Updates from Cill – Kiwi / New Zealand news


I’ve had a couple of emails from Cill in New Zealand about the crazy weather. He made this request “”Comment” this for me mate in case Kiwis are watching. I get this info before anyone else. (From radio contacts around the coast)” I don;t know how many reading this blog are affected but I’m happy to help pass the word.

Spawny, 9 meter seas, Pam 150 km off East Cape. Official Warning: Expect 160 km winds or more, damage to trees, roofs, 120-200mm rain
Air NZ international flights delayed

Army despatched to E Cape to cope with emergrencies

Civil Defence advice:Aucklanders, people at Whangaparaoa to “work from home” today.

Stay off roads – winds, debris

Reports from my family and friends:

“Waterfall” on Northern Motorway near Albany

Some surface flooding auckland

From me:

In NZ, weather always settles down between 1 a.m. and 3 a.m. Always happens. False sense of security. Now after 3 p.m. storm in east N Island starting to ratchet it up.

IMHO Worst is still to come

“Comment” this for me mate in case Kiwis are watching. I get this info before anyone else. (From radio contacts around the coast)

More to come.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Cill, Cyclone Pam, New Zealand
82 comments on “Updates from Cill – Kiwi / New Zealand news
  1. Cill says:

    You there mate? I don’t kniow what’s getting through and what isn’t.

    I’ve been out working on my internet cable. Connection with SpawnySpace is too intermittent for me, can’t rely on it. Here’s hoping email will get thru.

    An expert describes Pam as a normal colder centered cyclone. The center of Pam has a tendency to wobble around 100 km in any direction. The center has changed. It could even reform near Coromandel.

    In my undisclosed home E N Island, rain is bucketing down. There have been brief explosive gusts damaging my communication equipment but nothing else so far. Molly sleeps the sleep of the innocent while the rest of us can’t sleep.

    Met Services predicts midday Monday peak.Tolega Bay is the most vulnerable area. Tolega Locals report “howling wind”. Hauraki Plains local reports trees “bending in half”.

    I’ll email these to you and try to copy them to blog during intermittent connections.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Liz says:

    Whoa, Cill…hold on tight!

    Glad to hear you and yours are still doing okay, by the sounds of things….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cill says:

    Residents Tolega Bay being evacuated.

    Remuera, Riverhead, Kumeu are without electricty.

    At 5 a.m. in my erstwhile paradise, in the early light I see first signs of damage in the forest out back, and hear snapping and cracking in the trees.

    Southerly winds are the “best” direction for me. Gusts are hitting the hills to the south and bouncing like invisible howling balls over our heads. Eerie is the word. The experts keep telling me to expect extreme gales and damage right where I am here. As long as the wind stays southerly I’ll be okay. Trouble is the damn center of Pam keeps changing. If it turns to NNW I’m in big trouble.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Spawny Get says:

    Cill – you are now the author of this post – you can change the body as you wish. Should have thought of it earlier.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. How much longer is the storm expected to last Cill? Is it just arriving or mid way?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Cill says:

    The center of Cyclone Pam is now moving quickly, which is good. It’s bad when a cyclone slows down.

    Pam downgraded from Category 5 to 3 (same level as the one that damaged England that Spawny mentioned)

    There was dim daylight around 5:00 a.m. and now it’s as dark as ink.
    Up to 80-100mm rain now forecast for Gisborne.
    145 kph winds recorded at Great Barrier Island
    150 kph (95 mph) Coromandel

    I’m recording gusts 170 kph here at my place.

    I’m banging this info in as fast as I can, expecting to lose communication any time.

    Midday today Pam will reach 150 km off East Cape, as close as it’s going to get.

    Liz, it’s great to hear from you.

    Yeah it’s winding up out there. Next report

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Cill says:

    Thnks Spawny

    Bloom, cyclones are predictable in their unpredictability. The experts keep postponing the height of the storm. They now predict a peak at midday or mid afternoon NZ time.

    People in trouble should contact Civil Defense or local District Council.

    160 kph winds strong enough to flip cars, so people are advised not to drive.

    Power blackout in Silverdale now.

    House here starting to get clobbered by debris now. Thank god for my reinforced glass.

    Like

  8. Cill says:

    In Gisborne ships have been moved out of port and boats out of marinas for safety.

    Warning State Highway 35 might be inundated.

    Pam has changed yet again, from Normal Colder Centered Cyclone to Intense Extra Tropical Cyclone.

    Gale warning in force for Waitemata Harbor (Auckland)

    Like

  9. Sumo says:

    Cill, I wish I could think of something appropriately smartassy to say, but I’m dealing with a rum-inspired hangover.

    That shot I dedicated to your parents turned in to 7 or 8. Thank a lot, Cill’s mom & dad. 😉

    Do your best to keep us updated. I’m holding on to good thoughts for you.

    (I’d offer to pray for you, but I’m afraid that if I did, God would lay the smackdown on you just to spite me)

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Cill says:

    Sumo great to hear from you. No praying, mate. Don’t do anything to make God go badass on me, not today.

    My dad Roy wants to put in a word here

    “That shot I dedicated to your parents turned in to 7 or 8. Thank a lot, Cill’s mom & dad.”
    Glad to oblige there, Sumo. I’d ask you to swig back another couple of shots for us, except I don’t want to get you fired. Have a good day, Sumo.

    Roy (Cill’s dad)
    and Biff (his mum)

    P.S. from Biff: we had a very civilized dry night here 😐

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Cill says:

    Gale warning Hauraki Gulf to Cape Colville.

    Like

  12. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Cill,
    Hoping you all come out of this all right.
    What an experience.
    You might include the local time when you post. It’ll help.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Spawny Get says:

    He’s Patriarch + 13hrs. Add one to the hour and flip day/night

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Spawny Get says:

    So it’s pushing 7am Monday morning out there / down there

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Spawny Get says:

    “P.S. from Biff: we had a very civilized dry night here :|”
    Very sorry to hear that news, Biff

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Sumo says:

    Hi Roy & Biff. It’s Sunday here in Canada, and my day off, so I’ll have a couple of shots for you two later this evening.

    Hopefully as a celebratory event after the storm passes you folks.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Cill says:

    Of course the first thing mum does is click on every “Like”. I wouldn’t have clicked on all of them e.g. I’d never “Like” Sumo in case the great jehovah goes badass on me. 😉

    Liked by 4 people

  18. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Cill’s Mom,
    Thank you. I like being “liked”.

    Liked by 3 people

  19. Farm Boy says:

    I like being “liked”.

    But you are always “liked”. We love our resident bear

    Liked by 3 people

  20. Farm Boy says:

    I wonder how Moe is doing…

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Cill says:

    8:12 a.m. here. Huge seas. If southerly wind direction holds we won’t have to worry about tidal surge. House got hit by debris but damage is superficial. Forest is damaged, broken trees, not as pretty as it was yesterday. I’m staying close to communications.

    Dad and Molly went up into forest and report Livestock okay. No losses. With all the talk yesterday of 330 kph winds at Vanuatu, I’d braced myself for more damage than we’ve had.

    We’re not out of the woods yet, but the outlook is better than it was yesterday.

    Liked by 2 people

  22. Spawny Get says:

    As long as it looks better than you do… 😉

    I’ll wait till you are out of the woods before tempting fate

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Cill says:

    8:35 a.m. It’s still serious enough for all Gisborne schools to be closed and Tolega Bay to remain evacuated. Civil Defense warns of dangers of tidal surge until this evening.

    At my place:
    To endanger the livestock there’d need to be 300+ kph winds from NNW. The wind won’t reach 300+ now. I asked Dad and Molly to bring the livestock down. Needless to say, Molly wants to go wind surfing.

    I’ll let you know when you can swill back those shots, bro Sumo.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    “Molly wants to go wind surfing.”

    All the way from Indiana, can you hear me?
    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
    Molly, we like you!

    Liked by 2 people

  25. Spawny Get says:

    You said she was smart! That IQ score…I demand a recount.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Sumo says:

    Honestly, if I had the faintest idea on how to wind surf, I’d probably be right there with her. Someone has to show that bitch Mother Nature who the muthaf**kin’ boss is.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Cill says:

    9:33 a.m.

    Spawny and co, I’ll try and give you a picture of my current situation regarding the cyclone.

    If you get out an atlas and draw a line between Gisborne and Great Barrier Island on the East coast of NZ’s North Island, my place is somewhere not far from that line. Then look at Cyclone Pam swirling on http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11417853 and you’ll see I’m on the edge of it. Pam is not yet as close to NZ’s East Cape as it will be by midday. Meanwhile Pam has slowed down, which is bad. Pam is now undergoing transition to Ex-Tropical Cyclone.

    Civil Defense has advised all small coastal communities north of Gisborne to evacuate.

    To give you an idea of the precautions being taken:
    Hawkes Bay vineyards have been harvested throughout the night – earlier than they would have been. I haven’t had time to think about what this might do to wine prices down the track, Spawny, but HB is a big wine-producing region.

    So, while I give responsible citizens such as Spawny and Sumo full permission to knock back a couple of shots, I’m going to remain dry and vigilant. When it’s over I’ll surely let you know and knock back a couple here. Molly sure as hell deserves some sort of reward, for all the work she’s done here over the last 2 to 3 days.

    Liked by 2 people

  28. Sumo says:

    It’s only 1530 hrs here, so the shots will be held off for another 4 or 5 hours. I’ll let you know when I’m about to raise a glass to you and your family’s victory over the elements.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Here 100 miles inland on the west coast of America, lots of pretty big wind gusts. I wonder if it’s related? My patio umbrella went flying, not a cyclone by any means but anything tent like that is not anchored down is suspect.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Lon Spector says:

    Fear not! Jesus Christ and God The Father, will NOT allow harm to come to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Cill says:

    Mum “Liked” FB at 15 March, 2015 at 7:11 pm, even though she has no idea who Moe is! XD
    Hahahahahaha!
    I dunno… it tickles my fancy for some reason.

    Do you still want to know, FB? I’ll inquire of Moe if you want me to.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Cill says:

    12:00 midday
    9 meter swells rolling past my front yard. It’s an awesome sight.

    There’s not much beauty left out there. The sky and sea are an ugly nondescript color. The beach looks like all the dead wood in NZ has washed up on it. A Pohutakawa has been ripped off the cliff.

    Looking inland, the forest is a mess. My vege garden has been flattened. Most of the orchard looks okay. My house and outbuildings all okay. My solar panels and wind turbines okay. Talking about the turbines , I wonder how much electricity I sold to the national grid last night? (There’s silver lining to every cloud)

    My throat is burning for a tipple. Let me know when you’re taking your shots, Sumo, so I can take them vicariously at the same time. What about you, Spawny, do you call it a tipple or a noggin?

    Like

  33. Spawny Get says:

    Stellar Tortoise with the Grand Prix, Cotes du Rhone this evening.

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Yoda says:

    Kinship for Moe feel I do.
    Odd man out he and I both are.

    Padawan safe he is?
    Perhaps poetry he should write.

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Poseidon says:

    Perhaps we outta deploy Al Gore on the Northeastern New Zealand beach as he is so adept with environmental issues.

    Liked by 1 person

  36. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Cill,
    As for Hawkes Bay harvesting their wine grapes early, it will result in a poorer quality end product. Less sugar and less flavor.
    I hope that Bloom reads this and can confirm.
    However, poor product is better than no product.

    Liked by 3 people

  37. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Having seen some of the pictures, wood chippers are going to be going 24/7 for quite a while.
    Tree trimmers are going to have work up the wazoo.

    Liked by 1 person

  38. Yoda says:

    A new post there would be.

    Liked by 2 people

  39. Cill says:

    Huge swells video link.
    Video taken at Mt Maunganui, Tauranga, Bay Of Plenty, close to the line on the map I explained earlier:

    http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/67412516/cyclone-pam-brings-huge-swell-to-mt-maunganui

    Note: you can’t tell the size of the waves from pictures unfortunately. IRL they’re a whole lot bigger than they look here. Mt Maunganui is an internationally renowned surfing beach.

    Liked by 1 person

  40. Cill says:

    There’s a video of big waves at http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11417853 too, about 1/4/ way down.

    Liked by 1 person

  41. Yoda says:

    Size matters not.
    Except when it does.

    Liked by 2 people

  42. Sumo says:

    Thanks for the video link, brother, but what language were they speaking? I couldn’t understand a bloody word of it.

    😀

    Liked by 2 people

  43. Cill says:

    Cill is out with his beloved livestock, but before he left we had a family chat and agreed to declare the crisis over. Wind and waves are still extreme, but according to reports we’re over the worst. So, blame me if you have a couple of celebratory shots too many tonight, boys!

    Roy

    Horay! 🙂

    Who *is* Moe, and why the air of mystery?

    Biff

    Liked by 1 person

  44. Cill says:

    Sumo, you heard the broad Kiwi pronunciation. It doesn’t come much broader than that.

    Roy

    Like

  45. Spawny Get says:

    Yiss, I agree Cill. Sumo best put the subtitles on when he watches HouseBound on US nitflix

    Like

  46. Spawny Get says:

    Biff, the answer is closer than you might think. 😉

    Glad to hear the good news.

    Annnnd it’s good night from me…

    Like

  47. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Sumo,
    At my favorite Mexican restaurant, the staff in the kitchen were all Mexican and spoke Spanish as their primary language. For a while, they employed Brazilians as servers. They couldn’t talk to each other without resorting to English. You would think that there would be enough commonality between Spanish and Portuguese as they are both derived from Latin and the two countries are adjacent.

    Like

  48. @ fuzzie my college roomie was Brazilian and apparently not… She had to take Spanish classes. There is some crossover but not much. I can’t say linguistically why…

    Glad to hear Cill that you survived the storm. Hope all the livestock are safe. Winds here are gone also, sunny blue skies now after a blustery grey day. Funny how we are all connected, eh?

    Liked by 1 person

  49. Sumo says:

    Ok, I was just being a smartass. I live in Canada, friends – if you’ve ever encountered a resident of Newfoundland, you’d understand that we are more than familiar with weird and unintelligible accents. As such, it’s no difficulty at all to understand Kiwis and Aussies.

    Fuzzie, Spanish & Portugese are quite different languages. While knowing one makes it easier to learn the other (much like the majority of the “Romance” languages – Italian, French, etc.). Like English & German – same root, but different enough to not be understandable to the other.

    Liked by 1 person

  50. Sumo says:

    Holy crap, I worded that badly.

    Liked by 1 person

  51. Cill says:

    Where’s Tarn?

    Goodnight Spawny me old garden gate.

    I’ll still be watchful for an hour or two yet, but I confirm Crisis Over. We got by with no damage to speak of.

    Damn it, I’m going to take a slug of my 12 Y.O. Glenlivit with my old man.

    Liked by 2 people

  52. Cill says:

    “Holy crap, I worded that badly.”
    It’s the Newfoundland accent bro.
    You’re from Newfoundland? No wonder you’re such a bloody good bloke badass 😉

    Like

  53. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Cill,
    At first, I thought the Mormon Tabernacle Chior singing hallelujah would go over well but, this is more personal. Please share with your family.

    Liked by 1 person

  54. Sumo says:

    No, I’m not a Newfie. Met plenty of them over the years, though. The funny thing is, they start to sound normal after they’ve been drinking a lot. 😀

    Sumo be Albertan.

    Liked by 1 person

  55. Cill says:

    Bloom we’re safe and livestock all sound and well.

    Interesting about your winds. Yes, we are connected:

    http://www.climatecentral.org/news/twin-cyclones-could-jolt-weak-el-nino-18775

    “Together, the cyclones* and El Niño illustrate the interplay between short-term weather and longer-term climate cycles, in this case potentially reinforcing each other. It is unclear, though, whether the cyclones caused a westerly wind burst ramping up the El Niño, or if it was the El Niño pattern that spawned the cyclones.

    El Niño is a climate condition marked by unusually warm ocean waters in parts of the tropical Pacific, but it has impacts on weather all over the globe. ”

    [* The “Twin Cyclones” Pam and Tropical Depression 3, or Bavi north of Australia]

    Liked by 1 person

  56. Cill says:

    Has anyone heard from Tarn?

    Like

  57. Cill says:

    There are new gale warnings for the Hauraki Gulf (the sea between Great Barrier Island and the mainland and south to Auckland) but we’re relaxed. The sun is blazing, the sea and sky look clean and blue once more, the waves are sparkling, and Molly is literally flying on her wind surf board.

    Don’t worry Fuzzy, waves are down to 5 metres which is still big (about 16 feet) but dad’s an ex life guard and he’s down there with an inflatable boat on the beach – same boats as surf beach life guards use. I’ve instructed him to bring her in and tell her it’s time for her afternoon email to Fuzzy. She won’t argue with that.

    Like

  58. Sumo says:

    Hope you and Roy enjoyed that Glenlivet, Cill. In about 10 minutes, this will be the $64000 question:

    Liked by 3 people

  59. Cill says:

    Brother, it was the most satisfying shot (or three) I’ve ever had.

    Liked by 3 people

  60. All is well that ends well! Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  61. Cill says:

    Bottoms up!

    Like

  62. Sumo says:

    That sounds like my last date.

    Liked by 1 person

  63. Cill says:

    My mum is still “Liking” everything in sight. I wonder if she reads them all first?

    Liked by 2 people

  64. Cill says:

    I certainly do, Cill. Mums are allowed to have a sense of humor too, you know 😉
    Biff (Cill’s mum)

    Liked by 1 person

  65. Liz says:

    Molly was windboarding? LOL! That is badass! 🙂

    Sounds like she’d ready for kiteboarding.

    Like

  66. Spawny Get says:

    Maybe it’s just me, but I’m thinking about debris washed out to sea and how much it’d suck to run into it and land on a tree with stumpy remains of branches. Or, given Liz’ helpful suggestion, just flat out land on one.

    Is this an age thing?

    Like

  67. Liz says:

    I think about falling an busting a hip. But Molly’s so young she’s made of cartillage.
    She’ll just bounce. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  68. SFC Ton says:

    I stopped eating Mexican food when I found out it was made out of Mexicans.

    Liked by 3 people

  69. alana says:

    Glad that u’re safe and well, Cill and family. 🙂

    Damn this discussion on cyclones etc brought back horrible memories of geography class and the exams. That was a subject I perpetually flunked, even when I practically swallowed the textbook :p

    Like

  70. I noticed The gusts here took down several trees along the route I take the kids to school. One really big for tree barely missed a house, it looked like the tip took out the gutter but the house itself not damaged, lucky! There is a surprisingly shallow root ball on those big trees! Scary.

    Like

  71. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Spawny Get,
    I was a great idea to put this discussion on its own thread. This way, we could all send Cill and his family moral support.

    Liked by 2 people

  72. Spawny Get says:

    “I[t] was a great idea to put this discussion on its own thread”

    It happens, but I try not to make a habit of it…succesfully, usually

    Like

  73. Yoda says:

    I stopped eating Mexican food when I found out it was made out of Mexicans.

    Boycott baby food and baby oil one should.

    Liked by 3 people

  74. Cill says:

    “I[t] was a great idea to put this discussion on its own thread”

    Yes. It gave my people something to do. It was good for them to know people on the other side of the ocean were thinking of us, and being able to “chat” in real time across all that distance. In Spawny’s case it’s the other side of the world. Geographically, he and I are as far apart as it’s possible to be on this planet. The ocean is vast, the world is vaster.

    On the other hand an “Act of God” such as a cyclone can make the world seem small, and it starts a man thinking. A post might be the best way to show my gratitude.

    Liked by 2 people

  75. Spawny Get says:

    No gratitude required towards me. You just got the response from all here that you earned over the months of you and Molly being here adding to the atmosphere / community.

    Last I heard it would have all ramped down by now, though I suppose you still have big seas if you face the wrong direction(?)

    Liked by 1 person

  76. Cill says:

    Yesterday evening the seas became truly massive again. My attempt at capturing it on video was tame without a perspective on size, and I can’t show topography without giving away my whereabouts to sharp-eyed Kiwis out there. There was another phenomenon, whereby the shape of the rocks forced the closest end of a wave into a plume that looked as narrow as a circular saw blade. It traveled slowly along the submerged reef, with the setting sun behind it, a brilliant silver shower of spume, like a circular blade.

    The forest is a mess. I’m tempted to go in and tidy it up but it’s best to let nature take its course.

    No damage to man or beast – or woman. Property got superficial damage only.

    Liked by 2 people

  77. Cill says:

    “The forest is a mess” – I should explain, it’s not a disaster. It just looks ugly, with snapped and fractured branches.

    Liked by 1 person

  78. Liz says:

    Really, really glad you and the family (and livestock) made it through okay, Cill!
    Wow, what an experience. I hope this type of thing doesn’t happen too often over there? (huge knock on wood)

    Liked by 1 person

  79. Cill says:

    Liz, The last big one was Cyclone Bola 27 years ago. I was only 3 but I remember it well. Dada showed me tracts of forest in the South Waikato. It looked as if a giant lawnmower had mown through the forest as if the trees were grass, leaving perfectly straight, undamaged edges. In other words, everything was unscathed except those perfectly mowed strips.

    In between the cyclones we do get our fair share of natural disasters but I think I’d be right in saying it’s no more than that – a fair share.

    Like

Comments are closed.

