Pretty in Pink?


Perhaps you have seen the upsurge in pink usage throughout the years here in the US.  What are the reasons behind this?  Good question.  I have some theories.

Here in the US, the usage of pink has increased dramatically since I was a child.  Back then, pink was primarily used on baby girl’s clothes.  This of course was due to the fact that it is often difficult to tell the gender of babies from a distance.  Sometimes, baby rooms had touches of pink also, but it was almost always understated.  Furthermore, it normally went away as the infant grew older.

Compare that with today.  Girls, especially young girls, are festooned with pink.  Their clothes, their rooms, their toys, their blankets, their phones and tablets.  It is difficult to think of something that a girl can own that does not come in a pink flavor.  And these days, young women get into the act also.

This rise of the color pink probably has many factors to it. One of them would seem to be an in-your-face-show for men.   Pink has been pitched as an awesome color used by awesome people; which of course are never men.  That is, men don’t do pink, not that they are never awesome.

Another factor might be the association of pink with wholesomeness and female virtues.  The widespread use of pink may be an attempt to compensate a bit for the fact that many modern women are distinctly lacking in the female virtues department.

This is of course a not really so important issue, but it is an interesting one.  If others have theories, do chime in.

Tagged with:
Posted in FarmBoy, Feminism
61 comments on “Pretty in Pink?
  1. Farm Boy says:

    Lately I have seen many older larger women wearing pink from head to toe. Please don’t do it. When I see that, I immediately think of fattened pigs.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    It’s not current but, when Eisenhower was asked by the press as to how he was feeling in the wake of his heart attack, he responded by saying, “In the pink,”I can guess that women didn’t own the color when he was President in the 50s.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tarnished says:

    I actually avoid wearing or owning anything pink for this very reason.

    That, and my favorite color is dark blue…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yoda says:

    Boy you are?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tarnished says:

    Yoda,

    I sure would like to have been.

    Like

  6. Yoda says:

    I sure would like to have been

    Manspread you could do.
    Awesome it is.

    Like

  7. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Farm Boy,
    You need to put a positive spin on it. When you see a woman all in pink, imagine all the bacon and how it would make doggie happy!

    Like

  8. Tarnished says:

    Yoda,

    Eh, I already sit with my ankle up on my knee or legs apart. It *is* more comfortable.

    Like

  9. Liz says:

    ” If others have theories, do chime in.”

    Raises hand, jumping up and down going ‘Ooo! Oooo! Oooo pick me!!!”

    Breast cancer awareness movement. Started with the pink ribbon, then pink invaded everything. This is evident to anyone who has ever been dragged to one of those zoombathon-for-breast-cancer charity thingies.

    Like

  10. Liz says:

    And if you care, people, You will wear pink too! The color is directly proportional to your feeling of carezzz.

    (not to be flippant for those who have lost loved ones to cancer, but wtf is dancing around like a jackass with pink paint on your face going to do for them? Furthermore, why is breast cancer so soo much more important than other forms of cancer? Thirdly, some of the ‘preventative measures’ like most mammograms actually increase the risk of cancer, since radiation causes cancer and breast tissue is particularly sensitive to it. Fourthly, as excited as everyone seems to be about mammograms catching cancer “early on” the machines actually often catch it TOO early on. We have natural mechanisms (enzymes and such) that fight abnormalities and kill them off…that’s what they are designed to do. So catching things too early on can lead to unnecessary surgery, not to mention the psychological effect of being told you have cancer. There was actually a Danish study on this, and cadavers were excavated. They found out in old days gone by elderly women who died of natural causes (not cancer) had small abnormalities that would have been picked up as cancer on a mammogram today, something like 80 percent of the time. This actually led to a change in their healthcare policy.

    Caveat: If there is breastcancer in the family, or one tests positive for those breast cancer genes, or one has some bad habits that lead to cancer like smoking, by all means get that screening…but that’s different from the current bromide and the way things are done currently I place the annual mammogram in the category of stupid health bullshit we’re required to do far too early and often for no good reason. All healthcare is a cost to gains equation. This one has generated a movement that is so successful it has led to a lot of unnecessary expenditures in relation to the actual risk (keep in mind, many women who believe they were diagnosed early and had surgery are in the category above…they may adamantly, absolutely believe they were saved from cancer, when they never really had it in the first place).

    Lizard rant over.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Tarnished says:

    You know, Liz, I’ve been wondering if some of our preventative measures here in the US don’t cause us more issues than they solve.

    There’s the one you described above about mammograms. Then there’s the fact doctors, especially pediatricians, are under pressure to prescribe antibiotics for every sniffle or cough, thus leading to the evolution of “super bugs” that aren’t even affected anymore. Lastly, there’s the fact US women are (or were when I was 17) told from age 16-18 onwards that they *need* to have an annual pap smear done. All these constant (and largely unnecessary) scrapings in such a delicate area may actually be the very reason we have more instances of cervical cancer than women in the UK or Australia, where it’s done far less often.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Liz says:

    Yes, Tarn, YES. I had my first pap when I was 16 (maybe 15). It was required for them to put me on the pill. Keep in mind, I was a virgin and the pill wasn’t for birth control at all…it was to start my periods up again (another topic, that, the mass prescribing of oral contraception for arbitrary reasons). Lots of places are changing the annual pap policies now, and after a couple of years with no abnormalities, every 3 or 5 years is considered enough.

    What often happens is, like any bureaucracy, things can become ‘core measures’. That results in one standard practice for everyone. It’s intended to streamline things and cut costs but in practical reality it can often result in exactly the opposite. These measures always, always start with good intentions…just like every other government policy. Don’t get me started on vaccinations. No one seems to be able to discuss that one in a rational manner without losing their mind.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Tarnished says:

    Yeah, many “sheeple” just nod and go with what the core medical belief is…which is good in some cases, but deserves a harder look in others. I have always only gotten mine done every 5 years. The doctor thought I was crazy, but I told him that was what I wanted and he acquiesced to my wishes. Unfortunately, my sisters still go every year, which I think is actually harming them because of the amount of pain they say results from it. 😦

    Like

  14. Liz says:

    You’re lucky you had a choice, and the doctor still gave you the prescription, Tarn.
    I mean, in theory you always have a choice but if the doctor won’t prescribe the birth control for you, and you need that prescription, you don’t really have a choice.

    Like

  15. Liz says:

    Keep in mind, just to add, any doctor who deviates from the usual practice is risking his license. So even though the chances you have cervical cancer might be low, low, low, he’s still taking a risk. First question if you got it, and it was caught late because you didn’t have a pap…”why didn’t you require that annual exam?” “Well, she signed off on the risks…” “Doesn’t matter, you’re the doctor…”
    That’s just the way things go, unfortunately. And it’s the same way a bureaucracy grows. Rules, laws, regulations and everyone has to cover their ass by doing them or…hello lawsuit.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Tarnished says:

    Sorry, I should have clarified: I’ve never needed birth control. This was just going to the gyno for a regular checkup.

    Sex Talk Below!
    I haven’t ever experienced female “issues” like cramps, period migraines, severe bloating, nausea, etc. If it weren’t for the 3 days of light bleeding, I’d have thought I was infertile or had a genetic abnormality. Since my FwB is my only partner and he got snipped before we met, we’ve never needed birth control. I did try using the Pill for 3 months just to see what it was like, and other than getting rid of my periods altogether it just made me really horny all the time. I already think about sex numerous times a day, but this was just constant physical arousal. Which when you think about it is weird, because a common side effect of birth control is a decrease in libido. 😕

    Like

  17. Tarnished says:

    Oh, and because I got those 3 months of Pills at my local Planned Parenthood, they didn’t require a pap either. You just have a consultation, pay for the birth control, and leave.

    Like

  18. Yoda says:

    Trigger Warnings appreciated they are.

    Liked by 2 people

  19. Tarnished says:

    Yoda,

    I’m glad we worked something out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Yoda says:

    Breast cancer awareness movement. Started with the pink ribbon, then pink invaded everything

    An accellerant this was.
    Much happened before it did.

    Like

  21. Yoda says:

    Women have own color they do.
    Men have not.

    Conclude what we should?

    Like

  22. Cill says:

    Yoda, I have a color. I am “Blue” quintuply over:
    1. My mother gave all her children a color. Mine was blue.
    2. At school I was called Bluey because of the color of my eyes.
    3. In military training I was called Blue because of the color of my eyes (completely independently of #2)
    4. My favorite color, by far, is blue.
    5. My favorite things, sky and sea, are blue.

    I am Blue.

    You are Green.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Yoda says:

    Padawan the Poet appear he should.
    Pink a good theme it would be.

    Like

  24. Yoda says:

    You are Green.

    Verde I am.
    Hinting more of Latin Passion it does.

    Like

  25. Liz says:

    Cill: You like blue?
    I like blue too!
    My favorite color, it is. My eye color, it also is.

    Liked by 2 people

  26. Cill says:

    The Blue Brigade we are!
    (And Yoda is green)

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Cill says:

    And Fuzzy is brown (or black? He never said, did he)

    Like

  28. Padawan says:

    It’s Not Easy Being Pink (by Padawan, Poet Laureate 2014 – ?)

    While girls have pink, boys just stink
    And girls get all the helping,
    If not at the sink, they grumble in ink,
    Or by painfully publicly yelping.

    They overdrink and doublethink
    While strangling all his dreaming
    Before you can blink they’re at the shrink
    And learning new ways of screaming

    The more boys sweat the less they get,
    Pink is his Chain and Ball
    While Pink seems to think that overdrink
    And Fuck.When.You.Meet is All.

    Liked by 4 people

  29. Yoda says:

    You are Green.

    Verde

    Like

  30. Cill says:

    Sorry, you are Green Verde
    Green is strong, like the Force.
    Verde is the color of a swamp.

    Like

  31. Spawny Get says:

    I feel sullied by my ‘liking’ some PadaPoetry…scrub those hands, more bleach, flagellate to feel clean again

    Like

  32. Cill says:

    If Tarn and Liz and Molly & co don’t click “Like” on it we’ll know they’ve taken it personally…

    Liked by 1 person

  33. molly says:

    I’m too busy to be here. Cill pested me and now I see why. Liked Padawan, gotta go, whooosh (exit stage right)

    Like

  34. Yoda says:

    Sound better which does?

    Giuseppe Verde?
    Joe Green?

    Like

  35. Cill says:

    Which would you prefer in Mrs Yoda: verdant or fervent?

    Like

  36. Cill says:

    Yoda is:

    Synonyms for green
    adj young, new, blooming

    fresh,
    grassy,
    leafy,
    lush,
    raw,
    tender,
    verdant,
    budding,
    burgeoning,
    developing,
    flourishing,
    foliate,
    growing,
    immature,
    infant,
    juvenile,
    maturing,
    pullulating,
    recent,
    sprouting,
    supple,
    unripe,
    bosky,
    callow,
    half-formed,
    pliable,
    puerile

    😀

    Like

  37. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I do like being a bear. Whether I am black or brown come down to convenience. Male brown bears weigh in at 1100 pounds while black bears weigh 500 pounds. There may be a lot of places where brown bears can’t fit.

    Yoda,
    You are green, it’s the chili that is verde.

    Like

  38. Yoda says:

    Whether I am black or brown

    Die your hair you do?

    Like

  39. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Yoda,
    I do look forward to Davis Aurini completing his documentary about Anita Sarkeesian.

    In a previous link, you brought up Lindy West but, it had to be old news of when she still wrote for Jezabel. Did they take her back?

    Like

  40. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    The fembots are at it again. Fail with a hoax on Rolling Stone, then put together a documentary to be aired on CNN. This is from COTWA

    http://www.cotwa.info/2015/01/explosive-new-campus-rape-propaganda.html

    Like

  41. blurkel says:

    My apologies in advance to Irish Nationalists for my blasphemous corruption of their anthem.

    O Daddy dear, and did ye hear how many now wear pink?
    It used to be the tint of lasses, from it men would shrink
    No more! This Metrosexual hue is ev’rywhere now seen
    for human beings with no taste a’partin’ with their green

    I’ll be off-line for a bit, as my mother passed last Saturday. I’ll have to attend to several issues which will gobble my time. I’ll be back once it’s done.

    Like

  42. Cill says:

    Fuzzy, The MSM is a travesty. To paraphrase George W Bush, “Don’t confuse us with the facts, our mind is made up.” They are pathetic.

    Like

  43. Cill says:

    Spawny, for when you wake up: I tried Old Coach Riesling today. NZ$10.00 per bottle. Good quality. Central Otago (NZ) is to Riesling and Pinot Gris as Coonawarra is to Cabernet Sauvignon, although not as long-established. Because the region is relatively new the white wines are selling for a lot less than they will in the future. For whites, just what you’re looking for, I think.

    Like

  44. Padawan says:

    The fembots Glee (by Padawan, Poet Laureate 2014 – ?)

    While we invent a rape culture spate
    Our lies do not get unstitched
    Let girls point the finger as we stir up hate
    Whilst the Media stay as our bitch

    Like

  45. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Cill,
    I have to wonder that, in the future, feminists will be embarrassed by their blind adherance. It will all be there and recorded.
    That is the advantage and disadvantage of feminism. They are the establishment.

    Like

  46. Spawny Get says:

    Sorry to hear your news, Blurkel. Whatever the relationship was, there’s no longer any chance of it improving. My relationship with my dad was okay, but his relatively early, sudden, death meant our improving rapport never got to develop very far. I think I understand him more now than I did when I was younger. I recognise our similarities and his sacrifices in providing for his family. A good man, I think, if a little misunderstood. What might have been…

    Good luck with the coming turbulence. You said there were issues that would be raised.

    I look forward to your return.

    Liked by 2 people

  47. Cill says:

    I’m with Spawny re Blurkel. I wish there was some way I could help. We’re with you, brother B

    Liked by 2 people

  48. Yoda says:

    Sad this is.
    Condolences I send.

    -Yoda

    Liked by 1 person

  49. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Blurkel,
    Losing your Mom is the big one. You never do quite get over it. Stay busy and take the grief in spoonfuls.

    Liked by 1 person

  50. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Yoda,
    I don’t know about all this. You would think that the first instinct of a good wife would be not to make waves at work for her husband.

    Liked by 1 person

  51. Cill says:

    Tarn will be copping the snow blizzard. Sounds bad.

    Liked by 2 people

  52. Tarnished says:

    Blurkel,
    I know my sympathy for your situation cannot begin to ease your pain, but you have it. And I don’t think I’m remiss in saying you have support from all of us, should you need it.

    Cill,
    The snow isn’t too awful for what it’s worth (only about 5 inches), but it’s very cold and icy everywhere.

    Like

  53. Cill says:

    I added a new post.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

