The Truck Index


Browsing at Dalrock’s, I came across an intriguing comment by Phillyastro,

I just saw a truck commercial showing two photos to a panel of women. One photo had a guy in front of a large pickup truck and the other had a guy in front of a dependable sedan. Of course, all the women said they’d rather be with the guy in front of the pickup truck. The last woman’s quote was, “The first guy (sedan) looks like the guy who your Mom wants you to marry. The second guy is the one you leave him for (pickup truck).” Also, they superimposed a picture of the same guy in each photo.

If I read this correctly, then Madison Avenue has dispensed with the pretense and gone right for the jugular.  And why not, they are in the business of selling stuff,  But one wonders if, now that the cat is out of the bag, if the magic will still work.

And what exactly was the secret that was revealed?  That women prefer rugged manly-man types; and that a good marker (or something they have a knee-jerk reaction to) of this is the pickup-truck.  For those not familiar with American advertising, there is one place where television commercials appeal almost exclusively to men; that would be during sporting events.  There are two primary products advertised, that of beer and that of trucks.  The beer commercials often imply that if you drink Beer X you will be surrounded by hot chicks.  The truck commercials are usually a bit more subtle, talking about toughness, payload capacity, “low end torque”, or pulling power.  These trucks are almost always shown in the context of construction sites or cowboys, with burly men doing real man activities.  Normally the voice-over announcer has a very deep voice.  What these commercials are selling is man-hood, and they are selling it to both genders.

That got me thinking.  The rise of feminism, and the freedom that it allowed women to select men as they please (that is, not via any rational decision) can be measured with the truck index.  This is an economic statistic that measures what percentage of men own trucks, especially when they do not have a real justifiable work related reason to.  When I was a child growing up in the countryside, only farmers and building contractors had trucks.  That was it.  It would seem silly for anybody who did not need a truck to have one, as they were big and expensive , and you carried around lots of usually unneeded functionality.  Over the years, the situation changed.  Now, the countryside is full of trucks.  The majority of men out there drive a truck.  Most have no real need.  I have a young nephew who works a menial job, but had a $40,000 truck.  It was repossessed.   Other fellas are perhaps a bit wiser, as there is the market niche of the “redneck truck”.  Used trucks from the city are imported and sold to the country men.  The trucks do not have to be in good shape, they just need to move.  And surely, there will be no fixes to the exhaust system, as “the louder, the better”.

I have seen the anecdotal evidence over the years.  The guys who have the trucks seem to do better with the chicks.  Probably, it happened one fella at a time.  A man sees his buddy who has a truck have some success with women; and often with not explicitly thinking about it, he at least partly attributes it to the truck.  So off he goes to buy his own.

In the city where I now live, there are many men who drive very expensive trucks; ones that are kept in immaculate condition, much as one might expect a luxury sedan to be treated (the shine is so very evident).  It is likely that the truck will go through its entire “city life” without carrying a single piece of cargo in its bed.  When this truck has become old, it might be exported to the less wealthy countryside as suggested above.

In short, the truck index (percentage of men driving trucks) has shot up dramatically in the last thirty years.  This can be interpreted as a lagging indicator of women having more power in the sexual market place.  And that men are trying to compensate.  It is all so silly.

P.S.

And the American automotive companies love it, as they are very strong in the pick-up truck market.  And country boys buy American.  So city men by American also, for resale value if nothing else.

P.P.S.

A somewhat related semi-amusing anecdote follows.  I visited my Mom in the countryside a few years back.  Through an odd set of circumstances, I needed to go into the village to do the laundry.  This was right after my divorce, so I still had my mini-van (not so manly, I know).  I was dressed nicely and was reading a non-typical book when four disheveled fellas came in.  We started talking.  When asked what I did for a living I stated that I was a professional from the city, and that I was recently divorced.  Then it clicked to these guys almost all at once.  “That minivan by the front door is yours, and you are living out of it”.

Tagged with:
Posted in FarmBoy, Hypergamy
61 comments on “The Truck Index
  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Farm Boy,
    Part of the attraction of pickup trucks is that, occasionally, women do need stuff moved. After helping Suzie all day long and burning up a tank of gas, helpful Beta may get a big wet kiss on the cheek.

    Like

  2. Farm Boy says:

    Just in time for 50 SoG,

    Let your inner slut come out.

    Like

  3. Farm Boy says:

    How yankees (Northeastern liberal types) view red necks.
    Every stereotype in place.
    Just for them.

    Like

  4. Farm Boy says:

    Michigan’s own Bob Seger,

    Like

  5. Farm Boy says:

    As for the four fellas I met in the Laundromat, we developed an instant rapport. It turned out that we were all divorced. Imagine that.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Spawny Get says:

    The whole episode is a classic, but this is but where the ToyBota pickup crosses The English Channel to France

    Like

  7. SFC Ton says:

    Slicks with trucks crack me up or even funnier is folks with diesels who don’t tow a damn think

    Even with owning a horse I get by with a small truck, no 4 wheel drive etc but I have noticed with girls and rides things brake down to

    Cars as status symbols the higher end the better
    Chicks who dig speed/ muscle cars
    Chicks who dig trucks.

    (Chicks who dig bikes seem to overlap all three)

    The last two groups seems to overlap pretty regularly.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Spawny Get says:

    And here’s where they show how pointless 4x4s are by crossing a desert, or is it dessert? (Creme brulee is mentioned). Using second hand clapped out normal cars. Another great episode.

    Like

  9. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Farm Boy,
    The laundromat story has a good ending but, it is a modern tragedy.
    They meant it when they said that you were living in the minivan.
    Was there any accommodation that you were not prepared to concede to make your marriage work?
    You may be able to hear it as the bear screams primally.

    Like

  10. Spawny Get says:

    That Colorado advert is pure mince.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Farm Boy says:

    I wondered if this would bring Ton out.
    The answer is yes.

    My Dad only had garden variety Chevy’s and Ford’s on the farm.
    They were good enough.
    There was no need for the added cost of fancy crap.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Farm Boy says:

    They meant it when they said that you were living in the minivan.

    Yes, they did.

    They knew that “professional types” are more likely to take it on the chin in divorce. Luckily, my ex did not rape me there.

    Like

  13. Farm Boy says:

    Was there any accommodation that you were not prepared to concede to make your marriage work?

    There was probably none.

    I was a super-nice beta. That was the problem. It worked for my Dad. But not for me. Times change.

    Like

  14. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I think Russina are more into medium duty trucks.

    Like

  15. Spawny Get says:

    I liked the start of the Phallus one. Stopping a runaway aircraft carrier heading for a church full of kittens…then it just turned into taking the piss out of the guys rather than the adverts. Shame.

    Like

  16. Farm Boy says:

    Yeah, the Phallus one could have been better. It did have its moments.

    Like

  17. Spawny Get says:

    Ever topped this level of…whatever this is?

    Like

  18. SFC Ton says:

    Ton loves trucks…. and cars…. and bikes…. and boats…..

    We use mostly Ford’s down range. I was told its because the frames etc take the weight from being up armoured better but even on shit roads in hajji land two wheel drive mode gets the job done .most of the time

    Also I have only gotten on truck stuck. I was fooling around in a Jeep with both my kids in it when I hit a tank trap but it wasn’t my 1st day on the job so I self rescued

    If I pulled heavier loads on muddy fields I’d think about 4 wheel drive but even a horse and trailer doesn’t exceed the limits on a small truck. If I pulled a load for any real distance I’d get diesel but I never take my horse to far down the road.

    Like

  19. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Farm Boy,
    At one point, on Sunshine Mary’s blog, I was encouraged to link Bob Seger videos. Later, I found out that SSM was not too fond of Bob Seger. This has to be a Michigan thing. Can you tell me what it’s all about?

    Like

  20. Farm Boy says:

    Dunno why SSM does not like Bob Seger. He once lived in Ann Arbor like SSM. The song “Mainstreet” is about the same named street in Ann Arbor.

    Like

  21. SFC Ton says:

    If I lived in India, I would text and ride too. Anything to cut my time in that shot hole short

    Like

  22. Spawny Get says:

    Gotta say the music did nothing for me in those ads. I like the idea of a go anywhere, do anything car (don’t have one, never had one), but none of those ads worked for me. We have ‘green landing’ in the UK, which appears to involve finding the most unsuitable track in the world and driving up it…as a hobby.

    Then Jezza from Top Gear took a 4×4 up a mountain in Scotland

    Some of my favourite music from the 3:40 mark. Something for my funeral, I think. Just before the zombies eat me.

    Like

  23. Spawny Get says:

    Not a place I fancy visiting.

    Retweeted a joke by a guy saying he’d mixed baked beans in with his Madras (hot, hot, hot) curry. Worked well, he said, but…Reckons he’ll be learning a good lesson in thinking things through beforehand come the morning toilet break.

    Like

  24. Farm Boy says:

    There are no chicks on this thread.

    Like

  25. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    May everything come out all right in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Spawny Get says:

    for the lolz

    Good night.

    Like

  27. Yoda says:

    With chicks size matters much.
    Shows how poor at discernment they are.

    Like

  28. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Yoda,
    Were you referring to the size of trucks?

    Like

  29. Yoda says:

    Trucks, other attributes also.

    Like

  30. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Yoda,
    I miss the girl commenters. If they were here, they would be linking videos of pickup trucks decorated with good looking girls in bikinis.

    Like

  31. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Yoda,
    That is more than a little embarrassing. To hand out materials related to BDSM to pre-pubescent kids is incomprehensible.
    I have another objection to this. Considering the recent release, even if these kids could see it, it wouldn’t be fair to the poor ones.

    Like

  32. Yoda says:

    Embarrassed they were not.
    Telling this is.

    Like

  33. Liz says:

    A token female has entered the thread.
    Your wish is my command, Fuzzie! 😉
    Here is a video of a bikini-clad woman sitting in a truck.

    Or…well, no truck exactly. That’s sand. But whatever. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Farm Boy says:

    Have other people seen the same as I have, the proliferation of pickup trucks with men? Even when they had no compelling reason to own one?

    Like

  35. Cautiously Pessimistic says:

    I’ve seen it, fb. Of course, I do live in Texas, so there’s a definite cultural thing on top of the manly-man signaling. Or maybe I’m being too generous. I’ve never cared for trucks, because people always ask if you can help move their stuff and they feel front heavy to me. A motorcycle on the other hand… I don’t even have to pretend it’s practical, and it’s a hell of a lot more fun to drive than a truck.

    Like

  36. Liz says:

    Farmboy: “Have other people seen the same as I have, the proliferation of pickup trucks with men? Even when they had no compelling reason to own one?”

    Back when I lived in Las Vegas, there were Hummers everywhere…it was the status thing back then. Out here, most everyone needs some sort of truck to pull the boat. And in New Mexico, there was a lot of offroading.
    In my experience, the men who own trucks usually do so for themselves. But, my experience is limited.

    Like

  37. Farm Boy says:

    Perhaps boats and stuff are just an excuse for many men to own a truck. Or perhaps the purposes are co-dependent.

    Like

  38. Cill says:

    A truck driven Kiwi style. The bloke driving it is the late Barry Crump, a real-life Crocodile Dundee – or the kiwi equivalent thereof.

    Like

  39. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Liz,
    That commercial made me hungry!

    Farm Boy,
    t’s not that pickup trucks are all that masculine, it”s that, between those and beer commercials, there’s not that much attention paid to men by Madison Avenue. It’s like we don’t count.
    There was some time spent in a waiting room and I leafed though a couple of women’s magazines. There was a conspicuous absense of pictures of men. I had to wonder. Is this a reflection of what women want?

    Like

  40. Cill says:

    The Aussie version. The bulls represent Aussies, the Ram represents a Kiwi. Notice how the Ram stands his ground, even though it’s an Aussie ad. They do manage to get some things right!

    Like

  41. Yoda says:

    it”s that, between those and beer commercials, there’s not that much attention paid to men by Madison Avenue

    The bear is on to something he might be.
    Good sense of smell he does have.

    Like

  42. Yoda says:

    There was a conspicuous absense of pictures of men. I had to wonder. Is this a reflection of what women want?

    Lesbians they could become.
    Miss them we will?

    Like

  43. Cill says:

    CP,
    Glad you liked it, mate.
    It was another true story from the family archives.

    Like

  44. molly says:

    “there’s not that much attention paid to men”. Did the advertising media ever pay much attention to men? In my lifetime they didn’t. It’s all for women, just about.

    Like

  45. Yoda says:

    In my lifetime they didn’t.

    Short your lifetime would be.
    For 800 years have I seen much.
    Poor the present situation is.

    Liked by 1 person

  46. Padawan says:

    A Trucker in the Making (by Padawan, Poet Laureate 2014 – ?)

    My nephew wee Meddy is learning to speak
    His vocab grows rapidly each ferking week
    He learned the word “Truck” quite lately from me
    ‘cept in his case the word don’t begin with a “T”
    First time he used it, of all the bad luck,
    In a crowded toyshop was “Fuck Mummy, Fuck!”

    Like

  47. Farm Boy says:

    Perhaps a variant of the interpretation could be: “Since women have emasculated men through the law and other means, men have little choice but to try to buy some of it back”

    Like

  48. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Molly,
    I have to second what Yoda said about the target of advertising. It all started to change in the 80s and 90s. If women were spend eighty five cents of every dollar spent, why court men with their fifteen cents? There’s one problem. Now that marriage rates have gone from seventy to fifty percent of adults, there are that many less women unable to spend their husband’s take home.

    Like

  49. Liz says:

    Not sure where I should put this review?
    [SG – the product of your suffering has been made into a post – cheers]
    I’ll just post it here and if Swithy wants to make it a thread feel free Mr Swithy. 🙂

    Not Bad, For a Fake Orgasm (50 Shades review)

    What do you get, when you take the word’s worst published novel and make it into a movie? Pretty much what you’d expect. Actually, in all honesty, since the book sucked ass from beginning to finish cutting out parts actually kind of, sort of, improved things.

    For example, I was only treated to the line, ‘laters baby’ three times instead of fifty, and was spared the inner monologues regarding Anastasia’s “inner Goddess”. There was not a single “Jeez” (well over fifty of those in the book), “Oh, my” (probably 50 times in the book), or Holy (shit/fuck/crap/hell/cow/Moses)” (used over 150 times in the book…someone actually counted). We were even spared the scene with Bella’s tampon (excuse me, Ana’s tampon).

    As bad as this movie is (it’s REALLY bad), I can’t understand why anyone who liked the book wouldn’t like it…perhaps because, in the harsh reality of screen-light, the characters appear to be every bit as mundane and unlikeable as they really are, and the dialogue as preposterous as it really is?
    Yes, Virginia, a grown man should never refer a parlor as his ‘playroom’ and when he does you really do envision Pee Wee Herman dancing around in his. The actor’s delivery came across as wooden and contrived, but this was absolutely true to the writer’s fantasy. (“Mr Grey’s” film performance reminded me, strangely, of Steven Guttenburg’s character on Three Men and a Little Lady with the perpetual nondescript, confused wide-eyed stare. But, really, what was the actor supposed to do with that part?)

    There was one “plot twist” (if I can use the term in a movie devoid of any real plot) that pleasantly surprised me: Anastasia’s “independence” was never really touted. When she ran home to her mother for “advice” it actually looked like she was…running home to her mother. When Mr Grey pursued her it actually came across like what it was (stalking). If anything, compared to the book he under-stalked, under-regulated, under-demanded by far. But not one reviewer (to my knowledge) has noted this…they’ve only noted how controlling the self-described sadist comes across, as though it were somehow new information.

    But aside from discarding the “independence” aspect, the actress captured her character’s essence in the book, exact. She was precisely as clumsy, moronic and (to steal the line from the Lego Movie) the least talented and least extraordinary person in the world.
    By contrast, Mr Grey is a self-made billionaire surrounded by beautiful people 24/7, is a beautiful looking person himself, accomplished pilot, athletic, plays the piano…but he is a tragic figure because he has that secret that makes him broody, and (for reasons that are never made clear) only Bella…er, Anastasia can fill his hollow soul. Because, under that sadistic/stalking/control freak is a really pure heart that needs cuddling by the least interesting person he could ever strap onto his play table. And he shows her just what a wonderful special snowflake she is in his estimation via a series of “firsts” (first sleepover in his bed, first girl to meet his parents, yadda yadda).

    As a related side-note, I was also pleasantly surprised that the hens didn’t wear skanky outfits. They sure talked such a big game, “Wear your costume, hee hee!” They spoke of props and masks, and so forth. I thought I’d be “out of costume” wearing jeans and my hoodie with sneakers, but they were all dressed about the same. I think there were three men in the whole theater, with their dates probably sixty or so women. And, in fact, none of those women brought the “props” or wore the types of cougar suits I’d expected.

    When I left, I felt as though I’d eaten a bad meal with mild indigestion. Kind of like leaving the scene of an accident, I didn’t look around but just headed straight for the door and wanted to get the hell out of there…but I never once actually had to fight a compulsion to yell ‘fire’ in the crowded theater to escape, so there’s that. Going in with the extraordinarily low expectations I had for this movie…it met them, but didn’t exceed them.

    [SG – Might I suggest to the peeps that comments are best placed on the post? – cheers]

    Liked by 1 person

  50. Yoda says:

    Patriarch put in separate post he should.

    Liked by 1 person

  51. Spawny Get says:

    Patriarch is doing so…
    Great work Liz, you took one for the team ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

  52. SFC Ton says:

    A friend’s sister came down to visit and commented on how many trucks and muscle cars there are around these parts

    We are rural so there is an aspect of need, and culture but this is also near Ft Bragg home of Paratroopers and SF. That tends to be an active, rural and outdoor crowd. Not to mention high testosterone younger men who enjoy powerful things and controlling them

    What was difficult for me was when trucks where in transition from work tools to family rides and the cost of vehicles turns me off. Lower enlisted guys have cars/ trucks that cost damn near what my house did. Course I think usury is the devil

    Like

Comments are closed.

