The Devil was in your heart But Heaven was in your eyes


Among other musical formats, I happen to like Big Band music. Living near the world-renowned Claremont Colleges and their radio station KSPC, I get to hear some on the weekends as I come home from my work shift.

One of the songs I heard today was Tommy Dorsey’s “Little White Lies”:

One of the lines got stuck in my brain, the one I used as the title to this piece. I looked for the lyrics (available here: http://www.lyricsfreak.com/t/tommy+dorsey/little+white+lies_20801981.html), and as I read them, I was struck by what a beta the song’s protagonist was. He makes a try, but fails, and expresses his disappointment by attributing his failure to her untruthfulness. Red Pill Types might just see this vignette another way.

On the page where the Dorsey lyrics can be found, there was a link to a more current “song” by Ziggy Azalea entitled “Beg For It”. Scanning those lyrics (available here: http://www.lyricsfreak.com/i/iggy+azalea/beg+for+it_21088136.html), It struck me that they could fit together as a “he said she said” kind of a song, allowing that the musical styles would be difficult to blend. I just don’t have the time to devote to that particular project, so we’ll leave it as a musical libretto for your minds.

Before I get started, lyrics for “Little White Lies” are copyrighted by © Warner/Chappell Music, Inc., Universal Music Publishing Group, Kobalt Music Publishing Ltd., while lyrics for “Beg For It” are copyrighted by © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Universal Music Publishing Group. I do not use the entire set of lyrics in either case, and claim Fair Use for what I do use. No point in getting the vulture lawyers on my working-class case!!!

My interpretation, as excerpted:

Him:

The moon was all aglow
But heaven was in your eyes

Her:

Pulled up looking picture perfect, baby
High price (ooh), but I’m worth it, baby

And my waist slim, ass fat, you gotta have it
Get my bake on, cake long, that’s automatic

Him:

The stars all seemed to know
You didn’t mean all those sighs

Who wouldn’t believe those lips
Who wouldn’t believe those eyes

The night that you told me
Those little white lies

Her:

I’mma make you beg, I’mma make you beg for it
If you don’t do this right, you’re going home alone

Him:

I try, but there’s no forgetting
When evenin’ appears
I sigh but there’s no regretting
In spite of my tears

Her:

I need me a braveheart, can’t deal with a coward
I tell ‘im if he ain’t balling, he should hit the showers

Him:

The Devil was in your heart
But Heaven was in your eyes
The night that you told me
Those little white lies

Her:

You can look boy but don’t you touch
If you want my love make me give a fuck
Make you beg, I’mma make you beg for it

I know you like the way I turn it up

If you want my love better smoke it up
Make you beg, I’mma make you beg for it

OK, that’s my take on what I saw as the connection between these songs and today’s gender-based social interactions. Maybe it worked, maybe it didn’t. But until I tried it on for size, I’d have no rest – and I won’t beg for it.

Your thoughts now invited in the comments.

Edit: cleaned up HTML tags for lyric links.

Posted in Blurkel, Fun
48 comments on “The Devil was in your heart But Heaven was in your eyes
  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    This is not going to end well. He is a little too idealistic and romantic for her.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Spawny Get says:

    Fuzzie, I appreciate that style of humour. Well done.

    Like

  3. Cill says:

    “The Devil was in your heart But Heaven was in your eyes”

    … I’ve never seen a more eye-catching post heading.

    Abso-flaming-lutely Pow!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Padawan says:

    While Heaven was in her Eyes the Wallet was in his Pocket (by Padawan, Poet Laureate 2014 – ?)
    Is she worth what she gave him before?
    She says she is, he’s not so sure

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yoda says:

    Make you beg, I’mma make you beg for it

    800 years later, able to do she will?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yoda says:

    Link her up with Big Red one should.
    Made for each other they are

    Like

  7. theasdgamer says:

    Big Band Swing is the Thing!

    Here’s eight full minutes of listening pleasure for all of you hard rockers:

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Cill says:

    Damn, but I like that swing sound myself. I should listen to more of it. I played Glenn Miller in the background last time during shearing, and I reckon the sheep loved it! I could swear there was a jig in the step of some of the ewes (this isn’t sarcasm, I’m serious) !

    As for “big band”, well… I know some of it from my parents’ collection. My absolute favorite music is classical, and old “rock” is a close second.

    Would you call “Money For Nothing” an example of swing? It swings for sure, but is it “swing”?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Yoda says:

    Would you call “Money For Nothing” an example of swing?

    More of an example of Feminism it would be.

    Like

  10. Cill says:

    There’s more ‘Sting’ than ‘Swing’ in Feminism, Yoda.
    Bwahahaa!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Cill,
    Animals like classical too!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Yoda says:

    There’s more ‘Sting’

    “Wrapped around my finger” it would be.
    Except wrapped around her finger it would be

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Spawny Get says:

    Is this swing?

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Cill says:

    Dire Straits + Sting, Feminism + Money For Nothing … and not even a lol?
    Mine was as good as ‘Codzilla vs Mouthra’, if you ask me…

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Spawny Get says:

    I didn’t and it wasn’t.

    [SG – edit to add following]

    *harrumph*

    Like

  16. Cill says:

    Spawny’s reaction to the indifference with which we have treated his ‘Codzilla vs Mouthra’ attempt at humour (I’m hoping he can get the hurt out of off his system vicariously, via Linda’s impassioned plea):

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Spawny Get says:

    There is no ‘attempt’ one either does or does not…and I doesed.
    *raspberry*

    Like

  18. blurkel says:

    Did a quick youtube search and found animals like various kinds of music. The Trombone loving cows are a kick!

    Like

  19. blurkel says:

    I went and forgot to add the link!!!! It’s a search results page with lots of video links.

    https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=farmer+plays+trumpet+for+cows

    Like

  20. Cill says:

    Brother Blurkel: at last a man of discernment comes this way! Meanwhile Spawny’s ‘Codzilla vs Mouthra’ remains tickless and unloved. I wonder if someone could just “Like” the confounded thing to put it out of its misery?

    (Spawny, fortunately sophistication can be learned. It’s never too late, me old garden gate 😉 )

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Yoda says:

    There is no ‘attempt’ one either does or does not

    Familiar this is.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. blurkel says:

    Cill, I’d be glad to provide that Like which Spawny seems to need [ ;-)], but I don’t remember exactly where it was.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Cill says:

    When I try to make things easier with animals, music does seem to work. I usually play them Mozart. They do calm down – perhaps because I’m calmer, who knows. When I played Glenn Miller instead, the sheep acted a bit pissed off that it wasn’t the sound they were used to. Then it was like they suddenly got into it by group-think, nodding their heads and twitching their rumps.

    Dogs definitely get into some music. My Dog contorts his big mouth into a small “o” at the front, as if he’s pursing up to whistle “Green Sleeves”. Then lets out a moan like the anguish of the damned. The more soulful he looks, the more anguished he sounds.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Spawny Get says:

    You know all the love I was feeling in the community?

    All gone

    Like

  25. Cill says:

    Conveniently Unfortunately I can’t recall where I last saw it, Blurkel. Maybe the man himself could give you a pointer. 😉

    Like

  26. Spawny Get says:

    “When I try to make things easier with animals”

    Sometimes it’s not easy having a smutty mind.

    Like

  27. blurkel says:

    @cillintj [DAMN AUTO CORRECT!!!!!]

    I had a similar experience when last I attended college.

    We had a construction project underway, and one of the crew offered to play a bootleg of the Doors live in Paris. The sound quality was entirely lacking, as whoever recorded it had no clue how to do it. Everyone was squabbling and very little got done.

    When the distortion ended, someone else offered a tape of Mozart, and we all became peaceful, and had completed the project in a shorter period than we’d planned on.

    Music thus truly hath charms to soothe the savage beast, even if the beasts are of the genus homo

    Like

  28. blurkel says:

    Communal love doesn’t run out unless the object of affection does.

    Like

  29. Cill says:

    The Mozart piano concerto for 2 pianos (can’t recall the exact title for it) is the one I play. It instils a deep soothing peace into the livestock and the birds in the forest. Is it because they enjoy the beauty of the sound? I don’t suppose I’ll ever know the answer to that.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. blurkel says:

    @ Spawny

    A former coworker was asked by his naive wife why shepherds wore boots when working with the flock. Deciding this was too good to pass up, he said that the shepherds would put the sheep’s hind legs in their boots to keep them in place.

    “Wouldn’t they try to run away?”

    “Yup!:

    “And the boots would contract and pull them back?”

    “Yup!”

    “Why would a shepherd want . . . ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!”

    He told me he couldn’t stop laughing at the shocked look on her face when the light bulb went on.

    [Sorry Cill!]

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Spawny Get says:

    There are rumours that Cill has a conviction for sheep worrying. I know there are, I started them.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. blurkel says:

    @ Cill

    Your theory is as good an explanation of the effect of music on wild life as any other.

    Liked by 1 person

  33. Padawan says:

    “When I try to make things easier with animals” (by Padawan, Poet Laureate 2014 – ?)

    Mary had a little sheep
    She took it to bed with her to sleep
    The sheep turned out to be a ram
    And Mary had a little lamb

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Cill says:

    “There are rumours that Cill has a conviction for sheep worrying.”

    Just when I was about to provide the link to Spawny’s benighted ‘Codzilla vs Mouthra’… my altruism died within in me.

    Like

  35. Cill says:

    This might instil a deep soothing calm into Spawny (The url might need some cropping by Blurkel or Spawny):

    Liked by 1 person

  36. Cill says:

    “Goals they have”
    And… Yoda brought me back to earth with a thud.
    The fembots haven’t learned a doggoned thing. Am I surprised? I guess I was hoping against hope…
    I should’ve known better.

    Like

  37. blurkel says:

    @ Cill

    Might be a bit energetic for soothing The Spawn.

    Maybe a little “Starless” by King Crimson?

    http://www.youtube-gir.com/watch?v=aAAqAnCBNKQ

    Liked by 1 person

  38. Cill says:

    I’m with you there, blurkel. However I think my Mozart put him to sleep already. (the fact that it’s 1:47 a.m. in Spawny ville might have something to do with it as well)

    Like

  39. blurkel says:

    @ Yoda

    As a reader of Sun Tzu, I’m amazed at the rampant desire to confront the opposition using their tactics and on ground of their choosing, and in direct and immediate response to the challenge.

    “Thus the expert in battle moves the enemy, and is not moved by him.”
    ― Sun Tzu, The Art of War

    Like

  40. blurkel says:

    As I’m about to retire for the night myself, I understand. I’ll be up for a short bit, but slumber summons!

    Like

  41. Cill says:

    Well it’s been a great post, brother B. The best heading I’ve seen, a fair bit of discussion around music. I’ve enjoyed it, for one.

    Liked by 1 person

  42. Cill says:

    The only thing missing was the presence of Fuzzie the bear. I shouldn’t expect to have it all, I guess.

    Like

  43. Spawny Get says:

    THE MAYOR OF MGTOWN SPEAKS YELLS

    Like

  44. blurkel says:

    We may not have been discussing music of Fuzzie’s favor. When we do, he’ll be about!

    Like

Comments are closed.

