This is why you reach out…just saying


Having seen the parody of his documentary on the NHS, I’m not an uncritical fan of Michael, let’s put it that way. He has lots of views that I don’t share.

HOWEVER

It is NOT that I think that all hurt men are on-the-edge, okay?

The vast majority just need some hope, encouragement, maybe a little male social time.

Did those kids have to get driven to snapping point? Whatever additional factors there were, what a difference a little compassion years earlier might have made.

Nothing wrong with quietly encouraging men and boys to open up to the great realities of being a man, put all the feminist misandric poison aside. Men are good. Men built pretty much everything that you see around you. Nothing wrong with being a man (or boy). Brother.

So, how about telling such guys that, showing them that there are more options out there than they might have considered. Things change, options emerge. Decisions can be made. Experiments made. That anger won’t help them, it will hurt them – use it for positive motivation, or drop it. It’s toxic for you. Drop the anger for you.

Posted in Why, WTH
88 comments on “This is why you reach out…just saying
  1. Tarnished says:

    Instead of shying away from an angry man…or questioning the masculinity of a crying one…or looking askance at one who is hurting…

    Perhaps it would be a better thing to listen to why he’s angry…offer your shoulder and hand…and freely give condolences or sympathy.

    We all have moments of weakness. It is a part of our humanity. To deny these to a boy or man is to deem him inhuman.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Moehau Man says:

    gidday

    Like

  3. Moehau Man says:

    Ah, yeah, onya,

    Old Moe here has worked it out for you jokers as a favour by way of introducing himself.

    Now it’s like this:
    If Spawny has a “Home tab” on this site, finding it is like trying to squeeze a blackhead off your bum with a pair of boxing gloves in a coal mine at midnight. So here’s what you do:

    On every blog in this joint you’ll see a comment by Spawny Get. You’ll find him everywhere, this bloke splashes his name around like a cow evacuating its bladder in a milking shed.. There’s one of him at 11 October, 2014 at 5:52 pm just above here, see? A few inches up. “Spawny Get”.

    Well all you have to do, my old sons, is click on his name and that’ll take you to his home page.

    All right? Story.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Spawny Get says:

    Who can keep up with your modern lingo? Welcome aboard strangerer.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tarnished says:

    You guys speaking Bunyip or something? 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Moehau Man says:

    Well bugger me days if that’s not someone knows Bunyip.

    Like

  7. Spawny Get says:

    Dow Nunda Speakinese.

    Like

  8. Moehau Man says:

    Last time I spoke it was in the shed when a cow stood on me foot

    Like

  9. Moehau Man says:

    The word “bollocks” sorta shot outa me mouth before I had a chance to reflect on the finer things in life.

    Like

  10. Spawny Get says:

    That’ll do it, that’s how I learnt it in ‘fact’

    Like

  11. Moehau Man says:

    Like shark farts for the bubbles in spirit levels, eh. That’s a fact.

    Like

  12. Moehau Man says:

    Now getting back to the topic, men *are* good. *That’s* a fact.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Spawny Get says:

    Yeah. I think so. Most of the men I meet are perfectly fine just as they are. Despite what one might hear elsewhere.

    Like

  14. Moehau Man says:

    Anyway, mate, at new sites I always do a security check. If you’re the real Brit Spawny, you’ll know what “pulling pud with grimy ‘ands” means. Just checking.

    Like

  15. Spawny Get says:

    You’re better looking than I thought…and I do know what you’re alluding to 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Moehau Man says:

    Check. Good as gold

    Like

  17. Spawny Get says:

    In some ways it’s a shame that you and Fuzzie are both male. Otherwise you two could produce beautiful kids together 😉

    Just a thought…

    Like

  18. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Bloom may have something to say about that.
    Bloom, where are you?

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Spawny Get says:

    Your next mission, should you choose to accept it, is to go to http://www.gravatar.com and create an account under your email address, or a newly minted one.

    Then upload an image. Very straight forward.

    Your gravatar account is also a WordPress account (same password)

    You should have a hairy ape avatar (my guess of your first choice (Fuzzie), you can choose again at any time) and a WordPress account…

    Like

  20. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Spawny,
    I have a toy computer. What is needed is a photo of an appropiate sized bear hard at work at it.

    Like

  21. Moehau Man says:

    Buggered if I know about some of you foreign blokes. This business about doing it with bears sounds a bit dodgy to me.

    Like

  22. Spawny Get says:

    Fuzzie, we’ll have to come up with a plan, tomorrow?

    Moe, you’re halfway there, man!

    Like

  23. Moehau Man says:

    Dunno about that. Think about it for a moment, mate. Bears have short legs and mine are as high as an elephants cods. I’d give it a burl if I thought it would work, but that’s about as wishful as me singing “this land is my land” in Soho.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Liz says:

    I have a bunyap shirt (several of them). I even have bunyap baby onesies and bunyip toddler tee shirts (the kids have since outgrown them).

    The bunyap was the mascot for one of our previous squadrons. 🙂

    OT: Good video, Swithy.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Liz says:

    Guess it’s fitting that ebul liz would have ‘screaming demon’ baby suits.
    Here is the squadron ‘kit’ I’m talking about.

    These aren’t the shirts or onesies though…I can’t find the image now but mine were really cute, a little baby bunyap, not these mean looking critters that would scare a little guy. But, you can get the idea:

    http://www.cafepress.ca/+screamin-demons+baby-bodysuits

    Liked by 2 people

  26. Moehau Man says:

    Well Liz just google on “Images for bunyip” and you’ll see the Bunyip of the Aboriginees. Your yap to their yip, though, life is just a box of fluffy ducks

    Like

  27. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    After seeing those images of baby coture, I thought that this may interest Liz.

    Liked by 2 people

  28. Moehau Man says:

    Don’t ask me how I haven’t a clue, but I never knew the young were called “onesies”. What’s the gestation period, Liz?

    Like

  29. Moehau Man says:

    That was a pretty staunch looking P40 there, Mr Fuzzy, a bit frightening for onesies I would’ve thought. They lack fortitude of Moehau kids. After all, Bunyip onesies are Aussies, Moehau kids are as Kiwi as Marmite. Everyone who’s ever eaten it knows, you need a bit of the old fortitude to chomp your way through a Marmite sammie.

    Like

  30. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Moehau Man,
    I did a search for “bunyip” and it’s a good thing that they are mythical. Yikes!Now, you’re telling me that marmite are worse? More yikes!

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Moehau Man says:

    Well Mr Fuzzy I never had too much of a problem with Marmite myself. Take a slice of the old wholemeal bread, spread a bit of butter on it then some Marmite then some crisp chips on top, make it into a sammie and you’ve got a fairly tasty bite. I’ve had it breakfast, lunch and even tea on occasions. Marmite is KIWIANA all the way.

    Like

  32. Tarnished says:

    Marmite?

    Ugh…bleh…So incredibly nasty.
    That “food” tastes like goat vitamins!

    Like

  33. Tarnished says:

    Might I suggest that you are insane?
    Or at least that your taste buds have either vacated your tongue or are playing a cruel joke on you?

    Like

  34. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Moehau Man,
    I did look it up on wikipedia before commenting. I was on the verge of saying something about not wanting to eat something that would eat me but, all wikipedia had to display were jars.
    That’s a relief.

    Like

  35. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Tarnished, It sounds l9ike you have sampled some of this stuff. From glancing at the description, it does sound like it’s highly nutritious.

    Like

  36. Moehau Man says:

    Before my presence here rattles the old cage too much, I better explain.

    I understand that pictures of Bunyips and talk of Moehau Mans going at it with bears can deeply disturb the tender human mind. Could I suggest that you click my avatar to get a sight to sooth sore eyes? (Not if you’re of the female persuasion, though, unless you want to lose your heart).

    Liked by 1 person

  37. Cill says:

    I was brought up on Marmite! Nothing wrong with the stuff!

    [SG – Perhaps we should be the judge of that? Is this the ideal product recommendation as far as the Marmite perpetrators manufacturers are concerned? ;)]

    Like

  38. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Moehau Man,
    I did lick on your avatar. You are the George Clooney of cavemen!
    Now, to find a cavewoman.
    And, by the way, seen any single girl bears?

    Like

  39. Tarnished says:

    Unfortunately, I have. The comic/gaming store I work at specializes in carrying foreign treats from the UK, Japan, and Germany. Once, we had a customer who so missed (don’t ask me how) the marmite sandwiches his dear grandmother used to make for him across the pond that he requested 5 jars of the stuff. As they came in a box of 6, we kept and opened one for the store’s employees to “enjoy”.

    What fools we were! What folly!

    The jar, filled by demons from the pits of Hades in their more casual hours, no doubt, contained a slightly sweet, slightly salty smelling spread. At first we thought it was colored like rich molasses, but upon current reflection my memory calls forth visions of pitch and tar. Syrup it may be, but only if culled from the wizened trunk of the trees of the Hanging Damned. I beg you, do not ever let the curiosity of youth or lust for knowledge allow even a morsel of this hellish substance to pass your yet virgin lips!

    …Seriously though, it’s like some manic threw a tub of salt in a vat of molasses spread. It’s rather gross, and it *does* taste exactly like the liquid vitamin supplement I had to feed to the baby deer I raised during my times working with wildlife rehabilitation. Got some on my fingers, and just shrugged and licked it off. It is marmite, I tells ya.

    Liked by 1 person

  40. Tarnished says:

    Well, that certainly explains Padawan…

    Liked by 1 person

  41. Moehau Man says:

    Sorry mate, I stick to my own kind. I reckon if you google on “images of moehau man” you might find something to warm the cockles of the old heart.

    Like

  42. Cill says:

    “Well, that certainly explains Padawan…”
    Tarn,
    I can’t let you get away with that, but I can’t think of an adequate retort…

    Like

  43. Padawan says:

    “Filled by demons from the pits of Hades”, she opines,
    About the nutricious Marmite bottles
    Nothing but bad in sustaining Marmite she finds
    The lady from the land of McDonalds

    Like

  44. Tarnished says:

    Heh heh…the jest is on you, my dearest Padawan. I may live in the land of the Golden Arches, but dost thou not remember? I am a vegetable-arian! Such culinary abominations haven’t “graced” my stomach for nigh on 2 decades. Lo, do the Cuisine Fae sing my praises and bid others to join the Crusade of the Tofu!

    Like

  45. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Hoehau Man,
    Am I a sicko for liking stuff like this?

    PS. I have no idea where to find a Moehau Woman.

    Like

  46. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Tarnished,
    You could still partake of their french fries.

    Like

  47. Padawan says:

    Tarn,

    Padawan already knew that he did
    But Cill immediate retort to you required
    Sometimes harrassed Padawan is

    Like

  48. Moehau Man says:

    Yes, well all that poetry stuff smacks of a bit of the old arty-fartsy, if you ask me

    Like

  49. Moehau Man says:

    “Hoehau Man,
    Am I a sicko for liking stuff like this?”

    Yes well, I’m pretty impressed that you caught a shot of me on the old skiis there, young Mr Fuzzy. Truth is, I’m not really into that sorta stuff. The bit where the guy in the jump suit slid down the hill is not my style. A man can be happy as Larry without stuff like that. BTW I know I have to make allowances for you young buggars, but the name starts with Moe not Hoe.

    Like

  50. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Moehau Man,
    My apologies. I do make a lot of typos. It must be tat I am anxious to see my comment posted. But, we may all be vulnerable with the top line, It’s obscureed by “Enter your comment here”
    In doing an image search of your namesake, I did see some familiar photos from the Pacific Northwest.You must be even more rare.

    Like

  51. Moehau Man says:

    No worries there, young Mr Fuzzy. You young blokes can’t be expected to learn everything in a day.

    Yes, rumour does have it that there are closely related Moehau Man men and women folk in those parts you mention, but I always stayed outta that sorta theoretical stuff. It’s hard enough just coping with the missuses of other blokes at times.

    Like

  52. Moehau Man says:

    Young Mr Fuzzy 12 October, 2014 at 3:35 am : “I did lick on your avatar.”

    Now a good kiwi bloke makes a lotta allowances in his 3 score years and 7, but I’m hoping that was a typo there mate? There are times when a man has to own his own sex appeal, but I think “lick” is a bit rich.

    Like

  53. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Moehau Man,
    Those missues of other blokes,they wouldn’t be trying to get you into trouble, would they?
    As they laugh into their hand.

    G-nite!

    Liked by 1 person

  54. Cill says:

    Ah, yeah,

    I sorta understand what you said there young Mr fuzzy, I was in that place meself once. Young matey, from what I’ve been told about the civilised world out there, you should be thinking only of giving them 5 (10?) misusses of yours the ultimate devoted attention tonight. But *only* tonight. In my neck of the woods, we think more in terms of the old how’s your father. Overt push and shove we call it. She’ll be right mate. You’re good. Sweet as.

    Like

  55. Tarnished says:

    I *knew* you were older than me!
    Scalliwag…

    [SG – I noticed that one too]

    Like

  56. Moehau Man says:

    Tarnished,

    Not Even Ow, cuz. I was talking about the old life span of us Moehau Mans.
    “3 score years and 7” for those who use their wits, with a little bit of arithmetic is exactly 200 years, eh.

    Like

  57. Padawan says:

    Moehau Man ESKIMO NELL knows! Fellow poet he is!

    “Now 40 asses and 40 rumps,
    For those who use their wits,
    With a little bit of arithmetic
    Is exactly 80 tits”

    [psst Moe… Padawan changed other word to “rumps” 😉 heheh ]

    Like

  58. Moehau Man says:

    “I *knew* you were older than me!
    Scalliwag…
    [SG – I noticed that one too]”

    Now it’s true that a keen post-modern brain lurks behind me patrician features, but fair go, those two comments have got me munted. What in the name of Barry Crump’s Hilux are they talking about? Maybe I should take a squizz at Jung or something…

    Like

  59. Spawny Get says:

    ““3 score years and 7″ for those who use their wits, with a little bit of arithmetic is exactly 200 years, eh.”

    With maths like that Moe, I suspect that you’re a highly ranked banker.

    Like

  60. Moehau Man says:

    3 x 20 = 60
    7 x 20 = 140

    = 200, or it did when I went to school, mate.

    Like

  61. Padawan says:

    Tarn 12 October, 2014 at 4:26 am

    “I am a vegetable-arian!” she cries,
    And then a jar of Marmite she tries?

    Like

  62. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I found this over at A Voice for Men. I think this woman is in the trenches all day as a social worker and not politically affiliated.

    Let’s hope that the dam is about to burst on the feminist narrative.

    Like

  63. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Theasdgamer, if you’re lurking, would you offere a review?

    Like

  64. Liz says:

    Well…this thread has meandered so much I’m a bit lost but noticed someone mentioned Marmite. I think that must like a taste acquired either early in life, or never. Kind of like poi (that nasty thing made of beaten rotting root and served only in Hawaii, for a reason).
    I bought my first jar of Marmite when it was banned in Denmark. Because…well, I had to, since it was banned in Denmark. Tried only one spoonfull and that was enough. 🙂

    Like

  65. Cill says:

    Liz, ‘ello darlin’

    https://spawnyspace.wordpress.com/2014/10/10/bad-news-for-the-bear/comment-page-1/#comment-481

    Spawny insisted that I say that, for some inexplicable reason, as you’ll see by following the link.

    Like

  66. Cill says:

    Fuzzy,

    Did you see my video about Crumpy and Scotty in the Toyota? I thought you’d like the sounds, especially.

    Like

  67. Cill says:

    Moehau Man posted it at 12 October, 2014 at 6:57 pm

    Like

  68. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Cill,
    I did watch it. What a mean friend to abuse his Toyota that way. I enjoyed it.
    I hadn’t realized tha Moehau Man was another aspect of you. You’re busy.

    Like

  69. Liz says:

    Er…are collywobbles good or bad?

    I suspect I’d have to hear it actually spoken for this experiment to pass empirical muster.
    🙂

    Like

  70. Cill says:

    Liz, sorry, but I can’t speak it. Wrong accent. My lips would fall off.

    “collywobbles”
    I think he was hoping you would get your dander up.

    Also, Moehau Man left a question for you above (12 October, 2014 at 1:35 am ) that we are all waiting for you to answer…

    Like

  71. Cill says:

    Did you note Barry Crump’s accent? Now you’ll understand why a Kiwi bloke couldn’t say “‘ello darlin’” is his life depended on it (above at 13 October, 2014 at 12:22 am).

    ‘ello darlin’ is Brit lingo, peculiar to themselves.

    Like

  72. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Considering how much abuse that little truck was taking, it was hard to follow the dialogue.

    Like

  73. Liz says:

    Gestational period for “the onesie”? 🙂
    Little monsters don’t like to spend too much time inside the lockup.
    8 pounds, or thereabouts…and they’re out.

    It’s also traditional for the mother to curse…robustly and spectacularly, around the time of their arrival.

    Like

  74. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Liz,
    I did have to laugh at your description. Humans are at a disadvantage. I think it all comes down to the size of the head. While newborn horses can take their first steps shortly abter birth, humans are just helpless. It’s a good arguement for a two parent household. (Sorry, feminists NOT!)

    Liked by 1 person

  75. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I know what is missing! Liz needs to see a vintage fighter.

    Liked by 1 person

  76. Moehau Man says:

    Fuzzy said “I think it all comes down to the size of the head.”

    Have you taken a gander at the size of my old bonker lately?

    Like

  77. Cill says:

    Fuzzy,

    What I like about your videos is, they’ve all got bears in them, or the sound of motors or horse’s hooves. I reckon you’d like the Warbirds Over Wanaka International Airshow.

    http://www.warbirdsoverwanaka.com/

    Like

  78. Cill says:

    Fuzzy,

    Here are some bear avatars:

    [SG – As a spam defence there’s a link limit set per comment (3). More than that and it gets pended automatically. That’s why this didn’t show immediately]

    Like

  79. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Cill, That is cool. I’ll bet that NZ has enthusiasts coming from all over the world to attend.

    Like

  80. Cill says:

    Yes they do come from all over the world. It’s a beautiful location beside a lake in the mountains.

    I posted some bear avatars further down but I must’ve mis-typed my email address because they’re awaiting moderation. Spawny will be asleep. I hope he’s okay, actually. Last I heard, he wasn’t feeling too good.

    Like

  81. Cill says:

    Drat! It doesn’t work. I’ll have to ask Spawny to zap it tomorrow.

    Like

  82. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Cill,
    It has gotten quiet here. Seeing that C-130 at Marlborough reinded me of California. Two seasons, green and brown. Brown is very long.
    I think this is California in its all too short green season.

    Like

  83. Cill says:

    “It has gotten quiet here”

    It’s the dead of night over there. Must be getting close to your sleep time Fuzzy.
    Also, Tarn has a gaming festival this week.

    Like

  84. Moehau Man says:

    Now not many blokes could do that. Ride across a paddock and end up with a gazillion horsemen up their chuff. In the lingo of you foreign blokes, “cool”.

    Like

  85. Cill says:

    Fuzzy said “I hadn’t realized tha Moehau Man was another aspect of you”

    I was just about to post that video when it suddenly appeared in a Moeahu Man comment. He must’ve read my mind.

    Like

  86. Cill says:

    Oh yes, it was Padawan’s mention of ESKIMO NELL that made me think of Barry Crump, and it obviously made Moe think the same. Mystery solved.

    Like

  87. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Cill,
    Let’s hope that all is well with everyone else and we can all talk tomorrow.
    Sleepytime for bear. Good night.

    Like

Comments are closed.

