An Unintended Social Experiment


Do girls have a natural affinity to dolls and boys to toy trucks (or lorries)?  Or are any such affinities that appear due to socialization?  The popular view (at least in feminist circles) is that women are “men who can have babies”.  And naturally enough this view extends down to children.

Let us consider some of what Lawrence Summers said in his speech, the one that placed him in hot water.

There may also be elements, by the way, of differing, there is some, particularly in some attributes, that bear on engineering, there is reasonably strong evidence of taste differences between little girls and little boys that are not easy to attribute to socialization. I just returned from Israel, where we had the opportunity to visit a kibbutz, and to spend some time talking about the history of the kibbutz movement, and it is really very striking to hear how the movement started with an absolute commitment, of a kind one doesn’t encounter in other places, that everybody was going to do the same jobs. Sometimes the women were going to fix the tractors, and the men were going to work in the nurseries, sometimes the men were going to fix the tractors and the women were going to work in the nurseries, and just under the pressure of what everyone wanted, in a hundred different kibbutzes, each one of which evolved, it all moved in the same direction. So, I think, while I would prefer to believe otherwise, I guess my experience with my two and a half year old twin daughters who were not given dolls and who were given trucks, and found themselves saying to each other, look, daddy truck is carrying the baby truck, tells me something. And I think it’s just something that you probably have to recognize. There are two other hypotheses that are all over. One is socialization. Somehow little girls are all socialized towards nursing and little boys are socialized towards building bridges. No doubt there is some truth in that. I would be hesitant about assigning too much weight to that hypothesis for two reasons. First, most of what we’ve learned from empirical psychology in the last fifteen years has been that people naturally attribute things to socialization that are in fact not attributable to socialization. We’ve been astounded by the results of separated twins studies. The confident assertions that autism was a reflection of parental characteristics that were absolutely supported and that people knew from years of observational evidence have now been proven to be wrong. And so, the human mind has a tendency to grab to the socialization hypothesis when you can see it, and it often turns out not to be true.

So here we have just about the purest form of egalitarianism there ever was on earth, where only those who were completely committed to the cause joined.  This was a commune where everybody wore the same clothes, could work at any of the available tasks, play with any of the communal toys; and furthermore were not encouraged in any way to conform to gender stereotypes.  Yet with all of their passion and purity, human nature worked its way to the surface.

Posted in FarmBoy, Feminism
85 comments on “An Unintended Social Experiment
  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Those wacky feminists! Always taking the side of “nurture” in the debate of “nature vs. nurture”.
    Poor Larry Summers. That he was treated so poorly is a measure of their vindictiveness and intolerance.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Tarnished says:

    When I was young, I played with GI Joes, Ninja Turtles, Hot Wheels, toy swords and guns, dinosaurs, and always wanted to be the “dad” when forced to play house in school. Barbies became “grenades”, sticks were lightsabers, and fake cooking supplies were simply fun to make noise with. Not to mention all the cool electronic gadgets my uncle used to buy for me.

    Sorry, feminists and gender criticals…boy and girl brains ARE different, even if they end up in the wrong body sometimes.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Those wacky feminists are about to eat their own. According to AVfM, they intend to boycott a lecture by Christina Hoff Summers at UCLA tomorrow.

    Like

  4. Liz says:

    Yep. The part about “look, truck is carrying baby truck!” is pretty cute actually. 🙂
    When I first became a parent I thought I’d never give my kids weapon toys. I think my first son was one and a half when he first started picking up sticks and using them as weapons. And he draw a lot of stick figures with his crayons that reminded me of the song ‘Jeremy spoke’ (at home, drawing pictures, of mountain tops….lemon yellow sun, the dead lay in pools of blood below…).

    Like

  5. Liz says:

    Disclaimer, I never even let him watch television at this point…I have no idea where that came from…except nature. My husband was barely ever home so it wasn’t him.

    Like

  6. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    They are different. Years ago, I was talking to my sister in law on the phone and I could hear banging in the background. It was my nephew banging on pots and pans with a wooden spoon. At the same age, my neice would have doing her best to help her mommy.

    Like

  7. Liz says:

    Boys are much more lovable, though. 🙂
    They cuddle a lot longer, and put up with my kisses and hugs.
    I stopped letting my mother do that when I was about seven. Think that was the age I started to really dislike her.

    Like

  8. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Liz,
    I am sad about your mother. 😦 Mine’s gone and you never get over it.

    Like

  9. Liz says:

    Sorry Fuzzy. 😦

    My mom and I never really got along, but I do call her and keep in touch.

    Like

  10. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Liz,
    We are a little overdue for an aviation video.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Sumo says:

    As a child, I had a number of toy guns and swords. As an adult, I own a number of swords, knives, and other non-firearm weapons that I call my “toys”.

    Some things never change.

    Liked by 3 people

  12. Cill says:

    Sumo, me too bro.

    I made medieval armies out of plasticine. The armies grew until one of them had 500 men. I found an old female doll that had belonged to my mother. It was naked and its right arm could be wound back and released and it would swing around like a propeller. The doll towered over the army and became my hulk that could flatten a man with a mighty downwards blow. It’s femaleness added to the hulk’s freaky awesomeness, sort of like a scary clown.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Yoda says:

    Toys as a child I had not.
    A Padawan I was.
    Deprived I do feel.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Tarnished says:

    Not even Kick the Ration Cylinder, Yoda? 😉

    Like

  15. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Molly,
    I’m sorry, I’m a little late. All is well with the bear.
    🌯 🌯 🌯 🐻 🙄

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Tarnished says:

    Cheers, Fuzzmeister.
    🍺🍻

    Like

  17. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Thank you, Tarn!
    It’s good to see emoticons again.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Tarnished says:

    Oops. Sorry, you’re not one for drinks, right? Have some honey instead…🍯

    Like

  19. Tarnished says:

    Ah, are they showing up for you now? That’s great. Molly will be absolutely delighted! 🐻

    Like

  20. molly says:

    Fuzzie I’m late. I’m busy busy. I’d rather have

    too.

    [img src=”https://s0.wp.com/wp-content/mu-plugins/emoji/twemoji/svg/1f43b.svg” alt=”” /]

    Liked by 1 person

  21. molly says:

    I haven’t had time to learn Tarn’s new emoticons. I really want to change from burritos tho. Same diet too long. Change needed!

    Like

  22. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Molly,
    I clicked on your link and this huge bear tried to jump out of my screen.
    I hope that you are happy busy. Burritos are fine. We don’t really get to eat them 😦

    Like

  23. molly says:

    Fuzzie when I get time I will switch to Tarn’s honey. 🙂 Until then:
    🌯 🌯 🌯 🌯

    Like

  24. molly says:

    Fuzzie I have to go. Sweet dreams! 🙂

    Like

  25. Liz says:

    “Fuzzie I’m late. I’m busy busy. I’d rather have https://s0.wp.com/wp-content/mu-plugins/emoji/twemoji/svg/1f43b.svg too.

    I like that one! 🙂

    Like

  26. Yoda says:

    Jedis serious they must be.
    If not, Anakin happens.

    Like

  27. Tarnished says:

    My mistake.
    I thought he simply had Whiny Bitch syndrome.

    Like

  28. Yoda says:

    The Campus Accountability and Safety Act, which picked up two additional sponsors from last year’s version, purports to combat sexual violence. In reality, the bill fosters a campus climate where accused students are guilty until proven innocent

    The first bone of contention: The continued insistence by bill sponsors to call complainants “victims” before any evidence is compiled. At least they use the appropriate term “accused” (instead of “rapist”) for those on the other side, but the phrasing still shows bias toward a “guilty until proven innocent” mentality that has currently resulted in some 60 accused students suing their universities for unfair treatment.

    This year’s version of the bill at least pays lip service to the notion of due process for what is actually a felony being adjudicated by campus administrators. The bill now includes the term “due process” three times, a 300 percent increase from last year’s bill, which included the term exactly zero times

    Like

  29. Yoda says:

    The Campus Accountability and Safety Act

    Assume that opposite it does.

    Like

  30. missattempts says:

    Today is Chas Bono’s birthday. He was the daughter of Sonny & Cher.
    His name used to be Chasity Bono. He had a sex change.
    Please don’t do it Tarnished. We love you just the way you are.

    Like

  31. theasdgamer says:

    Mrs. Gamer is in lurve again, lol.

    Like

  32. jf12 says:

    Little boy chimps carry sticks to poke into things and to whack on other chimps. Little girl chimps carry sticks to cuddle and pretend to feed.

    Like

  33. Yoda says:

    Little boy chimps carry sticks to poke into things and to whack on other chimps. Little girl chimps carry sticks to cuddle and pretend to feed.

    Both use sticks they do.
    No difference there is.
    So say feminists.

    Like

  34. jf12 says:

    For some reason, the fact that unnaturally-nurtured girl chimps in zoos greatly preferred to play with “girl toys” and boy chimps with “boy toys” was uncontroversial, starting many years ago. But findings of obviously similar observations in the wild took a couple of decades to publish, for some reason.
    http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2010/09/101220-chimpanzees-play-nature-nurture-science-animals-evolution/

    Like

  35. jf12 says:

    Is making a soldier sleep with and cuddle with his gun a bad idea?

    Like

  36. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Jf12,
    It is good to see you!

    Yoda,
    MOre from COTWA.

    http://www.cotwa.info/2015/03/yale-student-wrongly-believes-flipping.html

    The fembots are going to push rape hysteria until they can’t. It’s perfect for them. No harm to women and men are persecuted.

    Like

  37. Liz says:

    “The fembots are going to push rape hysteria until they can’t. It’s perfect for them. No harm to women and men are persecuted.”

    I think it hurts women in a big way.
    Just as it hurts honest shepards when dishonest ones are always running into the village crying fake “wolf”.

    Like

  38. Cautiously Pessimistic says:

    Per Instapundit, the FDA is going after testosterone, and is working to ban it from being used in various treatments and meds. Not to worry, though. A replacement drug is now available, called Estrogen, which is apparently a much improved substitute.

    Also, while being male is still technically legal, hormone therapy may be required absent a license for controlled substance production and use, in future.

    Liked by 2 people

  39. Liz says:

    I’d be careful with testosterone therapy though…too much testosterone turns to estrogen.

    Like

  40. Liz says:

    Just to add further, on the subject of fembots, pundits, and other things related in this world….

    Fembots are “friends to women” in the same way that Jackson and Sharpton are friends to the black community.

    If they were truly friends to that community, their first step would be mobilizing the black community to fight immigration amnesty/reform… as it will affect the black community first…

    But they aren’t friends to the repressed… they are friends of repression…as long as it keeps their bread buttered. So, if you’re an actual thug or retard, this “leadership” is there for you…anyone else, you’re part of the “problem”.

    Liked by 2 people

  41. Yoda says:

    Jackson and Sharpton are friends to the black community.

    Provide a service they do.
    Victimhood status they bestow.
    Excuse victims from trying this does.
    The “righteous mad” bone it does tickle.

    Liked by 1 person

  42. Tarnished says:

    “Please don’t do it Tarnished. We love you just the way you are.”

    I’m glad of that, Lon/Missattempts.
    But I also have to love me the way I am.

    I won’t say I’ve never considered having a sex change…I absolutely have. However, it would cause a lot of emotional devastation in my family, be weird for my lover, and essentially be saying that my healthy, strong body isn’t “good enough”. For all I know, I’m supposed to be this way to learn something in my current life.

    When I’m older though, I’ll very likely live as a man to the fullest of my capabilities.

    Liked by 1 person

  43. Liz says:

    Lon/Missattempts have very different posting styles.

    Like

  44. Liz says:

    Just noting the above, out of curiosity…

    Liked by 1 person

  45. Tarnished says:

    Lon and Missattempts are the same person.

    Like

  46. Cill says:

    Liz, “too much testosterone turns to estrogen”

    Yeah? I never knew this. Liz, you are a fount of info – or are you sitting there having a chuckle at my expense?

    Tarn, re your testosterone treatment:
    Be warned of the power of this hormone. It will turn your blood into fire and make relentless lust roar through your veins. You’ll yell and whoop and tear down the street, jumping cars and hurdling hedges, at a loss to know what to do with your drive and energy. Nothing – not even the very birds of the air – will escape your lecherous glare! The time might come when you drink yourself into a stupor in an attempt to get some release.

    Worst of all, you might cease to be the hilariously amusing person that you are today, and that would upset the delicate balance of reality! Beware, I say!

    Like

  47. Tarnished says:

    Honestly, Cill, it sounds like a normal day… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  48. Cill says:

    But do you lust after your parrots? Coz that’s what’ll happen, just wait!

    Liked by 1 person

  49. Tarnished says:

    No, but should I be worried about your sheep?

    Liked by 1 person

  50. Cill says:

    Tarn, nothing, repeat, nothing, is safe >:D

    Like

  51. Spawny Get says:

    “too much testosterone turns to estrogen”

    heard that too. Some say that estorgen is the violent hormone. Now when you think of the more women in the relationship, the more violence…

    Like

  52. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I was soely tempted to link “Dirty Deeds Done With Sheep”, a parody of an AC/DC song,
    But NO.

    In all seriousness, I have heard of female weightlifters taking testosterone to enhance performance, and, it’s not good for attitude.

    Like

  53. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Liz,
    I concede your point about eroding confidence in accusers. I don’t think the fembots have thought that far ahead. I believe that they want to inflict as much harm on men as they can.

    Like

  54. Yoda says:

    I concede your point about eroding confidence in accusers. I don’t think the fembots have thought that far ahead

    Believe that all they touch turns to gold it does.
    Misjudge they do.

    Like

  55. Yoda says:

    the FDA is going after testosterone, and is working to ban it from being used in various treatments and meds

    Substitute “estrogen” for “testosterone” one should.
    Thoughts change they do?

    Like

  56. Liz says:

    “Yeah? I never knew this. Liz, you are a fount of info – or are you sitting there having a chuckle at my expense?”

    No, it’s absolutely true. Often “juicers” who used testosterone experience testicular shrinkage and all sorts of adverse effects that are “womanly”. I have a physician friend (former flight doctor, now a pathologist and entrepreneur) who just started a company using that boosts testosterone levels by natural means (in a way that avoids this side effect…it doesn’t go “over” the max threshold).

    Like

  57. Liz says:

    I’m pretty sure estrogen is considered a drug, and its administration is regulated also.

    Like

  58. Yoda says:

    Testosterone associated with men — bad it would be.
    Estrogen associated with women — good it is.

    Like

  59. Padawan says:

    Big Red’s Toy (by Padawan, Poet Laureate 2014 – ?)

    What sorta doll would Big Red lull
    To sleep in her childhood bed?
    A Cabbage Patch Kid or erotic squid
    With its arms around Big Red?

    Or Kermit the frog to beat like a dog
    For giving her no fight
    Or if she’d a mind would she rather grind
    The frog thoughout the night?

    Or would she rattle in sexual battle
    With a doll made out of tin
    And bounce and buck and shut the fuck up
    With her face in a buck-toothed grin?

    Like

  60. Cill says:

    “Dirty Deeds Done With Sheep”
    tch tch tch, Fuzzy… Tarn’s humor has gone to your head.
    The bear is doomed.

    Like

  61. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Will Big Red ever return, Here are scenes from Big Red’s appearance before she fled to obscurity.

    Like

  62. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Cill,
    I didn’t link it. However, your last comment made me think that there is as much humor in the virtuous as there is in the banal.

    That bear cub scampered off knowing how much trouble he was in.

    Liked by 1 person

  63. Spawny Get says:

    Smart cub, legging it like that

    Like

  64. SFC Ton says:

    Docs.don’t give you enough tes to get bitch fits unless you are extremely prone to it and if so, take nolvadex. Dollar a day keeps the bitch tits away.

    As your tes goes up, estrogen follows. Tes doesn’t turn into something else. It’s just tes.

    Every chick I know who has ran tes has been overwhelmed with the sense of masculinity, lust aggression etc. Real eye opener.

    Like

  65. SFC Ton says:

    Feminists are good for women the legal bullshit is their main advantage in the world. Same sharpton and blacks.

    Like

  66. Yoda says:

    Every chick I know who has ran tes has been overwhelmed with the sense of masculinity, lust aggression etc.

    Men live with it every day, all day they do.

    Like

  67. Yoda says:

    Padawan poetry exclusive feature here it is.
    Raises this blog above others it does.

    Like

  68. Yoda says:

    Big Red very white jacket she has.
    What this means I know not.

    Like

  69. Cill says:

    Fuzzy the Big Red video makes me feel good. She’s too much even for her fellow fembots. I like the way she embarrasses feminism. It arouses me, actually. Maybe I should take one for the team and bonk Big Red, or delegate the task to Jar Jar…

    Like

  70. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Yoda,
    The white jacket provides contrast for her bright red hair.

    Cill,
    While this may be hard to believe, I think Big Red has a surplus of male attention. Jar Jar would take a pass. I think that he is looking for girls with big, floppy ears.

    Like

  71. Cill says:

    “I think Big Red has a surplus of male attention”
    Can you give us any evidence Fuzzy?

    Like

  72. Farm Boy says:

    “I think Big Red has a surplus of male attention”

    Can you give us any evidence Fuzzy?

    Us

    Like

  73. Farm Boy says:

    New post is up

    Like

  74. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Cill,
    I’ll bet that Big Red has been loud and brash since she said her first word. After that, it’s all speculation.
    Farm Boy is right to point out that she has our attention. Attention on youtube is waning. There used to be a dozen videos of her. Now, there are about three.

    Like

  75. Spawny Get says:

    Dear Murikans,
    does this sound like your reality?
    Immigration is here to stay. Our job is to make it work

    Migration is the new normal, and there’s nothing either the Tories or Ukip can do about it. Instead we must make sure those who come to this country fully embrace it – and establish a British version of the American dream

    Like America, we have become a nation of immigrants; we now need a British version of the American Dream to make sure that we continue to absorb newcomers while strengthening our society.

    I only ask as this sounds like the usual lying lefty technique to shame us into being more accepting because lies and exagerations

    Like

  76. Yoda says:

    Migration is the new normal, and there’s nothing either the Tories or Ukip can do about it.

    Collapse an effect it might have.

    Like

  77. Spawny Get says:

    Obama does what? Shurely shome mishtake? He looks like a pretty honest, straightforward kind of guy…

    Like

  78. Yoda says:

    In the race for the GOP presidential nomination, former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush is proposing a turbo-charged version of that growth-via-immigration strategy.

    Difficult sell this is.

    Liked by 1 person

  79. Spawny Get says:

    http://www.breitbart.com/london/2015/03/05/labours-biggest-migration-surge-in-history-part-incompetence-part-conspiracy/

    This is perfectly credible. Who could doubt that Labour is both full of lying sacks of shit and incompetents?

    Many are both.

    Like

  80. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    In the time between the close of the American Civil War and the First World War. The US took in a lot of immigrants. Along with the right of way, our government gave a agreat deal of land to the railroads as an incentive. During this time, they sold their real estate holdings to immigrants so they could start farms and the railroads would have more customers. All around, pretty much win-win.
    Now, what are these people going to do?

    Like

  81. SFC Ton says:

    Win win? For who? Not the Americans already here or the concept of individual liberty, small government etc etc.

    That wave of immigrants did so much harm, the north reformed the Klan to fight back.

    Like

  82. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    SfcTon,
    How did the West get populated?

    Like

Comments are closed.

