Welcome…


No real agenda here, just give a destination for the invites to the blog.

I’m intending to keep it private but be free with the invites, if you have a candidate let me know.

You (so far) all know me, so you should know very well what to expect. Consider yourself warned 😉

Posted in Site
25 comments on “Welcome…
  1. Cill says:

    “You (so far) all know me, so you should know very well what to expect. Consider yourself warned”

    I am already very well aware of that me old china, and I know I should be very, very afraid. But you and I are already mates so I think you gonna let me in 🙂

    Like

  2. Spawny Get says:

    Aha, my first comment!

    I need to switch off moderation…I’m working on it. I intend only to let people that can be trusted in, so I want to let their comments flow freely not wait for UK daylight or my insomnia.

    Welcome aboard me hearty!

    Like

  3. Cill says:

    Now I’m wondering how I can go off subject here, Spawny, but I can’t see how… Perhaps you could give me a suggestion?

    Like

  4. Spawny Get says:

    Only the third comment, the second by someone other than me and he wants to go off-topic!

    A proud day for the ‘crowd’ in Spawny Space.

    If you want to create a post just send me an email and I’ll stick it up as a post. I suspect we can improve the method in the future…but for now? Spawny at your service.

    (I didn’t have to free your second comment, so that’s working as I want)

    Like

  5. Spawny Get says:

    hmm suggestions he wants?

    no ideas do I have
    and yet, given one have I already?
    I conundrum we have
    Unless the wrong word I just used

    Like

  6. Cill says:

    On this site, Spawny, I want to put your mind at rest on a few things. I know I’ve given you a hard time in the past, so let’s clear the air:

    1. I will NOT be making any references to your movie star good looks, even tho it’s not necessarily an appeal to your vanity because we all know “not all movie stars are great looking”

    2. I will not be suggesting any sort of illicit relationship between you and Peej

    3. I will never EVER describe you as The Master of Chaos

    In return, I expect you to:
    1. Treat me in a gentlemanly manner ALWAYS

    2. Agree with all my viewpoints, irrespective of how ropeable they make you feel

    3. Support me in the many skirmishes in which I might engage with tarn and others

    4. Defer to me in whichever manner may at the time be appropriate, so that my special status of first poster on your site shall always be apparent

    Okay mate?

    Like

  7. Spawny Get says:

    1 – my ‘movie star good looks(tm)’, always with the ‘movie star good looks(tm)’ *sigh*
    2 – Peej? you could be my first bannee 😉 how great is that?
    3 – Yep, while I am The Boss’o’Choss, this is not to be referred to

    Well, you can trust me with the other stuff, Cill 😉

    Like

  8. Cill says:

    “Well, you can trust me with the other tuff, Cill”
    That’s what worries me, Spawny

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Cill says:

    And ah…
    #5 You program your site so that I, and only I, can click my own “Liked by you” star as often as I like, *and it will work* so that my popularity will increase exponentially

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Spawny Get says:

    Hmm, Cill clearly not as dumb as I hoped…tricky

    Like

  11. Spawny Get says:

    it’s all default behaviour as far as I am aware, it’s very easy to get to this stage.

    Like

  12. Tarnished says:

    Glad to be here, Spawny. I am really enjoying the name too…our threads really are fragile, aren’t they? 😉

    Oy, Cill…you do know that you’re essentially winning your own popularity contest, right?
    I have taken pity and liked a bunch of your comments though. Never say I haven’t done anything for my mates. 🙂

    Like

  13. Spawny Get says:

    The whole thing was very spur of the moment, so I’m kind of pleased with the name.

    Like

  14. Tarnished says:

    I think it’s going to be wonderful. How long do you want it to be private?

    Like

  15. Spawny Get says:

    We can see how it goes? It’s not something that worries me either way. Less admin this way. I don’t mind if you (anyone here) want to let anyone else in, just get them to request entry. If anyone has a strong preference otherwise, well, we can discuss it.

    Like

  16. Padawan says:

    Padawan is sweating a lot
    On his first Spawny gaff rhyme
    Padawen’s butt will get a swift swat
    If he doesn’t get it right first time.

    Like

  17. Spawny Get says:

    I still beat your rhyme on JFG…

    Will be off to sleep soon, so gnight

    Like

  18. Padawan says:

    Padawan now for comments awaits
    His pen poised ready to write
    Before the muse from his loins escapes
    And gives everyone here a fright.

    Like

  19. Padawan says:

    Padawan tarn does thank
    In hope she Padawan too will click

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Spawny Get says:

    I would add that anyone wanting it to remain private would get a serious listening to. It would be my natural tendency to keep it so, unless someone has good reason to do otherwise. Make your case if you do (anyone). We can all talk about it.

    I would love this place to become more of a casual community, I’m not interested in entertaining snarky trolls etc. I’m quite happy to just give such people the heave-a-ho because I’m not trying to prove anything. I’m not claiming to be holding forth rigorous truths, just hoping to provoke conversation. If anyone wants to make a rigorous post, that’s fine too, but clearly the audience is far lower on a private blog, maybe they could test bed a post before re-posting it elsewhere? fine by me.

    As a private blog such trolls would have to be invited back in with a new sockpuppet identity – that’s much more difficult than just changing your IP address and making up a new name (which is what ‘she’ does).

    Some blogs have owners with a mission and a liking for bumping heads until the other side gives in…I do not. I don’t want the time suck, I don’t get any emotional thrill from a ‘win’. I do get one from raising the optimism in people and their awareness. I have no mission to spread my message on this blog. We can all post elsewhere as well.

    This is, I hope, going to be a clubhouse, not a mission HQ.

    Like

  21. Tarnished says:

    Hear, hear! There’s enough battles to be fought out on the rest of teh interwebz…this is a place of relaxation.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Spawny Get says:

    Hey NewGuy,

    hope you stick around…it only started yesterday. Looking for a casual, fun atmosphere talking about anything of interest

    Cheers

    Like

Comments are closed.

