

    Trust me on this one.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Cill says:

    Table is set with Cill’s finest crockery and cutlery in honor of Sumo’s pan roasted steak. My favorite stein to hold my beer, a crystal glass for Molly’s Peter Yealand cabinet sauvignon. Flowers in a vase to express my gay side (nah it was Molly wot done it). Gourmet report coming up…

    Liked by 4 people

  15. Sumo says:

    Hope you enjoy it, brother. Say hi to Molls for me.

    Like

  16. Cill says:

    No probs bro, I used my big oven mit to pull it from the oven.

    My expert report:

    The crust is a special feature of the dish, looks as promising as the buttons on a fair maiden’s blouse.
    A hint of a crunch at the first savage bite.
    Taste: Delicious as it looks.
    A1 for aroma.
    Visuals excellent.

    Overall: unadulterated, unfuckedup, straight forward, honest country man’s meat dish fit for a king.

    Hint: the mashed home-grown spuds and onion rings complement it awfully well.

    Now excuse me while I finish my feed. Ah, this is good.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Bear is salivating.
    Bears do not live by biscuits alone.
    Say hello to Molly for me too!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Meanwhile I found this easy sounding rib recipie, what think sumo? 🙂 http://m.allrecipes.com/recipe/16091/baby-back-ribs/

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Cill says:

    Hint #2
    A man will prefer beer to red wine with this dish. A good beer, not Budweiser. If he hasn’t built up much of an appetite wine might be okay I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Sumo says:

    Eww, Bloomer. Just……eww.

    Have patience, dear lady. The wait will be worth it, I promise.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. I was teasing Sumo! 😉 I will look forward to your advice, I love BBQ ribs but have not figured out the best way to do them at home…

    Like

  22. Sumo says:

    Okay, that vile trick played upon me by the Bloomer has led me to copy/paste the recipe I promised. I would have preferred to inject some smartassy Sumo-speak into it, but this is an emergency.

    2 Racks Ribs
    30g Kosher Salt
    10g Black Pepper
    600g Yellow Onions (Large Diced)
    60g Peeled garlic (Smashed)
    700ml Stout
    1L Chicken, beef, or pork stock
    120g Granulated Sugar

    Preheat your oven to 350F and turn grill to high
    Start by removing the membrane from the back of the ribs
    Season both sides liberally with salt and pepper
    Grill the ribs until golden brown on both sides
    Meanwhile, in a large roasting pan, sautee onion and garlic
    Deglaze the pan with stout
    Add the stock and bring to a simmer
    When ribs are golden add them to the simmering liquid
    Add stock to cover the ribs
    Double wrap with foil to make a good seal
    Braise in the oven for 2hrs at 350F
    Lower the temperature to 250F, braise an additional 90 mins
    Remove from oven and cool over an ice bath until room temperature
    Place in fridge and allow to cool completely in cooking liquid

    The next day:
    Remove ribs from Liquid and warm in oven at 350F on a bake sheet
    Slather with your favorite BBQ sauce and warm for 20-30 mins

    – recipe courtesy of Chef Alexi Boldireff, S’Wich Food Truck

    If you’re in a hurry, you can skip the “cool down” step and just start snarfing, but letting the ribs cool will infuse more flavor into them. 😉

    Liked by 4 people

  23. Yum yum yum! Thanks Sumo, sounds fantastic!!! 🙂 I will report back w results…

    The membrane tip was new to me! Interesting.

    Like

  24. molly says:

    Hi! Sumo the steak was de-lish! I just had to say something!

    Liked by 3 people

  25. Sumo says:

    Molls!!! I’m glad you enjoyed the steak, but in fairness, it was Cill’s skill with the grill that made it so; I just provided some advice.

    I’m also ecstatic that I was the one to bring you back, even if it’s just a one-off. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  26. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I see a Rainbow Furby!!!
    Molly, it’s good to see you here!

    Like

  27. SFC Ton says:

    You the fucking man Sumo and always have a place at Camp Ton

    If you are going to par boil ribs, chicken etc throw a goodly amount of old bay/ zaterans crab boil that way you add flavor. Works well with chicken wings

    Liked by 2 people

  28. SFC Ton says:

    I use to get the naked news which was Russian chicks getting undressed as they read the news.

    Never was so well informed

    Liked by 3 people

  29. Liz says:

    “To continue, season both sides of the steak liberally with salt and pepper. When the pan is hot, add the oil and steak, then LEAVE IT THE FUCK ALONE!!!! Seriously, don’t touch it. Have you ever been cooking meat, and had it stick to the surface when you try to flip it over? The reason for that is simple – the meat ain’t ready yet. When it is ready, it will release itself from the cooking surface, and then you can flip it. True story.”

    I had no idea.
    You know how much I’ve learned from reading your cooking tips, Sumo?
    I didn’t even know I had anything to learn!! Thanks so much! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  30. Liz says:

    Great to see Molly in here again! Squee!! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  31. Spawny Get says:

    Sumo is too reticent with the following information
    Cook with Sumo

    [Well, not really. My user name links back to teh blog, I just haven’t updated it for a while. Thanks for the plug, though.]

    Like

  32. Spawny Get says:

    Well, Tarn has the ability to delete that if she so wishes. I’d do the same for anyone else if they so request.

    Like

  33. Spawny Get says:

    ““creeps” that can’t get any”
    not really a phrase that I like. You’re too harsh on yourself.

    Like

  34. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Missattempts,
    You violated Tarn’s privacy. While most of your comment was speculation, some of it had to be sound. Those who would cause her harm by doxxing have the benefit.

    Spawny Get,
    This is too personal. Let’s delete, please.

    Like

  35. Tarnished says:

    Hey Fuzzie.

    I moved Missattempts comment and my reply over to my blog’s last post. Thanks for looking out for me, and I apologize if anything upset you.

    Like

  36. Tarnished says:

    True, Spawny.
    Bad luck or “failure” (not my favorite word either, especially in this case) with obtaining sex or a steady partner does not make one a “creep”. That is a hurtful and inaccurate term to use for such a person.

    Liked by 2 people

  37. Tarnished says:

    ***No triggers, but please skip this over if you don’t care about the previous comment from Missattempts.***

    There are 2 parts of Missattempts moved comment I wanted to discuss/clarify:

    Why does she sympathsise with MGTOW and “creeps” that can’t get any? (I don’t mean to say that those two cataglories are the same.)

    I sympathize with MGTOW because I have experience in being manipulated to serve the desires of another person who didn’t care in the slightest how it affected me as a person. Though the circumstances are different, I cannot help but see a connection between those events and a husband or father being dragged through an uncaring divorce court or living with a meanspirited/solipistic spouse. It was a terrible series of things that happened to me, but I hardly hold any sort of majority ownership of Crap That Life Throws At You. Plus, the ability to sympathize and empathize with others is a trait that helped us to become an organized society in the first place. “Do unto others” and all that jazz.

    I sympathize with incels/older virgins because I can quite easily imagine that their desire for touch is the direct opposite of my previous desire for a complete lack of touch. Both are painful to deal with on a daily basis, and it is not good for a significant minority of our population to be/feel unloved. Again, it simply my nature to care about other beings. Unfortunately, some are so consumed by their frustrations and anger that they begin to give in to their destructive side, and start to believe the only way for them to have any peace is if women are reduced to lobotmized cattle or deliberately maimed/made ugly so men don’t desire them at all. It is this type of person I cannot sympathize with, and no longer try to.

    But, my God, to associate with a wack a doodle F.W.B. that encourages her to sleep with other men? Doesn’t anyone understand the meaning of love?

    I try not to bring up “feelings” unnecessarily here, because I know various commenters will take it and run, using it as some “evidence” of overt femininity on my part.

    Screw it. This needs to be said. It hurts when you constantly question the care and consideration my lover shows to me and I to him. It is a slap to my face each time you state he isn’t “worthy” of me or that by wanting me to have more life experiences he “obviously” doesn’t love me at all. I want you to stop doing this, Missattempts. It is untrue, undignified, and most of all, highly inaccurate.

    My FwB wants me to have more partners *because* he cares for me. He knows that a part of me wants to experience intimacy with other people besides him, but that I can’t yet. If I was able to enjoy pleasuring other men (and perhaps some women as well) it would indicate a HUGE leap forward in my mental progress. Being able to handle and seek out touch from someone besides him is what he’s hoping for me, NOT for me to become an unloving slut who simply has sex because they can or because they mistakenly believe it “validates” their existence. We are sex partners, yes…but more than that, we are close friends. He wants to be able to clap me on the back and congratulate me on having sex with an attractive partner, the same as other men do with their friends. Yes, I’m physically female and perhaps a bit “blue-pill” and naive as other commenters have stated. I’ll own that. But I don’t think or act like one, and he has accepted this masculine mind of mine for what it is. For what I am.

    What type of love this is, I don’t rightly know. Maybe there isn’t a word for it, or perhaps it’s a combination we have yet to create. But if accepting someone for who they are and receiving the same in return is not love, then what is?

    Liked by 2 people

  38. Cill says:

    Sumo I’m going to give your gyoza a go as well.
    http://cookwithsumo.com/2015/01/09/gyoza/

    Liked by 3 people

  39. Sumo says:

    Those are a lot easier to make than they sound. You’ll do fine. I would suggest waiting until the clan comes to visit, though. It’s a decent family activity; everyone gets involved and a good time is had by all.

    Plus, the more people involved, the less work for you. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  40. Tarnished says:

    Should put ’em on a stick for portability and call it Gyoza-A-Go-Go. 😛

    They are quite delicious. One of the Asian bars by my house makes absolutely delectable veggie-filled ones. I usually get those and either some udon or miso soup. Yum!

    Liked by 2 people

  41. Spawny Get says:

    “absolutely delectable veggie-filled ”

    As a smart friend of mine once said, “For a great meal, something has to die”

    Liked by 3 people

  42. Cill says:

    Yeah! “Gyoza-A-Go-Go”. Have ’em on a couple of pasties!

    Liked by 2 people

  43. Sumo says:

    Should put ’em on a stick for portability and call it Gyoza-A-Go-Go.

    I like it. Sounds like it would be a decent item for a food truck.

    Liked by 2 people

  44. Tarnished says:

    Spawny,
    I’ll have you know I’m a serial killer of zucchini, lettuce, carrots, and potatoes. Tomatoes run in fear, and corn on the cob speaks my name in hushed tones. 😀

    Cill & Sumo,
    I can’t actually take credit for that…it was already taken by an Asian themed food truck outside of Gencon 2 years ago.

    Liked by 3 people

  45. Cill says:

    My quality of life would plummet if I went vegetarian. Do you never pine for a Scallop, Tarn? Seafood chowder? Choked chook with shallots?

    Like

  46. Tarnished says:

    You’re going to go into shock, so sit down before you read this next line:

    I’ve never had seafood. For all I know, I could be deathly allergic to it. My mom did the majority of cooking at our house, and she absolutely hated the smell of seafood…as in, she would literally become sick if she was around it for too long. (Bad childhood experience with food poisoning or something.) So, my family never had any.

    Poultry, beef, pork, veal, venison, rabbit, waterfowl, fish…any other animals were fair game. But seafood?

    Can’t miss a food you’ve never had.

    Liked by 1 person

  47. Cill says:

    Note the eye on my chook at 6:56 pm.

    Liked by 1 person

  48. Sumo says:

    Um, Tarn…..fish is seafood….

    Liked by 2 people

  49. Cill says:

    Sumo my bro, this be one of these “No Shit Sherlock” moments…

    Liked by 3 people

  50. Cill says:

    I’ve just liked on one of Tarn’s less notable comments to show no offense.
    I just toggled it again to make sure…

    Liked by 1 person

  51. Tarnished says:

    However, I do miss:

    Sweet & sour chicken
    Pork chops
    Baby back ribs
    Salmon steak
    Pulled pork sandwiches
    Ahi tuna
    Swedish meatballs
    German potato salad
    Beef on a stick
    Bratwurst
    Kielbasa
    Salami
    Lamb with green jelly
    Steak (oh, steak!)
    Liverwurst
    Venison jerky
    Cornish hens
    Turkey drumsticks

    *sigh* And many more.
    Ironically, even though my mind recoils from wanting to eat meat, my mouth still waters uncontrollably when I smell something I used to enjoy. Can’t really take the omnivore out of the human…

    Liked by 3 people

  52. Tarnished says:

    Sumo,

    My family always differentiated between the two. “Seafood” to my mother was scallops, shrimp, lobster, calimari, oysters, crawdads, etc. Basically anything that came out of the water that was also an invertebrate.

    *I* know that it’s a stupid way to classify it. Talk to mi madre.

    Like

  53. Sumo says:

    Fair enough. Maybe it’s a regional thing? I consider scallops, shrimp, lobster, etc to be “shellfish”. Fish is fish. But it’s all seafood. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  54. Cill says:

    All those things you list, Tarn, I’m going to barbie the whole lot of ’em this very day.
    You won’t detect the scrumptious aromas from the other side of the world, but they will be simply beautiful.

    Liked by 4 people

  55. Cill says:

    “I consider scallops, shrimp, lobster, etc to be “shellfish””

    Ah you land lubbers. Tch tch tch.

    Scallops, Yes, shrimp and lobster No! They ain’t shellfish, they’re crustaceans!

    Liked by 2 people

  56. Tarnished says:

    Lol! I hope you’re inviting over the whole clan for that amount of food, Cill. 🙂

    Sumo,
    No kidding… 😉
    And no, it’s probably not a regional thing. More likely it’s a “my mom is crazy” thing.

    Although when I tell people I’m a vegetarian, they still assume for some unknown reason that I still eat seafood. I’ve even had numerous people tell me that fish aren’t animals, so I shouldn’t mind eating them. 😕

    Okay, there’s only 5 Kingdoms…Animalia, Plantae, Fungi, Monera, Protista. Fish are definitely in the 1st one.

    Frickin mouth-breathing ice-lickers.

    Like

  57. Sumo says:

    Scallops, Yes, shrimp and lobster No! They ain’t shellfish, they’re crustaceans!

    They have shells. Your argument is invalid. 😛

    Like

  58. Spawny Get says:

    “Cornish hens”

    ‘ans off our ‘ens, you ‘eathen

    Liked by 1 person

  59. Tarnished says:

    I’m not a heathen, I’m a Pagan. Sheesh!

    Like

  60. Spawny Get says:

    To annoy Louise Mensch. And five more reasons for voting UKIP

    1. Louise Mensch. I once Tweeted “There is no more loathsome Tory than the kind which sees UKIP as a bigger problem than Labour, the Greens, the SNP and the Lib Dems.” It was her I meant.

    2. Nigel Farage. The very worst of all possible outcomes of this election is if Farage doesn’t win South Thanet. He has fought in the teeth of the most scabrous and unjustified Establishment hate campaign I think I’ve ever witnessed and thoroughly deserves to be in Westminster so that he can hold that Establishment to account.

    3. The Manifesto. Never mind the debate over Libertarian UKIP versus Red UKIP. The manifesto’s pretty sound. (Independently costed too). You look at their policies and you think: “God, wouldn’t it just be amazing if a party like this ever got into power.” Well stop fantasising and put your money where your mouth is. Obviously you won’t get a UKIP majority this time (though to read by the rabid tone of some of the comments below my piece yesterday, some of you are sufficiently delusional to imagine otherwise) but “from tiny acorns…. etc”. In any case, see 4.

    4. For UKIP this election isn’t necessarily about winning, but gaining sufficient share of the vote – second places are very important – to qualify for the enhanced funding which will put them in good stead to fight 2020 really hard.

    5. If you don’t vote UKIP, you’re David Cameron’s bitch. No really, you are – and this goes way back, possibly even to before the last general election when Cameron and his advisers made a cynical calculation: it doesn’t matter if we drift left because our heartland has nowhere else to go, so as well as natural Tories we can hoover up the squishy centrists, disaffected Blairites, etc. Yeah, that worked, Dave. That’s why you won such a stonking majority you didn’t have to go into Coalition with your ideological polar opposites. No, wait…

    6. Not just for disaffected Tories, yadda yadda. I put that one in because I know some of you get affronted by the idea that UKIP are the true heirs to Thatcher and you’d never consider yourself natural Conservatives and the reason that you were attracted to UKIP is that they’re completely different and resemble nothing that has ever existed in the entire history of politics. To which I say: “Yeah. Wotevs.” Now off you go and unseat whichever northern Labour candidate in your constituency deserves unseating.

    Liked by 2 people

  61. Cill says:

    “They have shells.” True. “Shellfish” is a culinary and fisheries term, so very much open to regional interpretation. For regulatory purposes, “shellfish” are molluscs with shells.

    “For regulatory purposes it is often narrowly defined as filter-feeding molluscs such as clams, mussels, and oyster to the exclusion of crustaceans and all else.”
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shellfish

    Liked by 1 person

  62. Cill says:

    You must admit, Spawny, that Cornish hen does have a hell of an eye.
    It sort of ties in with my pasties quip, by a hugely convoluted process.

    Like

  63. Spawny Get says:

    “I’m not a heathen, I’m a Pagan. Sheesh!”
    wasserdifrencethen? As long as it’s brief and simple (it’s beer o’clock after a night of reduced sleep)

    Like

  64. Spawny Get says:

    “Yeah! “Gyoza-A-Go-Go”. Have ’em on a couple of pasties!”

    Best let ’em cool before placing your Gyoza pasties. Little fun in having partially cooked purple nurples

    Liked by 2 people

  65. Cill says:

    An eye-challenged cornish hen:

    The eye-endowed chook at 6:56 pm is a cornish hen if the New Yorkers had allowed it to grow.

    Like

  66. Spawny Get says:

    I notice that the Cornish guy’s down a Cornish mine…as usual, not a frigging hen in sight

    Pretty funny guy of you can penetrate the Cornish accent

    Liked by 2 people

  67. poseidon740 says:

    “As a smart friend of mine once said, “For a great meal, something has to die”

    Anybody ever eat Soylent Green?

    Liked by 1 person

  68. Tarnished says:

    I hear it tastes like bacon… 😈

    Liked by 1 person

  69. Tarnished says:

    No big difference, Spawny. “Heathens” just tends to refer specifically to those who worship the Norse/ancient Northern Gods, whereas “Pagan” has alternatively been used as a catch-all term or just shorthand for Neopagans (typically in the US).

    So long as you don’t call me late to dinner, we’re good. *grin*

    Liked by 1 person

  70. poseidon740 says:

    I’m racking what’s left of my brain trying to figure out if there is a pun associated with tasting like bacon. I’m guessing there is a sexual connotation that I do not know; innocence that I be.

    Like

  71. Spawny Get says:

    “Anybody ever eat Soylent Green?”

    That would be, “For a great crap meal, someone has to die”

    Liked by 1 person

  72. Cill says:

    That man should be P.M.

    To be realistic, what’s the best UKIPpers can expect – a handful of seats and about 13% of the total vote? The way they seemingly rig the polls over there, it’s damn confusing down here, I tell ya. Is the most likely outcome a Labour-led coalition govt, or is it not?

    Liked by 1 person

  73. Cill says:

    You can probably sense my frustration ^^^

    You’re probably used to it, but this business of adjusting results by reference to who they voted for last election (and god knows what else) seems ridiculous. A poll becomes just a glorified opinion piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  74. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Tarn,
    Sooner or later, you’ll have to deal with it. He’s getting too personal.
    Apologies are unnecessary. I wasn’t affected directly.

    About incels, they are suffering and it’s not just sex. They’re touch deprived and unloved. When I hear feminists say that men aren’t owed sex, the hair at the back of my neck stands up. While I can’t directly assail the statement, as it confirms the need for mutual consent, there is an element of condecension from a priviliged standpoint.
    I have to wonder what will happen when these hypergamic hussies end up sidelining eighty percent of the men and it’s undeniable. That would constitute a social problem. A big social problem.
    Speaking of hypergamic hussies, on his video today, Sandman told how the only interest he was getting on Tinder was from minority and fat women. He estimated that the SMV has discounted his maleness by a full three points. I am presuming that he is high SMV.

    Liked by 2 people

  75. Spawny Get says:

    I’ve seen betting companies favouring a labia bled coagulation. Pros tend to favour a tory one. All very knife edge stuff.

    I’d like to think that UKIP’s actual vote breaks way above the 14ish% that the anti-UKIP biased pollsters and the pollsters using crap methods to predict the UKIP vote say. (One pollster said 18% recently).

    But really this time round is more about:
    1) having people see UKIP as a proper contender in 2020 because it comes second in lots of places in 2015
    2) the vote in 2015 determines funding for political parties going forward…points make prizes. UKIP is not rich.
    3) putting the wind up the liblabcon. Lot of signs of panic in the tory party recently. Nutters and fruitcakes -> they’ll have to come home to the tories -> please come back to the tories -> scary labour+snp commie coalition (so vote tory). The polling results are rock-steady. The tories say that many kippers will have a last minute, on the way to the polling station even, change of heart. The kippers say ^(*&()&()&%^&% that and that there are many people being shy about voting UKIP when asked, but come the day…

    Doubt I’ll sleep much on Thursday night. Might investigate key results, specially for potential ‘Portillo moments’.

    I’ve already voted, but the incumbent MP will likely remain*. The UKIP vote might entertain.

    (* not the worst expenses record, to be fair. But an arrogant prick)

    Liked by 1 person

  76. Spawny Get says:

    “business of adjusting results by reference to who they voted for last election”

    really does down UKIP because UKIP was very fringe, it got 3% last General Election (2010). (cf 35% in the euros last year).

    the other main trick is to prompt, “are you intending to vote Lib, Lab, Con…?” and not prompt explicitly for UKIP. Some pollsters pull this one, not all.

    Liked by 1 person

  77. Spawny Get says:

    Fuzzie, did you watch the video last night (patriarch time)? it’s relevant

    Like

  78. Cill says:

    To be fair, when it could be months of jockeying and horse trading before you know what govt you’ve got, I shouldn’t expect much clarity from the media. Hence all the second-guessing with the polls, I suppose.

    Like

  79. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Spawny Get,
    Are you referring to the one by Barbarossa? I did see that. He does get long winded and my mind wanders. Should I see it again.
    Sandman may be correct. He limits his videos to about ten minutes.

    Liked by 1 person

  80. Spawny Get says:

    I hope it’ll be faster than that. We should know pretty soon IF Cammyknickers can get the numbers (he gets first stab). If he can’t then Ed and Sturgeon will likely succeed in getting the numbers, but I’ll tell you now, that’ll go down like a pint of cold sick in England. (Which suits the SNP just fine, quicker devolution likely). How long that stumbles on before a second election is forced? who knows? But we the electorate will likely be vengeful on labour when the vote happens again. Ed as a minister was said to drive his aides to distraction due to an inability to make a decision. Inevitably when he did, he fcuked it up.

    Like

  81. Spawny Get says:

    iirc if you make the middle, you’ll know why I was pissed

    Liked by 1 person

  82. Spawny Get says:

    you can try skipping to 3:40 if you must, then keep listening

    Like

  83. Spawny Get says:

    no, it’s not the porn…

    Like

  84. SFC Ton says:

    I am fair certain the term heathen and pagan are interchangeable denoting some who is a polytheism and outside the the larger world religions ie Christian, jewish etc

    No Pagans I know consider themselves aligned with wiccans. Most cannot stand wicca

    Like

  85. Spawny Get says:

    If you’ve read the Starchild trilogy and its ‘Plan of man’ computer…it’s coming soon to a dystopian future near you. Prolly minus the collars, but with added drones…and ever evolving computerised psych models of humans. Leading to ‘Minority Report’ type Ministry of Justice behaviour…for our goods, clearly.

    book one -> https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1476166.The_Reefs_of_Space

    Some details will be VERY quaint. Boys as singing inputs into the computer system (human modulators producing what you’d likely see as modem like outputs). But the Orwellian control concepts…oh yeah, baby!

    If you buy the three in one book of the trilogy…take care that the books within are not in reverse order. ISYN. My copy had the books ordered 3 2 1.

    Like

  86. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Spawny Get,
    I should have commented on that yesterday. Having watched it again, yes, it is scary. Government doesn’t want you to have privacy and if you hold an opinion that is unconventional, they want you exposed.
    It is interesting about conventional opinions on porn. There all against it but, all the data shows social benefit. That women would see it as a sexual competitor is enough.

    Liked by 2 people

  87. Spawny Get says:

    Can we not do the religion thing again?

    Watch the video from 3:40, we have bigger issues coming down the pike

    Liked by 1 person

  88. Yoda says:

    Hungry? Well, let’s do something about that.

    On planet Vegas I was.
    Pig out on buffets I did.
    Now back to normal diet I must go.

    Liked by 3 people

  89. Spawny Get says:

    Sounds like the Oort cloud to me…but with magical Space-Unicorns called ‘Spacelings’ iirc (read the books 25 years ago, at least) Frederik Pohl and Jack Williamson had a source of the good shit – allegedly. P’raps acid too.

    Far beyond the orbit of Pluto, half-mythical bodies circle the Solar System–the Reefs of Space, unknown, shrouded in mystery, the goal of human conquest, the obsession of the Plan of Man, tyrannical ruler of Earth. The Reefs of Space brings humanity to the brink of the stars. Steve Ryeland, enslaved by Earth’s tyrannical Plan of Man computer, is given the world’s most important job—to develop a “jetless drive,” an extraordinary new space propulsion mechanism.

    Yet the most important thing on Steve’s mind was not his work, but the iron collar locked securely around his neck. Filled with a lethal charge of explosives, it could be detonated any time the Plan of Man considered him too much of a risk.

    That’s why he had to obey every order, and succeed at his experiments. Only then, perhaps, could he use the jetless drive himself… and escape to the safety of the half-mythical Reefs of Space, strange formations rumored to exist somewhere beyond the orbit of Pluto. But if he failed, the next step would be the Living Body Bank—a scientific horror chamber from which no one ever returned.

    (1st published in World of IF Science Fiction magazine, 1963)

    Like

  90. Yoda says:

    “Anybody ever eat Soylent Green?”

    Despite the name, made not from people like me it is.

    Soylent Verde that would be.

    Liked by 3 people

  91. Spawny Get says:

    No horn! Three horns? Perhaps a touch of Wyvern?

    Probably a job for Tarn and her nerdy D&D knowledge…mine dates back a turble, turble long time

    Liked by 1 person

  92. Spawny Get says:

    Pretty sure it was acid and the good shit.

    Liked by 1 person

  93. Tarnished says:

    Scfton,

    *shrug* That’s up to them. Doesn’t ruffle my feathers any to know some other random Pagan doesn’t care for my spiritual path. To each their own…

    Spawny,
    Your video at 9:40 is frickin disturbing in it’s implications.

    Liked by 1 person

  94. Spawny Get says:

    BTW regarding religion. I watched the flustercuck of an interview of Vox by Pakman. It seems Vox sees those not doing the religion thing as having a sort of autism. We lack an ability to feel teh religious spirit all about us. Fair enough. Doesn’t fuss me that he has that view. Religion has been very helpful in guiding the masses towards civilisation. Some of us just wonder which side has the mental defect, that’s all I’d say. I wonder how many of us just rolled our eyes internally and played along through the ages?

    Got to say that I rate Pakky’s interview technique as disingenuous to a level to rival KGM (recently had Robert Downey Jr walk out of an interview). In all its fulsome browness:

    and the Krishnan sleaze attempt (‘Slime on’ at 3:55)

    Liked by 1 person

  95. Spawny Get says:

    “Your video at 9:40 is frickin disturbing in it’s implications.”
    That’s why I was pissed last night. OR, in English, I was pissed orf last night.

    Liked by 2 people

  96. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Spawny Get,
    1963 was only ten years after the death of Josef Stalin. If he and Lavrenti Beria had that kind of technology, they would be dancing with joy!

    About 1953, the new President, Dwight D. Eisenhower, wanted to know what would happen in Rusisia in the wake of the dictator’s death. He lit a fire under tha intelligence services backsides. Only one problem, nobody in the USSR had any idea either.

    It could come to pass that government will be so oewhelmed with data that they won’t be able to do anything with it.

    Like

  97. SFC Ton says:

    I have never understood Vox’s popularity.

    Like

  98. Spawny Get says:

    “It could come to pass that government will be so oewhelmed with data that they won’t be able to do anything with it.”

    Not with computers. It’s just a matter of time, waiting for speed to rise, cost to lower, some psycholologist.hacking together a computer model together. Saw some video of a four legged walking robot recently (so a land based drone, in effect) it was shown being kicked and shoved by humans, but keeping its footing.

    Real life Ed-209 in the making

    See 0:20

    Liked by 1 person

  99. poseidon740 says:

    I encourage y’all to differentiate between religion and God.

    Liked by 4 people

  100. Spawny Get says:

    Farage is expected to win in South Thanet (last I saw)
    http://conservativewoman.co.uk/william-walter-a-farage-victory-in-thanet-spells-disaster-for-the-cameroons/

    And so it is that we find ourselves in South Thanet. For all the Ukip bluster, you can forget Clacton, or Rochester; there’s only one Ukip battleground that really matters at this election.

    The outcome has profound implications for the future path of the Conservative Party (and, for that matter, Labour). A Farage victory in Thanet spells disaster for the Cameroon agenda. The Tory leader – or more likely his successor – will have little choice but to shift to the Right; to take a tough line on immigration, Europe, foreign aid and defence. Forced to reconnect with the Tory base, hoody hugging and husky selfies will be out, replaced instead by a return to a more traditional Conservative agenda.

    [snip]

    A Farage win, however, combined with a Labour, Lib-Dem wipe-out in Scotland at the hands of the socialist Scottish nationalists will likely see a redrawing of the political divide not witnessed since the heady days of the early eighties when the SDP broke away from an increasingly extremist Labour Party. A Tory shift to the Right to counter Ukip, matched by an already left-of-centre Labour Party pulled even further left by a necessity to appease their backroom SNP bedfellows, could see British politics go back to the future.

    Centrism will be out; a real choice will be in. Politics might just get interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  101. Spawny Get says:

    “I have never understood Vox’s popularity.”

    I read there quite regularly, I seldom feel moved to comment. He talks a great deal of sense when he talks of fighting SJWs. Never apologise, never back down, they always, always lie.

    Liked by 1 person

  102. Spawny Get says:

    “I encourage y’all to differentiate between religion and God.”

    I just, flat don’t feel the god thing. Vox might be right that it’s a brain blip (then you can argue who’s brian damaged – fruitlessly. I don’t feel it. You do (I guess). For both of us it’s the end of story)

    Religion clearly has pros and cons. Looking at where we are, I’d probably give Christianity the over all nod as a social movement. Again, there won’t be an argument because where I live and when I live, religion makes no difference in my day to day life. I understand very well that things are different in the USA. Maybe the brain blip is part genetic? And we exported the religious ones some centuries ago? An interesting question for the brain scanners and geneticists to work out. In the meantime, to quote a famous philosopher, here’s the full thesis in all its glory

    Liked by 2 people

  103. Cill says:

    Spawny re spiritual gene “I wonder how many of us just rolled our eyes internally and played along through the ages?”

    Recent archaeology uncovered a sealed-off area in an ancient Egyptian tomb. The workers had drawn pictures of the Pharaoh on the walls. The only god-like aspect of their depiction of the God King was the monumental size of his dick. He was using it in a most ungodly manner, dogging maidens and even stoking the arse of his horse as it pulled him along in his chariot. Not much reverence or fear of the hereafter in evidence there.

    Liked by 3 people

  104. SFC Ton says:

    That bit is just about the only thing he has said worth a damn. I could say more, but there is no point to it

    Liked by 1 person

  105. Tarnished says:

    The view you mention above is typical of many Americans, Spawny. If you don’t have a religion, don’t believe in any God(s), or even just believe in the wrong one…There’s always the possibility you’ll be looked down on or assumed to be less morally inclined. It is what it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  106. Tarnished says:

    NACALT
    Not All Christians…just some. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  107. Cill says:

    “And we exported the religious ones some centuries ago?”
    Not to Down Under. Down Under is every bit as secular as Britain. The church congregations are overwhelmingly female and aging. Religion is all but irrelevant to the men.

    Liked by 1 person

  108. blurkel says:

    God told me to avoid religion. It is the refuge of knaves and losers who can’t make it in life without scamming people. Look at that guy who wants his “flock” to come up with $63 million for a private jet for him to run about the country, for example.

    Now I happen to like some of the things Pope frank has been coming up with lately. Unfortunately, he let’s his 4th Century religion get in the way of making truly rational observations on many things that need observing.

    Like

  109. Spawny Get says:

    Cill, that sounds very familiar.

    Liked by 1 person

  110. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    God to Moses: “I am that I am.”
    Rene Descartes: “I think, therefore I am.”
    Popeye:”I yam what I yam and, that’ all that I yam.”

    Liked by 5 people

  111. Cill says:

    Good one Fuzzo

    Like

  112. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Cill,
    One of the tings that I found out about ancient Egyptian religion is that the firsy god created all existence when he mastubated. To them, creation resides in the male genetalia.
    That attitude would be diametrically opposed to what modern feminsts would prefer to believe.

    Liked by 1 person

  113. Cill says:

    Fuzzy “That attitude would be diametrically opposed to what modern feminsts would prefer to believe.”

    Yeah, X is human and Y is subhuman. Woman prefer each other, if men would only leave them alone. The only hope for men is to be gay, a sort of an honorary woman. Thus hath the fembots decreed.

    Liked by 1 person

  114. Tarnished says:

    A decent number of ancient civilizations believed similarly, Fuzzie. They didn’t know about the whole “female humans have eggs” half of reproduction, and thought that wombs were analogous to soil whereas sperm was a seed. We’ve come a long way since then, lol.

    Blurkel,

    Like

  115. Tarnished says:

    Cill,

    Maureen Dowd thinks that, at least. I recall her book “Are Men Necessary?” that had an entire chapter devoted to the “fact” the Y chromosome is disappearing. Which…if you actually look at what current science says…is not. It may undergo some more minor shrinkage, but it is not facing extinction and is still just as important as the corresponding X chromosome.

    http://www.techtimes.com/articles/6004/20140423/y-chromosome-disappearing-heres-why.htm

    Liked by 1 person

  116. Tarnished says:

    Spawny’s Ghost,

    …the hell? 😕

    Liked by 1 person

  117. Spawny has climbed the wooden hill to bed town. He’s likely to disappear and reappear at will. Ghost == kindle, basically.

    Liked by 2 people

  118. Tarnished says:

    Oh, I figured as much.

    My comment was re: the post you linked to. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  119. Padawan says:

    .
    Fembots Decree Gayness (by Padawan, Blog Laureate 2014 – ?)

    Fembots say the world is gay
    E’en among hippopotamus
    Lesbians point to the dinosaurs’ day
    When lived the Lickalottapus

    By Egypt’s time the dikes refined
    The joining technique they used
    They stole it from men and forced it to rhyme
    By calling it Tongue in Groove

    Liked by 3 people

  120. Did feminists chase Joss Whedon off of Twitter?
    http://m.washingtonexaminer.com/did-feminists-chase-joss-whedon-off-twitter/article/2564009

    *Spoile…YES…r alert*

    Damn! I went off prematurely.

    Whedo just discovered that decades of indentured service to femeroids means Jane Schitt as soon as you deviate from the herd narrative. He apologised and shut his account. Then some aGGros had the cheek to try and blame the GGaters. But then, they always lie. Or they’re differently realitied. Or cracked.

    Like

  121. Lickalottapus got you the like.

    Like

  122. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Cill,
    “Yeah, X is human and Y is subhuman. Woman prefer each other, if men would only leave them alone. The only hope for men is to be gay, a sort of an honorary woman. Thus hath the fembots decreed”
    If it all boils down to this, one4 does have to wonder how self respecting women ever bought into this “ideology”?
    This is warped.

    Tarn,
    Thanks for the ancient insight.

    Spawny Bet,
    The world will be so happy once elections take place, there will be a big parade in Moscow on the 9th.

    Like

  123. Cill says:

    .
    [WRITERS CORNER]

    Like

  124. Fuzzie:”About incels, they are suffering and it’s not just sex. They’re touch deprived and unloved…
    I have to wonder what will happen when these hypergamic hussies end up sidelining eighty percent of the men and it’s undeniable. That would constitute a social problem. A big social problem.”

    Recently I seem to read about more online love scams, ppl sending lots of money to people they fall for who they have never even met. It seems to happen primarily in the western countries–esp US, UK and Australia. There are more women than men falling victim to these, but there are also men who’ve gone broke this way. I know they’ve been very foolish (and there are some very evil unempathetic people taking advantage of this), but I think it’s also an indication that the romance market in the west is getting screwed up and it’s harder and harder for people to find loving relationships.

    Liked by 2 people

  125. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Alana,
    What you described sounds like internet dating scams that are purported to come out of Nigeria. I know someone who did get sucked into one of these. The giveaway, to me, was that the language was vey florid, flattering, and dripping with protestations of ardor.
    In short, too good to be true.
    It wouldn’t surprise me that things like this have been going on throughout recorded history.
    The gal that fell for this was not lacking for male attention.
    Bear scratches head.

    Like

  126. Farm Boy says:

    New post is up

    Like

  127. “The gal that fell for this was not lacking for male attention. Bear scratches head.” That is indeed odd, Fuzzie, but that’s not the typical victim of these scams, nor are they the ones losing six-figure sums to the scammers. Those are generally middle-aged or older, and lonely and vulnerable. Pretty sad, although the victims are also too naive.

    Yeah the scam rings are often from Africa, but some also operate from Asia (like Malaysia) and even from England.

    Like

  128. “The giveaway, to me, was that the language was vey florid, flattering, and dripping with protestations of ardor.
    In short, too good to be true.”

    Yup that kinda language is typical of scams. That’s another reason why the victims tend to be older–it’s not just that they tend to be lonelier, also they’re less knowledgeable and educated about these tricks, and so fall for them more easily.

    It’s harder for us to understand nowadays because we know so much about these tricksters, but say 5 years ago, many people had not heard much about the internet love scams. People defrauding their lovers out of money may have gone on for a long long time, but doing it thru the internet is relatively new because widespread internet usage is relatively new.

    Liked by 1 person

  129. SFC Ton says:

    Incel; I divorced over lack of sex (this is before I found out about her infidelity) so I very much understand how that fucks with a man at every level. Particularly if he is otherwise on track; height/ weight proportional, decent job for his age, decent set of social skills etc etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  130. Spawny Get says:


    New post is up

    Liked by 1 person

  131. Spawny Get says:

    NONCE being the label given to prisoners convicted of child killing, granny rape etc. Those at risk from the normal crim class, so they don’t mix.

    Not On Normal Courtyard Exercise

    Like

  132. Sumo says:

    You the fucking man Sumo and always have a place at Camp Ton

    Brother, I do not possess the eloquence to describe how much that means to me. It would be an honor to cook for your, halfton, the MD, and the Girls. Plus, I’m damn fair certain I would learn more than a few things about Southern cuisine.

    Seriously, biscuits & gravy. The Mighty Sumo loves that shit. Hook a brother up.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

