Woe, Woe, Woe, Feelings


Back in my bar band days, I often had to play Morris Albert’s Feelings:

I can’t begin to express how much I DETEST this tune, and I will NEVER play it again, not even to eat. But based on my experience, the popularity of this tune with women was due to a guy lamenting his loss of a woman too late to do anything about it. The whining lyrics expressing the dichotomy of “I wish I’d never met you” juxtaposed against “I’ll never have you again” must resonate with the distaff side of life in some meaningful way.

Most men end up in this position at some point in their lives, and they don’t necessarily actually lose the woman in question, at least not physically. A common complaint of newly-married men concerns how his new wife isn’t the girl he married, isn’t as interested in sex as she once was, and doesn’t seem to respect him and his life very much.

Now maybe this is seen as being due to youth and inexperience, but statistics say otherwise. According to divorcerate.org: “As per the ‘Americans for Divorce Reform‘, [approximately] 40-50% of marriages in the U.S. would end in legal separation if the present trends … continue.” But those who remarry fare even worse: “50% percent of first marriages, 67% of second and 74% of third marriages end in divorce, according to Jennifer Baker of the Forest Institute of Professional Psychology in Springfield, Missouri.” So the idea that age and experience improves one’s marital prospects is hereby debunked.

The popular media doesn’t tend to focus on the male side of the issue very well. Being myself dissatisfied with my marriage, and finding little-to-nothing which spoke to me about my situation, I’ve had to wade through a lot of detritus passed off as knowledge. To begin with, such detritus tends to blame men for the problems. We don’t FEEL enough, we aren’t open to INTIMACY and we don’t let ourselves be VULNERABLE so that our relationships with our women can flourish.

I’m going to tackle the last BUZZWORD first, as we just discussed this here on Spawny’s. It’s hard to be VULNERABLE when dozens of women have rejected your advances in less-than-charitable ways, and the few acceptances you might have won didn’t necessarily end any better than a marriage does. It rarely ends like Gwinneth Paltrow’s recent alleged “conscious uncoupling”, where rational actions replace the expected emotional uproar. There end up being plenty of FEELINGS, few of them pleasant. Not wanting to risk repeating the experience tends to make men avoid them, especially as the expectation grows that it won’t go well on any subsequent attempt. Any cursory cost-benefit analysis will tend to show far more cost than benefit.

Such scar tissue is seen as preventing INTIMACY, defined exclusively (by women) as being open to a partner, to share what feelings and emotions occur as life happens. It’s been my experience, however, that no man can achieve the particulars of what women say they want out of their men when it comes to intimacy, and that is because the genders have a different meaning for the word intimacy.

For men, to be blunt, this means sex. For women, based on what they write, this isn’t at all what they seek. They want shared feelings, “emotional intimacy”, and a sense of security before sex ever enters their minds in a positive way.

As I previously quoted Barbara Cartland, “Among men, sex sometimes results in intimacy; among women, intimacy sometimes results in sex.” Considering that women control access to sex, this means men have to get through the intimacy barrier before they get any. This isn’t an easy thing for men, as it goes against everything we were raised to be. “There’s no crying in baseball!” is but one of the legion of adages we’re raised to observe.

I introduced the term “emotional intimacy” a bit earlier than I originally intended, so now I go back to offer the official explanation of its meaning as I interpret it from the amount of verbiage offered: “Emotional intimacy is a psychological event that happens when trust levels and communication between two people are such that it fosters the mutual sharing of one another’s deepest selves…Emotional intimacy is being able to communicate your feelings to show how much you care.

AS IF! Isn’t this where most guys stumble in their attempts, if women are to be believed?

There is a rather too-long-to-quote “discussion” intended to demonstrate what emotional intimacy is supposed to sound like, which wastes a lot of time getting to the point of the discussion. Even the reviled Shiela Gregoire has better advice than this (I looked at her site) when it comes to expressing a lack of closeness!

The honest truth of this is expressed in a comment by “Max”:

Unfortunately, it seems like everything I read regarding the matter, it is the man who is lacking and the woman who has unrequited needs of her man. Were it reversed, as it is in my case, I am on my own….. My wife actually told me I was tripping when I tried to initiate conversations about how we felt about each other….It seems women are conditioned to believe that men have little or no or even trivial emotional needs compared to [themselves].

But there is no site worse than the Good Puppy-man Project. I won’t even link to them, as I find them incredibly distasteful for advocating that any self-respecting man put himself in the position of the family dog, beta orbiting in the hopes of getting a little attention (much less sex). I almost expect to hear Barbara Woodhouse proclaim “Wookies!” every time I bother to waste my time there.

So hear the dog whimper: “Even sex in my relationships was casual because there wasn’t a deep enough emotional connection to make it intimate. I wasn’t unique….at 50 I began to notice [women] weren’t rejecting sex with me, but rather preferred to be sexual with me in the context of an emotionally intimate relationship. I was lost.

Considering that sorry description, so am I!

He continues: “I had to meet a woman I could trust unconditionally before I could open my heart.

As Josef Stalin once said, “I trust no one, not even myself.” A more expansive declaration is made in the fantastic I, Claudius once Claudius is made emperor by the Praetorian Guard upon Caligula’s assassination:

Trust no one, my friend, no one. Not your most grateful freedman. Not your most intimate friend. Not your dearest child. Not the wife of your bosom. Trust no one.

Consider this in light of the divorce rates I cite at the head of this post.

One of the best relationships I know is hardly conventional. A coworker -a widower due to his bipolar wife’s suicide- became attached to a neighbor, the mother of his daughter’s best friend. They maintain separate houses, and probably don’t sleep over during the work week. They claim to not be able to marry due to her terrible credit, but I suspect that if she was to sell her own house, she could settle her finances. So I expect -as she is divorced herself- this pose is to PREVENT that allegedly necessary emotional intimacy from becoming too binding. It’s worked for years, so why change it?

It may be that the claim that marriage makes two people one doesn’t work. Two people have to have their own lives to be able to share anything without irretrievable loss. Anything else -especially that bound through benefit of clergy and licensed by the law- prevents that from happening equitably. The one “partner” who knows the rules of the game better than the other ends up dominating and controlling the relationship as it is no longer completely voluntary.

Coercion isn’t intimacy. Not by either definition of the word.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
89 comments on “Woe, Woe, Woe, Feelings
  1. Tarnished says:

    “Two people have to have their own lives to be able to share anything without irretrievable loss. Anything else -especially that bound through benefit of clergy and licensed by the law- prevents that from happening equitably.”

    Hit the nail on the head there, Blurkel.

    Like

  2. theasdgamer says:

    I detest the coercion that comes from feelings generated chemically by oxytocin. Physical intimacy that is part of dancing can generate those feelings in both men and women. Even for women, physical intimacy can generate emotional intimacy. It’s just that women need escalation combined with comfort-building in order to want sex. Men don’t need the escalation if the visual beauty is enough. Lots of men don’t need much comfort.

    Demisexuals need some platonic bonding. I’m that way to some extent.

    Like

  3. Yoda says:

    The popular media doesn’t tend to focus on the male side of the issue very well

    Officially sanctioned victim status they have not.
    Before undertaking any endeavour, official victim status one should obtain.
    Consequently endeavours men should do not.

    Like

  4. Yoda says:

    Reagan said he did,
    “Trust but verify”

    Like

  5. Yoda says:

    I often had to play Morris Albert’s Feelings

    Perhaps the line you do like,
    “I wish I never met you babe”

    Like

  6. blurkel says:

    Actually, Yoda, there isn’t a single line in that song that I do like. But there are women I wish I’d never met.

    Like

  7. blurkel says:

    Physical intimacy that is part of dancing can generate those feelings in both men and women.

    I’ve seen this, Gamer. That is one advantage to having been in the band. But I’ve got two left feet when it comes to dancing. It means I’m restricted to the groupies (Not that I scored with many of them either).

    Like

  8. Yoda says:

    Two people have to have their own lives to be able to share anything without irretrievable loss.

    Settle for this men might be willing to do.
    Legal situation makes “dreamy” this does.

    Like

  9. Yoda says:

    it seems like everything I read regarding the matter, it is the man who is lacking and the woman who has unrequited needs of her man.

    The product of entitlement mentality this would be.
    The force clear on this it is.
    Post on this topic there will be.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Spawny Get says:

    Great post Blurkel.

    The only fix I made was to the media.

    instead of just inserting the YouTube URL, you should have hit ‘add media’, hit ‘add from URL’ (something like that) and then inserted the URL there.

    No problem, just spreading the know-how

    Like

  11. Yoda says:

    50% percent of first marriages, 67% of second and 74% of third marriages end in divorce

    Harsh these stats are.
    Take heed men should.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. blurkel says:

    You know, Spawny, jumping straight into that Spitfire cockpit after soloing on a Wright Flyer tends to educate quickly about one’s shortcomings.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Yoda says:

    “Cockpit” you say…

    Like

  14. Spawny Get says:

    Blurkel, I’m barely ahead of you man. Just passing on what little extra info I have. You are also welcome to set ‘associated image’ and category tags if you wish. sup2u, just keep the content coming and I don;t really mind about the rest…

    Liked by 1 person

  15. blurkel says:

    As I see it, Yoda, the economics of college versus the unlikely probability of becoming employed with an income sufficient to have a real life and be able to pay off the loan debt makes college a bad idea for all, except for the trust-funders who attract women via the nectar of cash. Life is quickly going to become whatever job you can get for as long as you can keep it, and it will take collective action to keep a roof over one’s head. College isn’t likely to help that much.

    I don’t have a current statistic for the percentage of college graduates back living with mom & dad, but of my four kids, 2.5 of my graduates live under my roof. The .5 is still in school, and will be for at least a couple of years.

    We regularly hear of the Ivy League post-grad with a 4.0 GPA who can’t even get a job interview. The reason -which young people should learn BEFORE they get thrown into the student debt briar patch- is because the companies that hire are leaving the US, and have no desire to move Americans to their new national headquarters in Singapore or Dubai. They will instead hire locals from those areas, and too bad for the poor Yanks to paid in many ways to make said company wealthy enough to flee the havoc they’ve wrought.

    The real rape threat is thus not from women complaining about bad dates. It’s from the people who continue to push the idea that college will get you a better position in life.

    The Great Depression had many advanced degrees in the soup lines. they had to wait their turns like everyone else.

    Like

  16. Yoda says:

    Issues with University attendance there are,

    http://www.popecenter.org/commentaries/article.html

    Like

  17. Yoda says:

    The college degree has become so ubiquitous that many companies know they can fill their needs without interviewing applicants who are presumably less capable and somewhat harder to train just because they haven’t been through the college mill. Consequently, people without degrees are increasingly confined to the shrinking, low-pay sectors of the labor market—unless they can succeed in one of the remaining fields where ability counts for everything, such as entrepreneurship, sports, and entertainment.

    A waste this is.

    Like

  18. Lon Spector says:

    Who says that a man can’t be intimate? The incels can be intimate, as long as they
    DON’T rage at women.
    Did you ever hear, “Some Guys Have All The Luck,” by Rod Steward, or
    “Lonely Blue boy,” by Conway Twitty? Roy Orbison is one of the intimate singer’s
    there is.

    Like

  19. blurkel says:

    “Some Guys Have All The Luck” could have been the title of Elliot Rodger’s “Man”ifesto.

    Like

  20. Spawny Get says:

    Just watched “in order of disappearance” with Stellen Skarsgard and Hitler. Had a couple of great moments. Still preferred Housebound. But nice to see Bruno Ganz out of the bunker.

    Like

  21. Yoda says:

    But nice to see Bruno Ganz out of the bunker

    Bear bait this would be.

    Like

  22. Spawny Get says:

    It wasn’t a comedy, but it had its moments of laughter. I knew the face was familiar but didn’t recognise him till the credits came up. Kind of a Heil Mary thing, the creds saved the day.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Spawny Get says:

    In order of disappearance on IMDB

    Like

  24. Spawny Get says:

    The one at 9:35 prolly deserves some likes…

    Like

  25. Spawny Get says:

    Thank you Cill, a man of taste.

    Like

  26. Cill says:

    ” I knew the face was familiar but didn’t recognise him till the credits came up.”.
    Tell me, did he look like bear pretending to be a guy in a bear suit?

    Like

  27. Spawny Get says:

    Maybe I was too swift with the praise. You did laugh at the ‘Heil Mary save’ regarding Hitler’s identity…yeah?

    Like

  28. Cill says:

    I haven’t seen it. If Bruno Ganz acted as Hitler, my question is valid. 😉

    Like

  29. Yoda says:

    At end Krebs it is not.
    Burgdorf it would be.

    Like

  30. Spawny Get says:

    Yes, Ganz played Hitler.

    Heil Mary…Hail Mary…

    Oh, I blame myself. It’s not you lot, it’s me. I thought you had advanced, nay sophistimacated, humour comprehension. *sigh*

    Like

  31. Cill says:

    I watched The Lighthorsemen (1987) last night. The actors playing non-Aussie characters struggled with foreign accents but the Aussie characters were authentic. We enjoyed it because as I said one of the Aussie characters was an ancestor of mine. I think I would’ve enjoyed it anyway for the historical context.

    Like

  32. Cill says:

    “Heil Mary”
    The notion of him being played by a Bruno pretending to be him in a bear suit…
    Mwaha!
    Deliberate obfuscating obscurity I admit to.

    Like

  33. CalloftheMGTOW says:

    I got the joke Spawny, you need not worry about some of us young’uns…

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Spawny Get says:

    Appreciated. In the defence of the antipodeans, they may not have heard of a Hail Mary Pass.

    Like

  35. Cill says:

    I did get that, Spawny. Now it’s my turn to sigh. What about the notion of a bear pretending that guy in a bear suit…

    Like

  36. Spawny Get says:

    Cill, I’ve gone beyond sighing…It’s sulkin’ time. And time for bed. Maybe tomorrow someone can explain the bear suit thing.

    Like

  37. Yoda says:

    “Heil Mary Pass” the joke was.
    Murikans searching for the good joke they were.

    Like

  38. Cill says:

    It would explain a whole lot of things, the trampoline for one. 😀

    Like

  39. Spawny Get says:

    The long winter nights must just fly by in the Degoba system…

    Like

  40. Cill says:

    I’m sitting here pissing myself with laughter now.
    HAHAHAHAHA!

    Liked by 1 person

  41. Cill says:

    Ah, you have a sophisticated sophistimacation me old mate!

    Like

  42. Yoda says:

    Time to write posts I do have.

    Like

  43. Cill says:

    Just as the long winter nights must just fly by in the Degoba system, so must the tree rush past Spawny’s movie star face…
    MWAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Like

  44. Spawny Get says:

    A post by Yoda…bring it on!

    Annnd it’s good night from me. Have fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  45. Cill says:

    A bear pretending to be Spawny in a bear suit would be capable of anything, including challenging Mother Earth herself to a head-butting contest.

    Annnd it’s good night from him.

    Have a good sleep mate.

    Like

  46. Spawny Get says:

    The two Ronnies made it down under, I gather. 😉

    Like

  47. Cill says:

    I was just a kid when they re-ran them on TV. I never missed an episode.

    Like

  48. Cill says:

    Ronnie Barker as Detective Charlie Farley in “Death Will Out” was my childhood favorite.

    Like

  49. Cill says:

    And Ronnie Corbett had the part of the pompous little fart down to a tee.

    Like

  50. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Blurkel,
    I have been quiet today digesting your post. Married men are in a pickle. It seems that they have been set up as chumps and the overwhelming majority of women are going to take advantage of the situation.
    I don’t want to get personal but, using myself as an example, my mother doesn’t have any grandchildren from me because she set such a fine precedent.

    What’s all this about some German actor playing Adolf Hitler wearing a bear suit???
    Lots of people have played Adolf Hitler including Alec Guiness.

    I don’t normally link Chateau Heartiste but, this post is brilliant.

    https://heartiste.wordpress.com/2015/02/26/theory-feminists-are-masculinized-phenotypic-morphs/

    Liked by 1 person

  51. Yoda says:

    I don’t want to get personal but, using myself as an example, my mother doesn’t have any grandchildren from me because she set such a fine precedent.

    The Force clear it is.
    A future post address this it will.

    Like

  52. blurkel says:

    @ Fuzzie

    I have been quiet today digesting your post. Married men are in a pickle. It seems that they have been set up as chumps and the overwhelming majority of women are going to take advantage of the situation.

    I’m giving some thought to posting an extended response to you to expand on how I see things regarding your topic. thoughts?

    Like

  53. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Blurkel,
    I am a never married. Today, I have been thinking that observations from a man’s perspective have been absent from the discussion until the MGTOW/MRA divide. Maybe it’s just me.
    I do have profound and justified fear of losing myself by getting married and becoming a “yes.dear” husband.
    While half of all marriages end in divorce, it seems the ones that hang in there are suffering too.

    Liked by 2 people

  54. blurkel says:

    @ Fuzzie

    I am a never married. Today, I have been thinking that observations from a man’s perspective have been absent from the discussion until the MGTOW/MRA divide. Maybe it’s just me.

    No, it’s not. I tend to agree with your observation, not that I am an expert on either side of the divide. We men just haven’t been very vocal about the issues which afflict us, as we are our own worst enemies. We are perfectly willing to gang up on those who aren’t manly men as we believe ourselves to be. That is finally changing. There aren’t enough women like Dr. Helen Smith who understand for us to continue to rely upon them defending us.

    I do have profound and justified fear of losing myself by getting married and becoming a “yes.dear” husband.

    Then don’t marry. Your concern is real. We men don’t really know ourselves when we are expected to tie the knot. We aren’t prepared for it like women are. This is but one reason why I advocate not dating or marrying. If we men knew how to run a household on our own, the “need” for women (and their opening to take control over our lives) is greatly reduced.

    While half of all marriages end in divorce, it seems the ones that hang in there are suffering too.

    I represent that remark. Many of us would divorce if we felt that we could. But we end up remaining locked in for certain reasons, sometimes good ones, sometimes not. Then we have to learn to make the best of it, and maybe pass along to the next generation to not follow in our footsteps.

    Like

  55. Farm Boy says:

    Yoda has posted

    Like

  56. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Blurkel,
    It is depressing taking this in. While marriage definely benefits women, it seems to reduce men.
    Heaven help civilization when the gravity of that sinks in.

    Like

  57. Tarnished says:

    Blurkel and Fuzzie,

    I’ve been reading your conversation with a large amount of interest. Due to a recent discussion with my sisters and mother, I wish to ask you something that branches off what you’re speaking of here;

    Given a woman who has a decent career and doesn’t want kids…is there any reason for her to marry?

    Like

  58. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Tarn,
    I firmly believe that the whole institution is about fostering an enviornment to raise kids. Without kids, it does make a lot of it superfluous.

    Liked by 2 people

  59. Tarnished says:

    That’s what my opinion is as well. My siblings and mother, however…

    Like

  60. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Tarn,
    They all want you to have babies. They like the idea but, you’ll have the reality of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  61. Tarnished says:

    Nah. I’ve convinced them that I’ll never be having kids. Now they’re intent on telling me I’m “at least going to need to be married, right?”.

    I swear, it’s as though I was switched at birth…

    Liked by 2 people

  62. Tarnished says:

    Blurkel,

    You have a daughter, if I remember correctly. What kind of “advice” does your wife give to her?

    Like

  63. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Tarn,
    They are plotting. They are working you up to it in stages. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  64. Tarnished says:

    Dear Gods, no!😯

    Like

  65. blurkel says:

    To answer you, Tarn, I’d ask this: What advantage is there to marrying under those conditions? I see no reason to do so, especially if you are content with the relationships you have as they now are.

    Like

  66. Tarnished says:

    According to my younger sisters it’s “to stop people from thinking you’re weird”.
    According to my mother it’s “just good sense to have joint incomes”.
    According to my younger brother it’s “basically to make mom and the girls shut up about it, but also to have someone to lean on”.

    Like

  67. blurkel says:

    So what about your mother and sisters, Tarn? Your mother married more than once. I don’t recall if you mentioned your sisters’ status, but what concern is it of theirs what you do? None of them hold title on you.

    What you are experiencing is similar to slut shaming, in that women are expected to get some man to marry them and give them control. That you choose to not do so, they see as cheapening the brand, so to speak. It isn’t The Way It’s Supposed To Be.

    They aren’t going to like it, but who is in control of you anyway?

    Like

  68. Tarnished says:

    Also, I’m not entirely just asking for myself. Honestly…is there any reason for either a man or a woman to wed if they don’t want kids?

    Like

  69. blurkel says:

    To answer you in detail, Tarn, I might as well write up another post! But what I have heard said both to my sisters and my daughters (I have 2) echoes what you are having to bear.

    Liked by 1 person

  70. Tarnished says:

    I’m in control of my life, of course.

    And you’re correct, my parents have had numerous marriages. My mother twice and my father 4 times. Is it any wonder that my thoughts on marriage “vows” are so dubious and cynical? I’d rather love someone in a caring relationship than a legitimate one, if you get my meaning.

    Liked by 2 people

  71. Tarnished says:

    That would be a good post! We often talk of women who are outside our daily lives…I’m interested to see what happens in the families of my online friends here. It’d be enlightening to compare notes on how we vs our female relatives were raised.

    Like

  72. blurkel says:

    I’ve already got one new post up due to Fuzzie getting me thinking. Its late here in Southern California, and I have a car to repair when it gets light. So I’ll put the post on the back burner and let traffic catch up while i slumber and toil on the morrow.

    Hopefully, Yoda won’t sic The Force on me for posting over his first!

    Later, lass!

    Liked by 1 person

  73. Spawny Get says:

    According to my younger sisters it’s “to stop people from thinking you’re weird”.

    Are your sisters normal normal? is this projection perhaps? They’re definitely herdees.

    According to my mother it’s “just good sense to have joint incomes”.

    Access to a second income would seem to be a practical measure for a woman

    According to my younger brother it’s “basically to make mom and the girls shut up about it, but also to have someone to lean on”.

    That’s not bad, but you’re not really fantasizing being in the female role in ye olde worlde marriage, are you?

    They don’t seem to know you very well, do they?

    Leaving your brother aside, where’s all this empathy from the wimminz that we keep being told about? All they seem to have is an ability to see the herd model for behaviour and detect those dangerous rogues that are outside that role…with no inkiling of why nor curiosity either.

    Women be crazy ACWALT NAWAC (but a vast number trouble me to some degree or other)

    Like

  74. Lon Spector says:

    Marriage is dedication, but the partners have to be of co-equal maturity.
    They have to love each other as ONE.
    The best song about this is “Bernadette,” by the Four Tops.
    I bet most of the people here hate the song “When A Man Loves A Woman,” by
    Percy Sledge.

    Liked by 1 person

  75. Cill says:

    “I bet most of the people here hate the song “When A Man Loves A Woman”

    Hole in one.

    Liked by 2 people

  76. Yoda says:

    “Standing in the Shadows of Love” by Four Tops good also it is.

    Didn’t I do the best I could, didn’t I?
    So don’t you leave me

    Standin’ in the shadow of love
    I’m gettin’ ready for the heartaches to come
    Don’t you see me standing in the shadow of love
    Just tryin’ my best to get ready for the heartaches to come

    All alone I’ll desperately be
    With misery my only company
    Come today, in fact come tomorrow

    Sorrow, I ain’t got nothin’ but sorrow
    Don’t your conscience bother you
    How can you watch me cry after all I’ve done for you
    Now hold a minute

    Gave you all the love I had, didn’t I?
    When you needed me I was there, now wasn’t I?
    (Standing in the shadows of love
    Gettin’ ready for the heartaches to come)
    I’ve tried not to cry out loud
    No gal you ain’t gonna help me now
    What did I do to cause all this grief
    Now what’d I say to make you want to leave
    Now wait a minute
    I gave my heart and soul to you, didn’t I?
    Now didn’t I always treat you good, didn’t I?

    Like

  77. SFC Ton says:

    There are three masculine appropriate feelings
    Hungry
    Angry
    Horny

    In extreme circumstances sadness is allowed, like death of kin of dog.

    All others are pretty fucking usless and should be eschewed

    Like

  78. theasdgamer says:

    Lets not forget feeling affection for your dog or gator or pet rattler.

    Like

  79. theasdgamer says:

    I feel serendipitous after a couple of drinks and some dancing with beautiful, skilled partners.

    Liked by 1 person

  80. Tarnished says:

    Glad to hear it, asdgamer. Btw, what do you do besides dancing? If you don’t do anything else, that’s cool, but it seems like the only pastime you talk about.

    Like

  81. Tarnished says:

    Scfton,

    Wait…so you don’t think men should be happy? Or were you being facetious?

    Hungry and horny aren’t emotions, they’re biological indicators. So I guess technically they are under the category of “things one feels” but in a completely different way than something like elation or anger or sadness.

    Like

  82. theasdgamer says:

    Hiking and archery. Plan to get back into fencing, too. I dance lots of different styles. Country last night. Planning to do salsa tonight. Swing next week and maybe ballroom, too.

    Like

  83. theasdgamer says:

    I learned something last night. A pal told me that a cute redhead was doing some incidental flirting with me. Touched me several times briefly in passing. We danced several times.

    Like

  84. Tarnished says:

    That’s pretty fun sounding. 🙂

    I do hiking too…so many awesome trails and woods in my area. Bike and run when the weather isn’t overly hot. Also volunteer at the SPCA twice a week, mainly working with the dogs but am the main go-to person when an atypical animal is brought in (rabbits, small parrots, rats, chinchillas, even a ball python once).

    Like

  85. Lon Spector says:

    Yoda, you’re a bit incorrect in your rendation of “Standing In The Shadows Of Love.”
    The singer says: “Crying AINT gonna help me now.” I wish more men could see that.
    Tears ARE wasted water. By no means is anything to be gained by negativity, and
    wishing things were different.
    In my day, things WERE different. Folks weren’t as naracistic. People PUT everything
    into love. If it didn’t work out, they moved on, like the song, “On And On,” by Stephen
    Bishop.
    The only way to get a “high quality” person, is to become a high quality person yourself.
    It’s not always the other person’s fault. Sometimes it’s the man in the mirror’s fault.

    Like

Comments are closed.

